We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghillies Cellar Bar & Bistro

Ghillies Cellar Bar & Bistro
Newtonmore Road | Duke Of Gordon Hotel, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
(01540) 661302
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 12 restaurants in Kingussie
Cuisines: Bistro
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Cosy and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

On the outside this place looked a bit too posh for the likes of us but we were impressed by the reasonable price list. Inside it was warm and cosy. Staff were very attentive and chatty. Main course meals had massive portions. You won't be able to manage dessert! Very good value for money. Good pub standard food in cosy surroundings. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    1
    7
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The sandwiches were very fresh and lots of them with side salad and crisps. Good service and value.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hotel bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Lovely friendly staff in a cosy atmosphere. Good selection of beers.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I you want old and tacky with decent service, watch Fawlty Towers while in Blackpool...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The old saying "never judge a book by its cover" comes into play here... the hotel itself looks brilliant, nice decor in reception area too...
Dithering in the reception area due to the unclear access to restaurant, we toyed with the idea of heading to the Rowantree instead. Should have went.

Man on reception was very pleasant and showed us through.
It was like fawlty towers meets blackpool, with coaches of OAPs etc.
Ordered simple soup, then cheeseburgers n chips.Foreign waitrtess very nice and good service. The food was awful though, and £40 was extremely steep!!

Shall not return.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Kingussie Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

On the first night of a B&B "walking" holiday in Kingussie (from the 17th of May till the 26 of may 2008) we discovered this fantastic place to eat: GHILLIES CELLAR by chance.
We were on the main street (easy, there's only one) to find some place to eat and came across the Duke of Gordon Hotel and restaurant.
There was no menu listed so we entered to inquire about the possibility to eat there.
Immediately we saw that this was not "our kind" of place.
Thick carpets, people in nice costumes and beau tie etc.
A lady from the hotel welcomed us and asked if we would like to eat.
We said yes but that the place looked a bit "expensive".
She smiled and said, then I have just the thing for you, come with me.
We were led down a flight of stairs.
There was a bar-bistro in a couple of vaulted cellars.
This was more our style !
A few tables were put together to allow the 10 of us to sit together.
The menu looked nice, the prices too.

We took the so called "carvery" for just under 10£ a person.
You take a plate and go up to the counter (heated) where the meat, fish, vegetables etc. are served by the chef.
It was delicious.
Some of us went for a second portion (NO extra charge) for it was that good.
The next day we went to another place but were so disappointed
that during the remainder of the holiday we went back several times to the "Ghillies Cellar". No longer through the posh hotel lobby but straight through the entrance at the side of the building.

As we became (almost) regulars we got to know the staff a little bit.
They told us that the first day we came in was actually their OPENING night.
We told them that we absolutely hadn't noticed that and congratulated them (belated) with their fantastic place.

Back home (Belgium for me, Cornwall for the 9 others) I wanted to look up some information about the restaurant and found ...... nothing.

That's why I made this review.
Now at least it's not a secret place anymore.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghillies Cellar Bar & Bistro also viewed

Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Ghillies Cellar Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghillies Cellar Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.