We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to stay - looks a bit unloved !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“OK place to stay - looks a bit unloved !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were a party of 4, staying in 2 rooms.
The rooms themselves were both large and clean. The shower lacked a grab handle or rubber anti-slip mat.
The breakfast was really nice with attentive staff. We had a drink in the bar after we returned from our dinner in town, and this was very pleasant.
However, I'd echo the comments of other reviewers. First impressions count and the car park and "garden" area do not give a favourable impression.
In general the decor of the public rooms needs updating and I had an over all feeling that the place was a bit unloved !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    17
    11
    14
See reviews for
14
50
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were really just looking for a base for one night before heading to the highland wildlife park (which is immense by the way). Lots of information at the hotel to tell you where to find things to do. I had read consistently bad reviews on the food so decided to go elsewhere for dinner (the tipsy laird was really nice with brilliant service).
No complaints about the hotel, it was peaceful and relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Room was clean and very quiet. We only saw one member of staff the entire weekend. Very welcoming. The full cooked breakfast was probably the best I have ever had. Recommended!!!

(only downside was that the exterior could do with some TLC)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londerzeel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed there with some friends, the hotel is old and average. The owner however is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are OK but old.
For our diner we ordered the sirloin steak but this was not what we are used in Belgium.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. Our room was spacious, warm and had a great view of the town and mountains. However, it was the staff that really made this place memorable, particularly the manager. We also ate at the restaurant. On the first night my husbands lamb fillet was a bit overcooked, and we were not charged. The second night we brought some venison, and they marinated and cooked it for us, with veggies, for virtually nothing. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, we could not speak more highly of this as a place to stay visiting the Cairngorms.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, which had a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Shade, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Scot House Hotel in October 2009 and loved it. The location was convenient for walking downtown, and the staff was warm and welcoming. We actually showed up a little early, and the manager allowed us to get into our room as soon as it was clean. We did not eat at the restaurant but enjoyed playing Scrabble in the bar area one evening. Though Kingussie isn't a very large town, this was a great place to stay for exploring the Cairngorm National Park and was just a short drive from Inverness.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Where do I start...
Bar staff had never heard of a 'Shandy' or 'Fresh Orange & Lemonade!!!

Ordered Fillet Steak stuffed with Haggis, what arrived can only be the worst meal ever.... 'Fillet Steak' on the plate was in fact a grissly beef olive,
Called the manger over as this was really a joke, explained that the 'cut' of meat could not possibly be a piece of Fillet Steak and that it would take consderible butchery skills to transform a piece of fillet into a Beef Olive... Initially he tried blaming the Kingussie Butcher, but this is outrageous as I've sampled the great meat from the town butcher...
Eventually, give him his due he agreed with me, he then called out the Romanian chef to my table to try explain the unusual 'cut of meat' on my plate. The Romanian chef tried to argue that it was Fillet Steak, I asked for the plate to be removed from the table and refrain from insulting my intelligence any further...
I paid for what I had eaten and we left very dissatisfied with the service and unbelievable level of low quality food...
My wife had the Salmon which was a pretty below average meal.

Really felt sorry for the guests who were at othe tables...
Gordon Ramsay would shy away from having this place on 'Kitchen Nightmares', even he would need a glimmer of hope to turn this place around....

If you reach Kingussie starving, travel another couple of miles and go to the Glen Hotel in Newtonmore.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingussie hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scot Hotel Kingussie
The Scot Hotel
The Scot House Hotel And Restaurant Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.