We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slemish B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slemish B&B
Save
You added Slemish B&B to your Saves list
Dunbarry Road, Kingussie PH21 1JN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A little hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I don't know if I should really tell you about this little hidden gem of a B+B nestled in a lovely part of Kingussie because I'd like to keep it all to myself, but I suppose I should pass it on.
John and Lorraine who own and run Slemish b+b are so welcoming you feel like you've known them for years and when we arrived we we're greeted with tea and delicious home baking and a warm smile which was wonderful after our journey north into the dramatic and wonderful scenery of Scotland. If you have any special dietry needs they will gladly cater for or for ideas of activities John and Lorraine will more than happily point you in the right direction. Fantastic accommodation well worth a visit if your on a long or short stay and want a comfortable hassle free break with the Cairngorms National Park on your doorstep. 110% happy and chilled..'

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and photos, some of which we have added to our page. As you have shown this is a wonderful area full of opportunities for the photographer. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dinosaur, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The B&B, which is in a lovely building surrounded by beautiful scenery, is the best one I've ever stayed at. The owners, John and Lorraine were so welcoming and friendly and we were greeted with freshly- baked home-made soda bread on awakening. The rooms were comfortable, attractive and the overall feel was amazing. I couldn't recommend this B&B more. John and Lorraine were also able to help with things to do and obviously know the area very well as they were a fountain of good ideas and knowledge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. It helps to be told we are getting it right. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The B&B was exceptional, the rooms were fantastic and the owners were very friendly. They gave us plenty of ideas for day activities and places to go, as well as being very helpful on how to get there. Genuinely one of the best B&B's in Scotland, if not the UK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our group room which is popular with walkers and cyclists. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went up to Scotland for a ski trip and stayed at Slemish for a long weekend. It is a great B&B, facilities are very good, beautiful full Scotish breakfast, and John and Lorraine are very nice and friendly, they gave us very good tips for dining out, drives, etc. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Luis, Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed Kingussie and your snow boarding.
Still great weather for sking and snow boarding. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stumbled across this place by complete accident-we were snowboarding in the Cairngorms and were left homeless in Aviemore on New Years eve! Found this place on line and lucky for us they had a room available! From the moment we got there we were made to feel right at home-after a day of snowboarding we were greeted with a beautifully decorated comfortable, clean, warm room, (John and Lorraine even took our wet snowboarding gear and put it in their hot room to dry) We had tea and freshly baked shortbread, Our hosts gave us excellent recommendations of what was going on in the town for New year. The next morning we had the most amazing breakfast-absolutely outstanding-freshly baked bread and excellent quality grilled breakfast, with home made Jams- we were even sent off with a very generous helping of Christmas cake! I would really, really recommend this as a place to stay for a snowboarding trip, 15 mins into Aviemore-but the quality of the accommodation/welcome and breakfast and tranquility of the place makes it well worth the 15 min drive. We are already planning our next trip to the highlands-maybe in Spring or Autumn, going to take the hiking boots, the bikes, the canoes and our camper van- and we'll certainly book into Slemish as a treat for a few days-can't wait! It was honestly better that any 5* we've ever stayed in and completely reasonably priced for what you get!

Room Tip: The Double room has a massive power shower and double jacuzzi bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.....We are very happy that we made such a lasting impression on you . As you have discovered Kingussie is a wonderful base of all types of outdoor sports and we offer drying facilities and sports equipment storage...Look forward to seeing you next time.....remember discount for 3 or more days
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Slemish with another couple for our visit to the Kingussie Food on Film Festival, from Friday evening until Sunday morning. And what a great weekend we had. The festival was great, but the B+B was fantastic. Lorraine and John made us all feel really welcome right from the off. We were treated with pots of tea and several cakes and biscuits on our arrival - just what we needed after our drive north. Both rooms were spacious, well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Loads of wardrobe space, plenty of teas and coffees. Breakfasts were served in a lovely airy dining space, and no request was too much for our fabulous hosts. Highly recommended, and hope to return soon. The only slight downer, and I am being very picky, is the short climb uphill from the main street to get to the house. Good exercise though!

Room Tip: We had the Kingsize Double. Our friends had the room with threee single beds. Much preferred our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slemish1, Owner at Slemish B&B, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is nice to be told when we have got it right...
Hope to see you for next years event....We are always happy to give our guests a lift up or down the hill. with thanks john & lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and myself decided on a last minute night away and I knew where to book. We've stayed with John and Lorraine before and honestly can't recommend Slemish B&B highly enough. Our hosts were wonderfully helpful and friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The room (king size) was just wonderful. Big, clean and the ensuite has the WOW factor! Breakfast is a delight. And they cater for all tastes with home made breads and jams. The full scottish is grilled (apart from the egg :} ) so it's extra tasty. We left Slemish feeling totally relaxed and refreshed. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Go for the king room.. And enjoy a swim in the bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slemish B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slemish B&B

Address: Dunbarry Road, Kingussie PH21 1JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Slemish B&B Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slemish B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.