We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Blairgowrie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lairds House

The Lairds House
The Riverside, Lower Mill Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AQ, Scotland
+44 1250 872292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Blairgowrie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: French, Seafood, English, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Laird's House is just stones throw from one of the great walks in the area. The laird's house is open for teas and coffee's with a selection of cakes and scones. We offer an informal lunch and slightly more formal Dinner. Ross in the kitchen is very proud of our steaks and takes great pleasure in specially selecting our beef. We are open Monday and Tuesday 9am-5pm, Wednesday to Saturday inclusive 9am-11pm and Sunday 10am-5pm
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best food in Blairgowrie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I just cant go past this place for food, It is always fantastic. We had the chicken and bacon club sandwich when we in there on Monday...this isn't for the faint hearted...it's 3 layers of bread stuffed with filling. We went for Sunday lunch today, yum yum it was delicious, such an excellent choice of tasty dishes to choose from. We both had duck terrine to start, which was brilliant, then my husband had sea bass, scallops and black pudding, and I guess he enjoyed that very much as he just tucked into it and cleared his plate, and I got stuck into my delicious roast beef and Yorkshire puddings. The sweets are always to die for, and beautifully served so we could not resist, my hubby had lemon posset, which he said was light and refreshing for finishing of his meal. I had the cheesecake and thoroughly enjoyed it.
There is always a warm welcome, the staff are cheery and friendly and I would recommend this place to all

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    26
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss out, go here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We walked in tonight after another local favourite eatery was full.
As this was our first visit we weren't sure what to expect as we had heard mixed reviews locally. We will definitely be back!!
The food was amazing, service faultless and even the toilets were spotless, perfect if you have a disability and these things matter.
Cannot find any negative comments about this restaurant. My husband had fillet steak and I had the lamb shank. Both were beautifully prepared and the whole dish was delicious with portion size just right.
Do make room for desert, the mint choc ice cream is absolutely gorgeous as was the sticky toffee pudding.
Cannot wait to go again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The best lamb chops I have had in a long while. Well presented and beautifully cooked. The manager is very friendly and does a very good job. Went here with my husband and we both enjoyed it very much

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Four of us (two couples), had a wonderful dinner here last Friday. Steak and Ale pie was amazing. Sweets outstanding, but having started with a brilliant but very filling pea soup, I have to say we had to let the ladies give the judgement call on the sweets. By that time the gents were too full for more food, but were well able to finish the fine wine that was served. The cleanest restaurant any of our party have eaten in for many many years. Restrooms equally as clean. Staff very helpful and at the first sign that one of us was feeling a little chill as the evening drew on, the heating was turned up effectively to make our evening more comfortable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Evening dinner at the Lairds House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Whilst on a family holiday at Castleton House at nearby Glamis, we were recommended to try this restaurant. 13 family members attended and we all enjoyed both the food and the ambience. Service was excellent and very friendly, the layout is ideal, allowing you to browse the shop whilst waiting for your food to be served. There is a small toy area where the children can entertain themselves. We were recomended the steak and ale pie which several of us enjoyed while other family members tried the fillet steak and the fish, which they equally enjoyed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lairds House also viewed

Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Lairds House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lairds House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.