We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Hen Weekend Great Laugh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Angus Hotel to your Saves list
Angus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Aberdeenshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My Hen Weekend Great Laugh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I had no idea where I was going for my hen weekend. Pulled up at Angus hotel and from the time we step foot in the hotel to the time we left the staff were brilliant food was amazing on both nights, Tribute night Elvis was a laugh and all us girls had amazing time and have no complaints on this hotel a tall. I never used spa or swimming pool but some of the girls did and said it was fantastic. The location is brilliant for what we were doing. Great weekend and can't thank the staff enough for making us feel very welcome..... Weekend to remember....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    171
    80
    32
    18
See reviews for
66
187
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterlee, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Ate in the bar/restaurant with friends , food poor, not home made !! Service slow only one member of staff serving , disappointed won't be coming back mislead as to hotel having separate restaurant but food served in the bar area

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

A party of 20 of us are just back from spending a weekend at this hotel for my daughter's hen and what a weekend it was. The hotel is lovely. Yes maybe the rooms could do with a little updating but the quality of bedding and the cleanliness of the rooms were great.
We paid £99 each for bed, breakfast and evening meal from Friday to Sunday and that included a Cabaret evening on the Saturday. The quality of the food we had for dinner was great, especially on the Saturday, with 3 choices for each course plus tea or coffee and the service was brilliant in the dinning room. Breakfast is buffet style with tea, coffee and toast being brought to you at your table. The buffet choices were great and the haggis was gorgeous and you had your usual fruit juice, cereals, yoghurts etc to choose from as well.
The staff could not do enough for us and made us all feel so welcome and I would like to give special mentions to Caley, Maria, Arron and Noel. The hotel was very busy and a big thanks to our fellow guests who joined in with our party and putting up with the rising noise levels our group managed to produce. We did appreciate this.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and my husband and I are planning a return visit to one of their weekly Cabaret evenings. A new brochure will be out with full details of up and coming acts available from June.
I also have to mention the people of Blairgowrie. Most of us had never been to this part of Scotland and we were met with nothing but friendliness with all the pubs we visited making an extra effort for all our party to be seated together.
I can't thank everyone enough for making the weekend we have just had one of the best times ever away.
If your in this part of Scotland please try The Angus Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel organised our golf and transport to the three courses we played, along with the 2 nights dinner ,Bed & Breakfast the costs worked out very reasonable. There was a Beatle tribute band on the Saturday which some of our group enjoyed. A really good place to stay, friendly staff good food .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just stayed at the Angus Hotel for one night, and it was enough. Please make sure you don't get Room 1, it's old tattty, with stains on the wall, marks in the bath, shoddy diy work in the bathroom and because it's right next to the corridor doors you'll hear every single person going in and out!

Bearing in mind that our booking was through Clasicc Britain, who supposedly guarantees "Best Room Available on Arrival" and that I emailed the reservations team in advance to advice them that I had booked the room as a birthday gift for my friend, I was actually mortified when I saw the terrible room they gave us. It didn't help either that the way to the pool is the weirdst thing I have ever seen, having to walk through the main events suite and by the housekeeping/laundry cupboard to be greeted by very old fashioned swimming facilities and a strong smell of chlorine which made my eyes water before I even got in the pool!

Good breakfast and nice staff, but the old rooms and the pool area definitely need inmediate care and attention

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my one year old son and it was a lovely experience. It is located in the centre of the town 5 mins from the shops, supermarket (ideal for bits and pieces for as baby) and closeby to Davie park. The hotel staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Our room was a single room but exactly as we needed. It was a very clean and pleasant place to stay. As far as I'm aware they have a pool and other amenities but I can't comment as I never used them. We enjoyed a nice Scottish breakfast in the morning and left a full and happy customer. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just returned home from a fabulous weekend! The staff were amazing! The food and rooms were great value for money. The pool and spa nice and clean and added to our relaxing weekend. The Grease tribute was fantastic and included all parties in their entertainment. Will definitely be back and would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice relaxing weekend with some entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Address: 46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.