We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, big rooms, roaring fire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Braeriach Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braeriach Guest House
Save
You added Braeriach Guest House to your Saves list
| Kincraig, Kingussie PH21 1QA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Kingussie B&B and Inns
London, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quiet, big rooms, roaring fire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just after we got married in Edinburgh in December, and it was the perfect place to hide away for a few days. The rooms are very large, nice beds and bedding, and new bathrooms. The decor is traditional. When we stayed we were alone - there are only a handful of rooms in any case - but she still put on a huge log fire in the guest sitting room. You can also pour yourself a glass of whiskey from an honesty bar. Breakfast was generous and used high quality meats and eggs from her own chickens. She also had some home made muesli (not my thing but it looked very nice). The house is located by the side of the river, with pleasant views over the hills, and is dead quiet at night; so much so that our 10 week old baby slept through from 7-7, both nights - so I have very fond memories indeed of our stay!
It is quite pricy, but obviously it's very close to a ski resort, and she doesn't scrimp on making sure guests are looked after.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This B&B is ideal for enjoying the nature in Scotland. The rooms in the B&B were very big and had a lovely view on the garden and the river. We were lucky and had very good weather, so we were able to pick nick in the garden. We had a very warm welcome and a good breakfast with the best coffee I tasted in Scotland.
The owners of the B&B were also very helpful in providing maps, explaining the road and advising us on what to visit. I would recommend everyone to stay in this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochristi, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you are looking for the perfect place to stay in the Newtonmore area I would definately recommend Braeriach Guest House. We stayed here for 3 nights, and we could all say that our vacation only just started here. The amazing rooms (with the most amazing collection of furniture), the peaceful garden and the cosy sitting room all gave us an immediate vacation feeling. The owner made us feel welcome, made delicious breakfasts and always pointed us in the right direction. We followed her advice regarding the route to our next stop, and it was the best thing we could have done. Still now we are talking about that lovely B&B in Kingussie, and we recommend this stop to everyone visiting Scotland.

Room Tip: The two rooms with the view over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Beautiful, very restful house. The garden and views give a relaxing ambience.
There is a warm welcome to beautiful, well appointed and comfortable rooms.
Breakfast, freshly cooked and excellent. Loved the starter of fresh Pineapple and Blueberries.
Thank you for what our Grandchildren said was an "epic" stay .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport-on-Tay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked our room fairly late on as as we had decided to climb Sgor Gaoith but were waiting on the weather being just right. The guest house is every bit as lovely as the pictures on their website. The room we had was large and had a lovely view of the garden and the river. The house is very well maintained and the decor is lovely, with lots of nice antiques. The garden is so nice, I wished we had more time to spend there.
In the morning we had a cooked breakfast before heading out for our climb and it was the best cooked breakfast I've had for years. I would recommend Braeriach to anyone staying in this area.

Room Tip: The room we had was a family room at the front of the house facing the garden and it had a lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a really nice B and B; we had a great view from our room of the river opposite. The room was very clean, relatively big and the en suite had a bath. Fiona the owner was really helpful in advising us on what to do and lent us a few maps. The full breakfast was really tasty and good coffee. There was also a large living room to relax in and whiskey on offer. Had dinner at the local hotel pub which is walking distance and the food was good typical pub food and has a very friendly owner. Would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Greeted at the door by the lovely host Fiona, we were given a very helpful local map and some need to know information as to where to find our much needed dinner that evening.

The house is in a fantastic location with a beautiful terrace and garden with river and mountain views.
Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a modern, immaculate bathroom.
Unfortunately we had already had our fill of cooked breakfasts after 4 mornings of B&B but we wished we had waited as they really did have the nicest of all.

We particularly enjoyed the owner's collection of furniture and antique bits and pieces, it made it feel very homely.

The house itself is quite rural but still only a 10 minute drive from Aviemore.
Perfect for a quiet, relaxing getaway but with the opportunity to go into a lively town if you wish.

We both agreed we wished we had been able to stay an extra night and would love to return to Braeriach!

Room Tip: Our room at the front of the house had beautiful garden/river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Braeriach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeriach Guest House

Address: | Kincraig, Kingussie PH21 1QA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Braeriach Guest House Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braeriach Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.