We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardly luxury but great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hardly luxury but great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

An oldish building in the centre of lovely Blairgowrie. Rooms, mine at least, was a bit dated in terms of décor but the en-suite shower was good and the king size bed was very comfortable and the linen was spotless. Staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was excellent. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    23
    16
    7
See reviews for
9
48
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Booked a superior double room online. Well harry potter must have been away cause we got his cupboard. Room was absolutely freezing. Phoned reception they said heating would be on at 9. Its now 10.15 and still not on. Will never stay here again. £96 per night , ive had better £ 40 rooms. Rant over

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Nice and friendly hotel, very helpful staff.
I did not use the restaurant for an evening meal but the breakfast was really good, more than adequate with a good choice, full breakfast, cereals, toast, and tea or coffee.
There are plenty of places to eat out for your evening meal, I just wanted to explore the town.
Room was ok, nice and clean and hotel was quiet enough to get a good nights sleep.
Would and will use again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but just went out for a meal to try the restaurant. We won't be back a second time. The menu is limited to fried things and pie if you don't want to eat burgers or steak. My partner had a tiny overcooked portion of scampi and I a weird tasting hake from the chef's menu. We enquired about the choice of beers and all we were offered was Tennent's, Stella and Belhaven best. When we went to the bar to pay, we found out there were others. The staff seemed not too happy to see us and weren't very helpful. The conversation between them certainly wasn't family friendly. I personally wasn't too happy to have to listen to a football game while eating. We came in with high expectations, but unfortunately we left very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montose scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was one of the worst Hotels that we have ever stayed in. The room that we were given( room 60 )smelt of damp and was in some 1970 's annex. I know that I am shortsighted but the television was microscopic! I asked to be upgraded and it cost me 20£ extra.This was not a bad room but the furniture was all stained .Old water was left in the kettle.We had cold showers each day as there was no hot water.We had to telephone the hotel to get into our room at night as the outside door was locked.The breakfast was excellent.It was like Faulty Towers how could anyone rate this Fantastic.

Room Tip: Have a superior room if you can afford it!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband & I booked an Easy Breaks Late Deal for two nights (Friday & Saturday) last weekend. On arrival we were greeted by a very nice receptionist who informed us we had been upgraded to a superior room at no extra charge. The room was large with a huge king size bed with sparkling white linen. So comfortable! Best couple of nights sleep I have had in a long time. The bathroom looks as if it has been recently refurbished. The shower was great - very powerful.
Dinner was served in a small area beyond the lounge bar. The three course menu selection was good and the quality and presentation was first class. Both my husband and I have dietary issues, but the staff could not have been more helpful in offering substitutes. I ordered biscuits and cheese and was presented with a lovely selection of cheeses (enough for 2 or more) served with grapes, celery and the best chutney I have ever tasted.Husband's cheesecake hit the spot for him. The wine selection was of good quality and not over the top price wise.
Breakfast was served in the Glen Restaurant and offered a good selection of cereals together with a full Scottish breakfast cooked to order. All in all a very enjoyable stay with excellent, friendly and helpful staff. It was great value for money and we hope to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the superior rooms - enquire about an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked a short 3 day late break through Easy Breaks. We got an extremely competitive deal.
The staff were very helpful and courteous. Our room was upgraded to a superior. It was spacious with a king size ,comfortable bed and an en suite with shower but no bath. It was extremely quiet and peaceful throughout our stay. The breakfasts were tasty and the evening meals were excellent with a different choice each evening. The bar staff were very friendly and engaging. Nothing to fault in this hotel and we would definitely stay again. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.