We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday gift for my mum 80th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Angus Hotel to your Saves list
Angus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Derbyshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“birthday gift for my mum 80th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have been to this hotel before, It is still very good, food and service was excellent. The only thing I was disappointed that the swimming pool was not open until 8.00am with being on a coach we were having our breakfast,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    144
    68
    27
    16
See reviews for
54
168
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed at the Angus hotel from the 6th to the 8th June, although the hotel is in need of some kind of refurbishment as it is looking pretty tired in a lot of areas, windows that the double glazing had failed, the beer garden area could also do with a massive makeover as it looked really rundown. Apart from that the hotel was very good. The food was really good on both days, breakfast and dinner, with no complaints whatsoever, one of the good things about dinner was that if you did not want the all inclusive menu you could opt for the bay tree a la cart menu and the hotel would contribute the first £15 towards it. We used the leisure facilities and could not fault them, the area was kept clean and everything worked as promised. The biggest plus for the hotel was the staff, they were very friendly and nothing was too much of a hassle for them. I would definitely stay there again but only on a tribute night as the local pubs etc did not really turn out to be anything great. Overall the hotel is in a good location for travelling to other areas of interest.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 straight across from the crown pub and it overlooks the main road so was pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Arrived Friday 30th May at 4.00 pm . Got to room after 30 mins. Room is best described as TIRED with no insulation from any noise,double glazing is way past it's sell buy date and there cannot be any in between sound insulation. Bathroom door did not close fully. Food was plain and acceptable but i do not think 2 pieces of cheese constitutes a Cheese Board. Buffet breakfast was not very good hot or cold. No rolls,fresh fruit,hard boiled eggs,cheese and cold meats,croissants,etc. Never asked if we wanted a drink and when we asked 3, yes 3 different waiting personnel the drinks arrived in time for our sweet. The tribute act was Fawlty Towers and was fantastic,a sell out ,so no chance of a room change.We unfortunately were placed at a table with a person who was not able to control his intake of alcohol and could not say 3 words without swearing. This was no fault of the hotel until despite his obvious state and being sick all over the table.was still served drink from the bar. Poor management at best. The swimming pool had a rim of scum round it so we decided to give that a miss. We left and came home on the Sunday for a well earned rest.Sorry but the above is a true experience and not a pleasant one. We did complain at the overworked reception desk and received an apology which we accepted.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the noise if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited this hotel for a tribute weekend. Staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. Rooms were basic, but clean. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom small. Really think in this day and age we should have mixer taps on all sinks! Our hot tap was labelled cold and vice versa. Shower was over bath and temperature was impossible to regulate. It constantly went from hot to cold and back again without touching the taps. Food again was basic, but adequate. No vegetarian option for breakfast so if you don't eat sausage, bacon and haggis, then you have had it. Would only return if going as part of a group for a tribute weekend again. If I was going for a lovely couples weekend away, I would opt for something less basic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I had no idea where I was going for my hen weekend. Pulled up at Angus hotel and from the time we step foot in the hotel to the time we left the staff were brilliant food was amazing on both nights, Tribute night Elvis was a laugh and all us girls had amazing time and have no complaints on this hotel a tall. I never used spa or swimming pool but some of the girls did and said it was fantastic. The location is brilliant for what we were doing. Great weekend and can't thank the staff enough for making us feel very welcome..... Weekend to remember....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Ate in the bar/restaurant with friends , food poor, not home made !! Service slow only one member of staff serving , disappointed won't be coming back mislead as to hotel having separate restaurant but food served in the bar area

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

A party of 20 of us are just back from spending a weekend at this hotel for my daughter's hen and what a weekend it was. The hotel is lovely. Yes maybe the rooms could do with a little updating but the quality of bedding and the cleanliness of the rooms were great.
We paid £99 each for bed, breakfast and evening meal from Friday to Sunday and that included a Cabaret evening on the Saturday. The quality of the food we had for dinner was great, especially on the Saturday, with 3 choices for each course plus tea or coffee and the service was brilliant in the dinning room. Breakfast is buffet style with tea, coffee and toast being brought to you at your table. The buffet choices were great and the haggis was gorgeous and you had your usual fruit juice, cereals, yoghurts etc to choose from as well.
The staff could not do enough for us and made us all feel so welcome and I would like to give special mentions to Caley, Maria, Arron and Noel. The hotel was very busy and a big thanks to our fellow guests who joined in with our party and putting up with the rising noise levels our group managed to produce. We did appreciate this.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and my husband and I are planning a return visit to one of their weekly Cabaret evenings. A new brochure will be out with full details of up and coming acts available from June.
I also have to mention the people of Blairgowrie. Most of us had never been to this part of Scotland and we were met with nothing but friendliness with all the pubs we visited making an extra effort for all our party to be seated together.
I can't thank everyone enough for making the weekend we have just had one of the best times ever away.
If your in this part of Scotland please try The Angus Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Address: 46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.