We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Micchael Buble show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Angus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Blairgowrie
Glasgow
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Micchael Buble show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Given this as christmas gift from family. Hotel excellent & staff very friendly & helpful.
food was excellent & the tribute night organisation could not have been better -- so organized & the meal was first class. Well done to the staff !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Morag M,
Many thanks for your fantastic review of the Angus Hotel, our staff are delighted that you enjoyed yourself, it is always good to know when we have done well.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson, Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    128
    59
    26
    14
See reviews for
49
152
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Thought the hotel was situated in perfect little town staff so friendly especially reception. Food was great but felt a bit let down on the meal on tribute nite. Elvis fantastic.would like to had choice to eat in other little resturant. Will be back in a few weeks hopefully.well done to your efficient staff

Room Tip: Back of hotel I was in .72
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Bingojanet,
Many thanks for your positive and constructive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the Elvis Tribute. I will discuss your comments with regards to the tribute meal with our Head Chef.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson, Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Booked this via 5pm big deal. 2 nights bb for £99. We paid another £50 for upgrade to superior room and we were happy with what we got for this. However worth noting if larger room is desirable but not vital you can get pamper package for £70 that includes room upgrade if available.

Room was spotless and extremely well maintained. Didn't eat at the hotel but did use the leisure facilities and again these were spotless. Pool small if into swimming but quiet during our stay.

Blairgowrie was a great base for a tour of Perthshire in our 3 days we visited Kirriemuir, aberfeldy, glamis castle and had time for a Forfar bridie. Special mention to Joanna from 88 in Kirriemuir for her wonderful home baking although she reckons her husbands baking is even better but unfortunately his shop in Forfar was closed when we passed through!

If you go to visit aberfeldy the temple gallery is well worth a visit Ryan who owns the gallery and produces his own work there will easily get you interested in traditional printing with his genuine passion for his chosen field. Shout out to his band star wheel press good luck for the gig at electric circus in Edinburgh on 21st April.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear johnmillgan,
We are delighted to receive your positive review on the Angus Hotel. My team work hard to deliver the very best we have on offer and it is always good to know that we are achieving this.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson, Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the hotel. Enjoyed it that much that we booked a further night. I disagree with Sharon G's review, she may have caught someone on an off day! As everyone at reception and the reservations office bent over backwards for us. Even although they were extremely busy they tried to accommodate us at every turn, all I can say is contact them and tell them of your issues and I am sure they will be very sympathetic. This break was a treat for my daughter, who turned 13 years old and had her birthday on the day of the Freddie Mercury tribute act. All the staff were very kind and helpful, they put balloons and party hats at our table and left a birthday gift and card (signed by all the staff!) on the table also. The DJ got everyone to sing Happy Birthday, then the entertainer sang Happy Birthday and everyone staying at the hotel were very friendly. The breakfast was tasty and filling and the staff were also very accommodating, although please note during the week, breakfast finishes at 9.30am, after our morning swim we arrived at 10am and were told breakfast was over after speaking with the restaurant manager we were able to enjoy our hearty breakfast. The hotel has nice leisure facilities including; a pool, sauna and jacuzzi and the lovely lounge area has free wifi. Most of the rooms have flat screen tv's but my room had the old portable, adequate enough for me. The rooms are clean and tidy, but some could do with a small upgrade as they are showing their age a little. However, this has not stopped me rebooking for two other weekends this year! Good value for money, good food and welcoming and helpful staff.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms to the front of the building overlooking the square have been the first to be up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear 63Andy,

Many thanks for your fantastic review, we are thrilled that your had such a great time at the Angus Hotel. I am fortunate to receive many kind letters from guests whom echo your comments.
My apologies for any confusion over the breakfast times, this matter was brought to my attention by the duty manager and corrective action has been taken.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson, Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed at Angus Hotel for the weekend with a large group of girl friends aged from early twentys to late fiftys and an excellent time was had by ALL. The 70s DISCO NIGHT was fantastic from the great Meal , the 70s Act and finally the Staff, who nothing was to much trouble for them. We each had a good sized single room . clean , warm and we all made godod use of the leisure facilities , swimming pool , sauna ,ect which helped our aching feet after all that Partying..... Blairgowrie is a lovely small town with nive riverside walks and small shops to window shop. All in All The Angus Hotel is Fantastic Value for money, I could not praise it more highly.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are above the ballroom and the party nights are loud and do go on quite late, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Karen J,
I am delighted that you enjoyed our recent 70's disco tribute and thank you for providing us with your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson, Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Phoned the Angus Hotel to check availability for a weekend break, having seen a special offer on 5pm.co.uk. Turned out they did have availability, but the girl on reception was so rude to me, that I was put off booking. I would have thought the reason for doing special offers was to 'attract' new customers, not scare them away!!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
I am really disappointed that you feel our reception staff were rude to you. You are completely correct that we offer deals with 5pm to try and attract new business, and I am sorry you feel you did not receive the excellent customer service that is expected of our staff. If you would like to email, or call me, then we can discuss this further.
Tel-01250 877889 or Email-sales@theangushotel.com

Regards
Karyn Bell, Sales and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed 23 & 24 march - Tina turner tribute. Good singer although I preferred her singing a mixture of songs Lady Gaga etc but then again Tina Turner isn't my favorite singer. Really enjoyed the 2 days away, hotel was very relaxing albeit our room (superior) was looking onto the local square or should I say triangle which at night became the gathering point for the local teenagers and those who had consumed to much alcohol resulting in a bit of noise but to be honest this didn't cause us to much distress. Good value for money weekend, breakfast was excellent with good selection. Haggis which accompanied full cooked breakfast was very tasty only negative would be the evening meals which went with the package. Would recommend opting to use £15 per person they offer to use in The Baytree lounge/ restaurant on first night, second night is not optional everyone eats set menu.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottHotels, Manager at Angus Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Craig C,
Many thanks for providing us with your constructive and positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Brian Robinson, Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Hotel

Address: 46 Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Angus Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.