We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so royal!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Hotel
53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Blairgowrie
montose scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not so royal!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was one of the worst Hotels that we have ever stayed in. The room that we were given( room 60 )smelt of damp and was in some 1970 's annex. I know that I am shortsighted but the television was microscopic! I asked to be upgraded and it cost me 20£ extra.This was not a bad room but the furniture was all stained .Old water was left in the kettle.We had cold showers each day as there was no hot water.We had to telephone the hotel to get into our room at night as the outside door was locked.The breakfast was excellent.It was like Faulty Towers how could anyone rate this Fantastic.

Room Tip: Have a superior room if you can afford it!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    18
    12
    7
See reviews for
7
43
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband & I booked an Easy Breaks Late Deal for two nights (Friday & Saturday) last weekend. On arrival we were greeted by a very nice receptionist who informed us we had been upgraded to a superior room at no extra charge. The room was large with a huge king size bed with sparkling white linen. So comfortable! Best couple of nights sleep I have had in a long time. The bathroom looks as if it has been recently refurbished. The shower was great - very powerful.
Dinner was served in a small area beyond the lounge bar. The three course menu selection was good and the quality and presentation was first class. Both my husband and I have dietary issues, but the staff could not have been more helpful in offering substitutes. I ordered biscuits and cheese and was presented with a lovely selection of cheeses (enough for 2 or more) served with grapes, celery and the best chutney I have ever tasted.Husband's cheesecake hit the spot for him. The wine selection was of good quality and not over the top price wise.
Breakfast was served in the Glen Restaurant and offered a good selection of cereals together with a full Scottish breakfast cooked to order. All in all a very enjoyable stay with excellent, friendly and helpful staff. It was great value for money and we hope to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the superior rooms - enquire about an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked a short 3 day late break through Easy Breaks. We got an extremely competitive deal.
The staff were very helpful and courteous. Our room was upgraded to a superior. It was spacious with a king size ,comfortable bed and an en suite with shower but no bath. It was extremely quiet and peaceful throughout our stay. The breakfasts were tasty and the evening meals were excellent with a different choice each evening. The bar staff were very friendly and engaging. Nothing to fault in this hotel and we would definitely stay again. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked through easy breaks for a one night stay here. We arrived and check in was quick and efficient. Our room overlooked the car park which wasnt a great view but and was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and had great nights sleep. Our stay included dinner at night and we found the food and service bit great. Breakfast in the morning was great good selection and my husband had the full breakfast which was good. We will return and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: A room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

While working up in Blair these were the immortal words we would be greeted with on returning to the bar at the end of the day. Very warming words indeed from Gary behind the bar who also worked at a bit of everything to be honest. Plenty of beer including a local ale as well as a plethora of whiskey to choose from, and the bar had Sky Sports which was a bonus for the football. The menu for the restaurant (located at one end of the bar area as well as a separate room called The Glens) looked very appetising and reasonably priced but I did not make use of the restaurant so cannot comment on it.
Breakfast at first was cooked and served by the owners wife, and we soon learnt to put in our orders the night before to save time. While the choice may not have been plenty for some (really? how much food do you need to eat at breakfast?) there was still a choice of cereals, toast, cooked food with juices, tea and coffee available. But most importantly when ordering a cooked breakfast it was great to have an actual hot meal unlike some places where it arrives quite warm. The service was good and continued when the chef took over duties later in the week.
The room was a standard twin with TV, DVD player (but remote didn't work), kettle, tea and coffee. Ample open wardrobe space with plenty of hangers as well as extra duvets and blankets completed the room nicely. Beds were a bit on the short side and a bit narrow but didn't hinder a night's sleep. The bathroom was okay and the shower came with a bottle of shower gel plus towels were replaced daily or as when needed.
Overall I would say that the hotel could do with a little modernisation but as I was using the hotel as purely somewhere to crash in the evenings and get something to eat first thing I was not bothered about that at all, and to be fair the place did have a unique character. The staff were great and service excellent, plus it is nice to stay somewhere you can have a bit of banter with staff rather than being serviced by smiley customer service automotons!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just spent a fantastic overnight stay in this great hotel. Fantastic value for money. Great service and fantastic food. We stayed in the Turnberry, lovely big room. One little moan would be the pipes are a bit noisy. Would be more than happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

the bar restuarant is very lively with a buzz about the place. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough to make sure you enjoy the experience. We had a lovely meal that was extremely good value and will go back again.
We only came for the food as we live locally. It is one of the best in Blairgowrie

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.