We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruthven Steadings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingussie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruthven Steadings
Save
You added Ruthven Steadings to your Saves list
Ruthven, Kingussie PH21 1NR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Kingussie B&B and Inns
lancs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

A terrific bed and breakfast. The owner Julie does a magnificent job, she is a mine of information on the local things to see and do. The dairy room which we stayed in was spotless and breakfast kept us fed all day, she is the perfect host. You must visit the finnish potting shed its approx 5 miles away. Coffee, cake and a real close up view of several species of small birds and a red squirrel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We have recently returned from a most delightful B&B experience
due to the hospitality of John & Julie Cushing owners of 'The Steadings at Ruthven' Kingussie, in Scotlands Central Highlands in the foothills of the Cairngorm Mountains. The standard of service, and accomodation comfort is far beyond what you would expect from any other B&B we have experienced.
The choice of food at Breakfast is breathtaking, the bedroom comfort & room facilities together with en-suit is stunning, there are magnificent views from every angle of the property, if its a touring holiday base or a winter skiing holiday you are looking for, this B&B would be difficult to beat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Beautiful, large king-size room in a very quite location. We had a wonderful breakfast - try the pancakes. Our only regret is that we didn't have time to stay for a few more nights.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

This was one extra night stay at the end of a week in self-catering cottage. The B&B was worth its 4 stars and more. It was warm, welcoming comfortable and the breakfast was fab. Would recommend this as the best place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Our comments echo the other reviews. The room is beautiful, comfortable, and spacious with all sorts of nice touches to enhance the stay; food is great; hosts are helpful and friendly. The area was one of our favorites in the UK, too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

This was our 5th (or even 6th?) stay at Ruthven Steadings. As always, a home from home, and our 3 day stay soon extended itself to 5...
Julie and John are superb hosts, and really make you feel welcome. The rooms are very spacious and immaculately clean. The Tractor Shed is the larger of the two rooms, and the one we normally stay in. The room has a massive bed, wooden floors and beams, and a really nice, elegant bathroom (with a hefty power shower to wake you up in the morning). Every morning there is a breakfast menu to choose from, with choices ranging from apple and sultana-filled pancake served with fresh fruit, to a traditional cooked breakfast (with local venison sausages). You can have porridge, cereal, fruits, yogurts and there is always fresh home baked bread and home-made jam too.
In the room, you also have a TV and DVD player, access to books and maps, and a tea-tray stocked with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits to make sure that you have a cosy and comfortable evening after a long day out in the hills
In all honesty, the only drawback about staying here is that it spoils you - every other B+B seems second rate in comparison!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

It's a couple of years since we stayed at Ruthven Steadings but returned again last month and were not disappointed. It's still the best B & B we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruthven Steadings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthven Steadings

Address: Ruthven, Kingussie PH21 1NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb 4-star fully renovated steading in a quiet and scenic location just l mile from Kingussie, 12 miles south of Aviemore, in the Cairngorm National Park, set in 2 acres. Two spacious ensuite rooms with lots of character and handmade elm furniture. Superkingsize beds, wooden beams, wooden floors, flat screen TVs, DVDs, leather sofas. Hall with wooden burning stove. Full Scottish Breakfast, vegetarian options, home made bread and jams. Central for Visitor Attractions, golf l mile, watersports 6 miles, snow skiing 19 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruthven Steadings Kingussie, Scotland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruthven Steadings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.