We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun at feeding times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Wildlife Park

Highland Wildlife Park
Kincraig, Kingussie PH21 1NL, Scotland
44 (0)1540 651270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Kingussie
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Scottish wildlife and endangered animals of the world's mountains and tundra in our spectacular setting. Drive around the Main Reserve in your own car and then investigate the walk-round area on foot. With everything from Scottish wildcats to polar bears don't miss the Highlands' wildest day out!
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great fun at feeding times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Went to the Park on a particularly nasty day and still had a fab time. The best thing to do is follow the staff as they feed the animals as you get to see the animal and the keeper tells you a bit about it. The polar bears and wild cats were the highlights and I managed not to see the red pandas or the monkeys! The cafe was fine too which was handy as we did need to dry out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    177
    46
    20
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a lovely day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place is a gem. Great value for money - and this comes from someone with a wildlife-mad-child so we have been to numerous Zoos and parks. We were amazed by the Polar Bears and were lucky enough to see them being fed. Awesome. But come on guys! - advertise yourselves! - I know we're from the Devon which admittedly is a few hundred miles away but, I had never even heard of Polar Bears being kept in this country - this has got to be something you can shout about? :) The best thing for us was that despite this Zoo not having hundreds of different species, the area is huge and they all have really great enclosures. Many of the animals kept here I had never seen before (and believe me, I've seen lots!) So that was really interesting. a great day out, - and stunning scenery as well which was a bonus. Well done.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A whole day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

At Highland Wildlife Park, we paid 50 quid for our family of 5 and initially thought it was quite expensive, however, this is a who,e day out, unlike some other attractions where you may stretch it out to a couple of hours. Firstly you drive around the hundreds of acres of hilly landscape spotting the various animals on display. Some a easy to see and others take a bit of finding which adds to the fun. You can also walk around the other large pens and the are great viewing areas for the polar bears, tigers, and the monkeys are so entertaining. The view from the top of the hill behind the wildcats is stunning and the cafe is good. Lots of space, we were there on a quiet day so I imagine it may be a bit more difficult to see stuff if its busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very good and well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you love animals then this is a good place to see them close up and looked after well. I am not a big fan of zooz but this place looks after the animals well. You get very close to them all and we got to see everything on show as the way they have set up the walks you can get up close to see them.
Being from Scotland I was keen to see the Bob Cats and they have a very cool enclosure that has parts of it running overhead. They have also a good rep for looking after the poler bears.

Would go back....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am not completely sold on the merits of zoos, but this park really put forward the case for using them as areas to support the natural population.

The enclosures are pretty large and the animals looked well cared for with plenty of distractions in the enclosures. The information panels are really informative.

There is no denying that seeing a polar bear and Amur tiger is impressive and the pine Martin and wildcats are fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Wildlife Park also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Highland Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Wildlife Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.