We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columba House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Columba House Hotel to your Saves list
Columba House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manse Road, Kingussie PH21 1JF, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersGold level
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“peaceful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel manager and his wife were very friendly and welcoming there was local beer on offer the sheepshagger was very tasty and refreshing the food we had in the hotel resturant was amazing i had the grilled chicken with a white wine and mushroom sauce with potatoes and steve had scampi both were lovely steve had the strawberry pavalova for dessert and said it was the best dessert hed had in a long time. We stayed in the stable room with the four poster bed it was peaceful and quiet and romantic just what we wanted there was an on suite bathroom with two person bath and a good shower, a door to the outside perfect for us smokers and a lovely garden and an eleven o clock check out perfect if u want a lie in, prices reasonable for the quality and service you recive, worth going for an evening meal even if your not staying, for adults only which we were looking for and thankfully found in this peaceful place

Room Tip: We stayed in the stable room and it was exellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    27
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
98
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed recently in The Penthouse Suite, spacious bed/sitting room with wee kitchenette and large bathroom with separate shower and large 2 person bath. Nice quiet situation but the suite itself Needs updating, bed not that great, carpet badly stained, desperately needs blackout blinds to all windows of which there are many and to include the lower floor entrance glass door. I hardly slept a wink. Breakfast disappointing in that it was fried not grilled bacon, maybe I should have asked first tho. Paid £115 for the suite and £10 each for breakfast, taking it to £135. Have stayed in a lot nicer for less money. Did not feel welcome there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very friendly hotel manager. The bar is old fashioned and rustic in a good way and has a selection of tasty, local beers. The rooms were nice and some had a view of the mountains, and showers were great.

Room Tip: Have one of the local beers in the charming bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingussie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a new gem in this part of the Scottish Highlands, fifty miles South of Inverness, in beautiful Strathspey, in the Cairngorms. This delightful hotel was recently acquired by a real chef. Best food in the area. No problem with parking.. Have enjoyed two meals there, both excellent

Room Tip: Ate there, but did stay, as live locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

thank you Mark and Yolanda for such a lovely stay - your kindness and attentiveness made us feel at home from our arrival, until our checking out - the only problem I had was that our trip was over too soon.
staying in the Penthouse suit - spacious, bright, and comfortable - the food was excellent, especially the taster menu on our 2nd evening.
the entertainment laid on by the ducks and rabbits in the garden during our meal times was appreciated
we wish you every success for the future and hope to be back soon when up in area visiting family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival there was a problem with the booking since the proprietor had not expected our dog, even though I had clearly mentioned our dog both in the booking as well as in an additional direct email to the hotel. We offered to come back later to let them sort it out and it had been when we returned later.
First impression of the room was positive but after one evening the ceiling seemed lower and lower. The ceiling is so low it felt like sleeping in an oversized coffin. Furthermore the room had a stuffy smell and opening the windows did not help. There was no soap or shampoo, just a large container with pump on the sink. Plastic cups that weren't changed or cleaned in the 4-nights' stay. The bathmat wasn't changed either even though soaking wet from leaky shower curtain.
Breakfast HIGHLY overprized and served by ignorant girl: picking up cups by rim when refilling and actually bumping a plate on the table with her hip. Everything (tea, toast) took ages or was forgotten. "Freshly brewn coffee" was simply horrendous and must have been cooking all morning or else worst brand ever (or perhaps both).
Were charged for the dog 10 pounds per night!!!!!!! saying this was standard (not!) and mentioned on the website (not!). Dog was allowed in room and outside only (which is the case often but not always).
Got in a bit of an argument when proprietor wanted to charge us for one of the two cancelled breakfasts, while mentioning none of this at the time of cancelling.
If you're planning on going here, don't!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A C, Owner at Columba House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We thank you for taking time out to write a review.
We take all reviews seriously and are always looking for ways to improve our services and product by listening to our customers.
It is unfortunate that you have not enjoyed your stay with us, the room in mention, being one of our most popular. With an outside entrance, a small winding staircase that is a part of the older part of this historical building, dating back to 1750.
We are disappointed to say that as a dog traveling family you treated our hotel room as a kennel and left the dog unattended in the room in a cage while you were out on your day and evening activities, which in turn resulted in numerous complaints from other guests due to the dog barking,the Dog also constituently barked at night .We feel £10 is a small price to pay for a animal which should be well loved as a member of your family.
We take other guests into consideration and do allow dogs in the main part of the hotel.
As can be well seen we have had many satisfied guests and its unfortunate that our hotel was not the right choice for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spean Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I booked 2 nights for my husband and myself we needed a peaceful getaway and i picked the perfect hotel Kingussie is only 40miles from home but it could have been million miles away.On arrival there was a slight hiccup with rooms but within minutes Mark had upgraded us to a lovely room which had 4 poster bed very nice bathroom with corner bath and we had our own front door all very much appreciated thank you Mark.We had dinner on the first night I do consider myself a bit of a foodyand I was not dissapointed it was good food at an affordable price and the service was liesurely, It was so nice not to be rushed over courses we had time to chat enjoy each others company for a change like many couples we lead very busy lives so time for chit chat is a bonus. Also being a huge animal lovers we enjoyed the rabbits running around the gardens and had to laugh at the ducks crash landing!! The breakfast was made to order and was of good quality and well cooked. Unfortunatly breakfast service is where my only complaint lies the food is worth waiting for but the young girl serving us forgot to take cooked order both mornings even though the restaraunt was quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone we had a lovely get away everything was clean good quality and Mark was the perfect host. Go relax enjoy

Room Tip: we had paddock it was lovely 4 poster 3 windows in the bedroom own front door wld recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Columba House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba House Hotel

Address: Manse Road, Kingussie PH21 1JF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Hotel:Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, an oasis amidst the magnificent scenery of the Spey Valley. Shimmering lochs are fringed by sandy beaches, and sparkling rivers lie in the shadows of heather-covered mountains. A paradise for outdoor activities, golf, fishing, climbing, rambling, pony trekking, water and winter sports, and those who appreciate invigorating Highland air, dramatic scenery and Highland hospitality.The village of Kingussie is in the Central Highlands of Scotland, surrounded by the Monadhliath and Cairngorm mountain ranges, it provides the opportunity to explore the peaceful countryside with the chance to see a wide variety of wildlife from Golden Eagle or Osprey to Red Deer Stag and Pine Martin. There is also an abundance of wild flowers, plants and trees. 2 miles from Kingussie is the rspb insh Marshes Reserve, one of the finest wetlands conservation areas in the UK. Many wildlife events are organised from here. Golf Pass available guaranteeing 30% reduced rate at all eight of the finest courses within the Cairngorms National Park.A romantic Highland Retreat, highest standards of accommodation, welcoming hospitality, & customer care. Nestling in a secluded, walled garden with ducks, red squirrels, rabbits, deer, pheasants & numerous beautiful birds in attendance. Regret we cannot accommodate children but offer indulgent refuge for grown-ups wishing to enjoy peace in beautiful surroundings with attentive service, & a relaxed adult atmosphere.All modern facilities while retaining the original charm of the Old Manse & Croft.Various stylish, en-suite, room types, doubles/twins/super-king doubles/a large suite and the superb, triple aspect, Penthouse Suite, with ever-changing views of the surrounding village and mountains, including romantic four-poster rooms with locally hand crafted traditional four-posters, mostly king size, and all with double baths, showers. Personal controllable heating, The pampered comfort we offer tells a story, which speaks for itself, as many guests return time and time again. ”Monarch of the Glen” was filmed entirely in the Spey Valley, including many scenes featuring Kingussie.The sport at which Kingussie excels is Shinty and if the team is playing at The Dell (their local ground) you will have the opportunity of watching one of the oldest Gaelic field sports, performed by a team with an unrivalled record of championship and cup wins in the modern era. So….break free from city life and take to the byways, vast moorland, hills, and highland glens. Breathe in the pure highland air, which brightens the eye and lightens the step. Total freedom to relax, unwind and accept the slower pace of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Columba House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba House Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columba House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.