We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value break for a group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Gordon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Duke of Gordon Hotel to your Saves list
Duke of Gordon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunderland, England
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A good value break for a group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is well experienced in looking after coach parties and their staff are clearly well trained in this. The accommodation, food and entertainment are good considering the package price that most coach parties would pay. I would not recommend this hotel for a couple looking for a quiet break, but it is ideal for groups ( ours was 50 people ). A great area for walking and exploring.
Staff were always smiling and always helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    78
    26
    14
    15
See reviews for
22
89
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
coatbridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was the second time we used this hotel and i must say we were not disapointed. The staff are very pleasant and attentive ,meals were of a high standard and the bedrooms are spotless ,entertainment was great ,all,in,all we had a wonderful time .We will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for letting me know how well the team looked after you, they all get to see the guest responces, good or bad, and it always nice for them to know their efforts have been apreciated. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us here in the Highlands and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for four nights. The hotel is in great need of some refurbishment and, in parts is a little 'tatty'. Having said that, the staff more than make up for it. The dining room staff particularly were very helpful and attentive. The food was good and varied and plentiful. The beds were extremely comfortable but the bedrooms were very cold.We would say that this is a hotel to suit an older age group but it is an excellent base to see the Highlands

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the lovely Memorial Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.
Like many country style hotels the Duke of Gordon is in need of a face lift in places. We have completed 90% of the bedrooms to date and we are in the process of refurbishing the remainderand the public areas.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team, they all get to see the guest responces, good or bad, and it always nice for them to know their effirts have been apreciated. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us here in the Highlands.

Paul Brown
Gaeneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

On arrival my wife and I were allocated a twin room on the single floor, we requested a double room, it was not a problem the receptionist relocated us to a double room on the third floor, the lifts only go to the second floor, so we held to struggle with our cases up a flight of stairs not a big problem, the problem came when anybody flushed the toilet or run water, there was load noise of a pump working away, it was not a problem during the day but though the night and early in the morning was terrible (who needs a alarm clock). the room itself was of a good standard, during our visit there was two coach parities there so you would have meals times would have been slow but the waitress perform very well clearing plates and serving very promptly. the food was of a good standard with a four course meal served with a good selection for each course. WiFi was available in reception which worked well. Breakfast was good with the normal server yourself fruit and cereal a member of staff cooked your eggs and served sausages, black pudding etc, the evening entertainment was good Scottish music and you were encouraged to join in overall as a easybreaks hotel i would suggest it is one of the better ones

Room Tip: do not accept a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for informing us about the water pump on the third level. These pumps are not normaly active during the night. As you had experienced a problem I had them checked and it would appear that one of them had a fault. This has now been corrected and should no longer disturb guests. It is pleasing to know that you had a pleasant stay with us here in the Highlands and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caistor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visited with a walking group and were treated extremely well. Traditional olde worlde hotel. Staff were excellent. Food was really good and varied. I would say that you have to be a certain age to enjoy the full benefits (oldish). There was entertainment every night (are all Scottish entertainers born with an accordion in their hands). A great location for walkers and tourists alike. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words. It is always nice to receive guest comments and to know that you had a good a good time here despite the weather. The accordian and button box are a traditional instrument associated with Scotland and most, but not all, entertainers play them from an early age. So you could be right, maybe it's in the genes. We lookforward to welcoming you back to this special part of the world in the not to distant future.

Regards

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Victoria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Duke of Gordon as part of an Insight tour, Wifi was offered free in the foyer and it worked very well, I started with a very nice refurbished room but gave it up to an older couple in our group as they were allocated a room that had no lift access, so,be sure to confirm you have lift access if you need it as there are a lot of stairs in this hotel. My room had a very small double bed and small bathroom but was a reasonable size for one person, also it was very disappointing that you have to pay a 10£ deposit on a hair dryer, but the iron was free. The food was good and the breakfast excellent but again no preparation so a lot of toast not eaten and wasted. The building is dated but currently undergoing renovation which will be good. The Hotel was heavily booked for the weekend we were there. A lovely little town providing access to the Highlands and Loch Lomond.

Room Tip: Ensure if you have difficulties with mobility or age to request a room near the lift, not all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to this special part of the highlands and thank you for your comments. As you quite rightly point out the lift services the ground, 1st & 2nd floors only. When informed about mobility problems we do allocate lift access rooms to these guests. It was so kind of you to offer to change rooms which I know the other guests were very grateful for. The original part of the building dates back to 1837 and was extended in 1906. At this time lifts were not thought of as necessary and we are not able to get the lift to the 3rd level which at times is a problem. Where possible every assistance is given to guests and we do our best to accommodate their needs. I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your visit to the UK and had a pleasant journey home.

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

There is obviously some work to be done to restore the hotel to former glories. Wallpaper scuffed or torn, missing fittings in showers, worn carpets all tell a tale. On the plus side, the room was comfortable, there were good choices on the fixed four-course dinner menu. The breakfasts were fine if a little limited. The main positive was the staff , who were extremely attentive and happy to accomodate all reasonable requests - especially in the dining room.

Room Tip: Just avoid the rooms overlooking the entrance to the public bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us here in the Highlands. Like many country style hotels the Duke of Gordon is an old Dame in need of a face lift in places. We have completed 90% of the bedrooms to date and we are in the process of refurbishing the remainder. As with all big projects, time is never on our side and these projects have to be done when business allows and funds allow. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team, they all get to see the guest responces, good or bad, and it always nice for them to know their effirts have been apreciated. Thank you

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Gordon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.