We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
falkirk
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Over night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked through easy breaks for a one night stay here. We arrived and check in was quick and efficient. Our room overlooked the car park which wasnt a great view but and was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and had great nights sleep. Our stay included dinner at night and we found the food and service bit great. Breakfast in the morning was great good selection and my husband had the full breakfast which was good. We will return and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: A room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    31
    20
    15
    7
See reviews for
8
45
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

While working up in Blair these were the immortal words we would be greeted with on returning to the bar at the end of the day. Very warming words indeed from Gary behind the bar who also worked at a bit of everything to be honest. Plenty of beer including a local ale as well as a plethora of whiskey to choose from, and the bar had Sky Sports which was a bonus for the football. The menu for the restaurant (located at one end of the bar area as well as a separate room called The Glens) looked very appetising and reasonably priced but I did not make use of the restaurant so cannot comment on it.
Breakfast at first was cooked and served by the owners wife, and we soon learnt to put in our orders the night before to save time. While the choice may not have been plenty for some (really? how much food do you need to eat at breakfast?) there was still a choice of cereals, toast, cooked food with juices, tea and coffee available. But most importantly when ordering a cooked breakfast it was great to have an actual hot meal unlike some places where it arrives quite warm. The service was good and continued when the chef took over duties later in the week.
The room was a standard twin with TV, DVD player (but remote didn't work), kettle, tea and coffee. Ample open wardrobe space with plenty of hangers as well as extra duvets and blankets completed the room nicely. Beds were a bit on the short side and a bit narrow but didn't hinder a night's sleep. The bathroom was okay and the shower came with a bottle of shower gel plus towels were replaced daily or as when needed.
Overall I would say that the hotel could do with a little modernisation but as I was using the hotel as purely somewhere to crash in the evenings and get something to eat first thing I was not bothered about that at all, and to be fair the place did have a unique character. The staff were great and service excellent, plus it is nice to stay somewhere you can have a bit of banter with staff rather than being serviced by smiley customer service automotons!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just spent a fantastic overnight stay in this great hotel. Fantastic value for money. Great service and fantastic food. We stayed in the Turnberry, lovely big room. One little moan would be the pipes are a bit noisy. Would be more than happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

the bar restuarant is very lively with a buzz about the place. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough to make sure you enjoy the experience. We had a lovely meal that was extremely good value and will go back again.
We only came for the food as we live locally. It is one of the best in Blairgowrie

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Just spent 3 days staying in this hotel and found food excellent always good choice ,staff were so friendly in fact we have NO COMPLAINTS about this hotel in fact it was the best that we have stayed in so far and will have no hesitation in staying here again next time we are up that way would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Haven`t stayed at the hotel as I don`t live far away, but have been lucky enough to catch a couple of the traditional music sessions in the bar - dozens of musicians and singers from local area and beyond, all excellent, and there`s a great atmosphere, highly recommended! Need to check with hotel to find out when they`re on as they aren`t that regular.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

On the 10th-12th September 2013 we stayed at this hotel (My parents did at least - T & K Gunn) they found from the time they arrived until the time they left the staff could not do enough for them. The food was excellent with a good variety on the menu standard of service very high. Obviously a very good chef. Good size portions, deserts wonderful. The staff were very professional and seemed happy in their work. The packed lunches were to a high standard also. room was lovely - superior room - huge comfortable bed, modern facilities. They would rate this hotel 100%. We wish the business every success - it deserves it. They will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.