We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Quirky Place - We Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lairds House

The Lairds House
The Riverside, Lower Mill Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AQ, Scotland
+44 1250 872292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Blairgowrie
Price range: $5 - $31
Cuisines: English, French, Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Laird's House is just stones throw from one of the great walks in the area. The laird's house is open for teas and coffee's with a selection of cakes and scones. We offer an informal lunch and slightly more formal Dinner. Ross in the kitchen is very proud of our steaks and takes great pleasure in specially selecting our beef. We are open Monday and Tuesday 9am-5pm, Wednesday to Saturday inclusive 9am-11pm and Sunday 10am-5pm
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Quirky Place - We Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

4 of us had lunch here and it was superb. Service was outstanding as was the quality of the food - and huge portions too!

Can recommend the various pies - both the chicken and steak were tender, plenty of flavour and good side orders to boot.

Desserts were also lovely - including the tray bakes.

What I really loved was browsing the arts and crafts before and after lunch, this is a lovely place with superb service and outstanding food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    23
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is by far my favourite eating place in Blairgowrie. The staff are always so welcoming and friendly and the service is hard to beat. We regularly pop in for food and are never disappointed. I would recommend this place...give it a try...its well worth the visit..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I tried this restaurant following a recommendation from a friend. We attended for a late lunch and were not disappointed. The food quality, presentation and friendlyness of the the staff is quite literally hard to beat. The biggest surprise however is the prices - for food of this quality you really would expect to pay so much more.

For those who appreciate larger portion will not be disappointed either as my wife and I shared both a starter and a dessert and still came out stuffed full.

Anyone living in the Blairgowrie area who has not tried this little gem should do so - you won't be disappointed.

Worth every one of the 5 stars.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great gluten free options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely lunch at the Lairds House. The gluten free sandwiches and tray bakes were very tasty and the portions were generous as well. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very pleasant light Saturday lunch - venison burger tasty and perfectly cooked steak sandwich. Definitely worth a try!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lairds House also viewed

Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Lairds House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lairds House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.