We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea and Cake lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pam's Coffee Shop - CLOSED

Pam's Coffee Shop
54 High Street, Kingussie PH21 1HZ, Scotland
+44 1540 661020
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Highlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tea and Cake lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Busy wee place, knew it was going to be good as there were locals in and out. Tables are old singer sewing machines with the foot pedals, clever and very keeping with the history of the town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    8
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Only Place Open”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Believe it or not this is the only place in Kingussie which is open at 10am and serves any form of breakfast. We had travelled from Ayr to visit the Highland Wildlife Park and needed breakfast as we left so early. We had great service and good slice sausage and bacon rolls.

The best recommendation is that the owner and her friends have their coffee there on their day off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pams coffee shop in kingussie highland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went to pams for breakfast and can only say the breakfast is just amazing and when i asked were she got her bucher meat from i was told the bucher just around the corner the staff were lovely also so well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint Little shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went into this Coffee shop when we were staying in Kingussie at The Duke of Gordon Hotel. They have guest comments books and this shop was recommended. How right they were. Very warm welcome from we think the owner a lovely woman. We had fresh scones with jam and latte coffees......Delicous. We went back the following day as well

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carsnootie
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

One of the worst places I've ever been in for service and quality.
Stopped here for a quick cuppa on the way north. It's a small cafe with around half a dozen tables, when we arrived four were occupied and two had their food.

It took around 10-15 minutes before either of the staff approached us to ask if we'd been served. How hard should it be to know the answer?!

It was still another 5 minutes before someone took our order, two expressos, a scone and a slice of gingerbread.

When it arrived the woman apologies saying she could not reach the small expresso cups!!! The coffee was in large teacups and filled to the brim. It tasted revolting, I'm sure it was a couple of spoonfuls of instant coffee.

The scone was OK but the gingerbread had a very strange taste. We left the gingerbread and 95% of the coffee.

Never again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pams824, Owner at Pam's Coffee Shop, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your coffee and cake. Why oh why did you not complain and get it resolved.
All coffee is fresh ground and we have lots of customers who take black coffee and we have never had one complaint. If you asked for an espresso why didnt refuse what was served to you. The scones are cooked daily on the premises and the ginger bread was fresh that day.
Its impossible to please everyone but we do try our best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pam's Coffee Shop also viewed

Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pam's Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.