We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noticeable change” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Gordon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Duke of Gordon Hotel to your Saves list
Duke of Gordon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Noticeable change”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

2nd visit as part of a coach party and there has been a noticeable deterioration since last year. Booked double room, given a twin. Raised this with the manager whose curt response was "we only have so many doubles" - why ask for room preferences if they can't be met? It was blatant that he had no intention of trying to accommodate our request. At dinner our party of four was offered one space on one table and three on another. When this was refused we were told nothing else was available as tables had to be held for "privates", by this we presumed not from a coach party. This is simply not acceptable, a customer is a customer. Eventually this was resolved, but only after we stood our ground. Rooms were clean but no drawers for storage. Food was acceptable but again not as good as previous. All in all, our impression was that the hotel doesn't "tick" as well as it used to. It seems that corners have been cut to keep prices down, but Cairngorm travel need to remember that repeat business is important business. We would willingly have paid more to get the same service and standards as last year.

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance and make sure your room needs are made clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    69
    23
    15
    14
See reviews for
22
77
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a two night stay and were very impressed with the accommodation, staff and catering.
Entertainment was laid on both nights, an accordionist one night and a singer the other. Both men lacked a little in enthusiasm but they were good performers and provided as part of an excellent package. The food choice and quality was very good and was served promptly, pleasantly and efficiently. Prices for drinks were reasonable.

Room Tip: We were on second floor front facing in a very comfortable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easdt yorks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay we have had a lovely time .We had a room on the third floor which was very clean and kept well right through our stay.The food was very nice with a lot of choice each evening the staff were pleasant and cheerful throughout the hotel in every department.Darren our driver was fantastic he must have had his patience sorely tried now and again but we didn't see a glimpse of bad mood.We will be returning to the hotel and hope to meet some very nice people again just as we did on this trip.Thankyou to all of the staff for making our stay so good.Jane & Paul Baker.

Room Tip: Ask for 233!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Just on last night of a four night stay and no complaints at all other than the entertainment on the first three nights was very "samey" BUT the entertainment tonight, "killiecrankie" are brilliant. Great stories and jokes, songs to sing along to or dance to. Best entertainment of the week. All the staff are really helpful and friendly. Norman the barman is ace!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just returned from a four night trip to The Duke of Gordon Hotel in Kingussie after a six year gap. It was almost like coming home with welcoming and helpful staff. Even the weather was kind.
My room was large and functional and the bedding was spotless.
The food was generally excellent apart from the vegetables which were tired and sometimes overcooked especially the courgettes which were absolutely tasteless and should be banished from the menu or at least disguised as ratatouille ! ! I wish that the attention given to producing the perfect breakfast egg (runny yolks only or the egg is discarded) could be applied to cooking the vegetables.

Room Tip: Ask for ground or first floor if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We arrived on a Cairngorm travel coach from Manchester, after seeing the advert in local paper, have been on several highland trips before, with other companies, that have generally been ok, we were given room allocation on coach and key took us through the hotel downstairs, which I thought was a little odd, however on entering room, all negative conception ended, we thought we had walked into the owner's apartment, spacious, large living room, bedroom, decorated and presented in high quality and standard of cleanliness, we had a small kitchen, fridge, freezer, etc, on reflection must have been a holiday let, the hotel used as a suite, 32" tv, home from home really.
the food throughout the stay was excellent, well presented, well cooked and with plenty of variety, we especially enjoyed the buffet on the last night.
the included trips were enjoyable, if i have a criticism at all, granton is not somewhere to spend a morning, not a great deal to do or see, the Cairngorm trip was stunning, with some of the best views in the highlands from the top, the Highland wildlife park trip was also excellent value and interesting, not a fan of zoos but as this was conservation oriented, ok, the best part of the holiday was the red deer safari at Laggan, where we got to feed wild red deer by hand vitamin pellets, which is just incredible as an experience.
the weather which of course helped was lovely and sunny for 3 full days, itrained coming up on coach and going home it was snowing over the pass of drumochter.
must also thank the manager for rearranging dining time one night so we could get to see the manchester derby at a local pub.
the staff were excellent, helpful and showed good professionalism under pressure, I feel as though a special nod must go to our Driver Richard, who was informative and helpful in equal measure, good humoured and also professional in his manner, again nothing too much trouble, even changed the route back from granton for a more scenic one to Colyumbridge.
Excellent all round holiday, one other observation really was that the entertanment was a bit samey, apart from the last night which was an excellent cabaret singer, didnt really matter too much as we went out into kingussie on 2 nights.
Outstanding Value thanks, we wil come back in another month of the year when the trips are different, hope to get the same room if available, thanks again for a memorable holiday in these times of poor value for money, this really was outstandingly good.

Room Tip: ask for basement room if available, be prepared to go on a diet afterwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Returned from the Duke of Gordon Hotel yesterday. Had the best time, weather was very kind which always helps but everything about the hotel was very good. Yes there are some area's where a referbishment is needed and indeed are planned but for the price you pay no complaints here and we will be making a return visit. The staff are excellent (special mention to Amie) and the choice of food was very good and well presented. The train station is only a 5 min walk away,bus stop just outside the hotel so Scotland is on the door step. Not much to see shop wise in Kingussie but some very nice walks both short and long. Hair dryers are provided but you do have to pay a £10 deposit which is refunded on return. Take your own toiletries as these are not provided. We asked for a room overlooking the front of the Hotel and was allocated just that lovely view and very spacious.

Room Tip: From speaking with other guests I didn't hear any negitive comments regarding rooms but the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Gordon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.