We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - friendly helpful staff - good value for cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Banff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food - friendly helpful staff - good value for cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Booked through easy breaks - all inclusive deal - nice friendly staff - upgraded room of a good size - no view - good sized bathroom - king size bed, very comfortable - clean and tidy throughout - -- evening meals - good choice matched by the quality and quantity. Breakfast again of good quality and quantity - service throughout was very good - excellent value - looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    31
    20
    15
    7
See reviews for
8
45
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel and we were not disappointed. We booked on a special deal but we were given a superior room which was very clean and comfortable with a lovely modern bathroom. As part of the deal we had dinner in the restaurant - this was three courses and was absolutely delicious. We've been to hotels in the past on special deals and generally the food is basic but the food in this hotel was amazing and beautifully presented by pleasant, friendly staff. Breakfast was also lovely and served right up until 10am. The building is old but the owners have made a great job of modernising the dining and breakfast room with modern furniture and fittings. We've stayed in Blairgowrie several times but this is the first time at The Royal but it certainly won't be our last !

Room Tip: Book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

An oldish building in the centre of lovely Blairgowrie. Rooms, mine at least, was a bit dated in terms of décor but the en-suite shower was good and the king size bed was very comfortable and the linen was spotless. Staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was excellent. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Booked a superior double room online. Well harry potter must have been away cause we got his cupboard. Room was absolutely freezing. Phoned reception they said heating would be on at 9. Its now 10.15 and still not on. Will never stay here again. £96 per night , ive had better £ 40 rooms. Rant over

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Nice and friendly hotel, very helpful staff.
I did not use the restaurant for an evening meal but the breakfast was really good, more than adequate with a good choice, full breakfast, cereals, toast, and tea or coffee.
There are plenty of places to eat out for your evening meal, I just wanted to explore the town.
Room was ok, nice and clean and hotel was quiet enough to get a good nights sleep.
Would and will use again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but just went out for a meal to try the restaurant. We won't be back a second time. The menu is limited to fried things and pie if you don't want to eat burgers or steak. My partner had a tiny overcooked portion of scampi and I a weird tasting hake from the chef's menu. We enquired about the choice of beers and all we were offered was Tennent's, Stella and Belhaven best. When we went to the bar to pay, we found out there were others. The staff seemed not too happy to see us and weren't very helpful. The conversation between them certainly wasn't family friendly. I personally wasn't too happy to have to listen to a football game while eating. We came in with high expectations, but unfortunately we left very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montose scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was one of the worst Hotels that we have ever stayed in. The room that we were given( room 60 )smelt of damp and was in some 1970 's annex. I know that I am shortsighted but the television was microscopic! I asked to be upgraded and it cost me 20£ extra.This was not a bad room but the furniture was all stained .Old water was left in the kettle.We had cold showers each day as there was no hot water.We had to telephone the hotel to get into our room at night as the outside door was locked.The breakfast was excellent.It was like Faulty Towers how could anyone rate this Fantastic.

Room Tip: Have a superior room if you can afford it!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.