We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lairds House

The Lairds House
The Riverside, Lower Mill Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AQ, Scotland
+44 1250 872292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Blairgowrie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: French, Seafood, English, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Laird's House is just stones throw from one of the great walks in the area. The laird's house is open for teas and coffee's with a selection of cakes and scones. We offer an informal lunch and slightly more formal Dinner. Ross in the kitchen is very proud of our steaks and takes great pleasure in specially selecting our beef. We are open Monday and Tuesday 9am-5pm, Wednesday to Saturday inclusive 9am-11pm and Sunday 10am-5pm
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Honeymoon Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were in the area for our Honeymoon and were looking for somewhere special to have a nice romantic meal. We found everything we could have asked for in The Lairds House. We cant begin to say how special this lovely wee restaurant/shop is. The decor is beautiful (The Christmas decorations a fantastic treat), very tastefully and stylishly finished giving a real up market feel but also feeling very homely and warm: we didnt want to leave at the end of the evening. We ate from the 3 course festive menu, from which the food was faultless and perfect. Tastes that will be remembered and highly recommended. Generously proportioned meals but so good it leaves you craving more. Then we come to the amazing staff; our evening was really made by the warm welcome we recieved and the very friendly relaxed nature of our hosts. Friendly conversation was in abundance. If visiting the area we thoroughly recommend a visit to The Lairds House, we will definetely be returning as soon as possible.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    26
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go go go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Visited this weekend & loved it. Although it was 5pm & still the day menu they were happy to provide from the evening menu also. The starter of fishcakes was delicious. Golden crisp to perfection & lovely fluffy potato with plenty salmon. The salad dressing is delicious & the side sauce was divine. My husband loved his main course of pork belly & the veg was caramelised perfectly. Eating veg is not a chore here! Sticking with the fish theme i had the smoked salmon & prawns platter which was so fresh & filling i could not quite finish it no matter how i tried! Sadly we were too full for desert. I only wish we lived closer so we could return & try the whole menu. I understand there is new management and we met the owner James who was lovely & clearly passionate about what he does. This place deserves to succeed

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A twenty somethings 2 favourite things... good food and shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely evening here. There was Dad, Step Mum, Granny, little brother and myself. The staff were lovely, welcoming and accommodating - especially with Granny's dislike of black pudding! The food was lovely, and we were tucked away in the cosy corner which was brilliant as it meant Granny could hear us without us having to roar at her! The lairds house is a quirky combination of food and shopping that I personally think works wonderfully. 1st course, 2nd course, pudding and then walk it off around the shopping area and head back for tea and coffee. The staff were lovely and very knowledgeable of the brands on the retail side. The retail side is very inviting and lots of desirable products and has a little something that the high street is lacking at the moment. Nothing was too much trouble, and they couldn't have done more.

Definitely what Blairgowrie and Perthshire need. Well done!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at Laird's House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I visited The Laird's House with my Aunt last week (which is now under new management) and we were both highly impressed with the reasonably priced menu which is now in place. The restaurant now has a less formal appearance and the staff as always are very welcoming. There is something for everyone on the menu and will also suit young children. We had home made mushroom soup which was the best I had had in a long time and lovely open sandwiches with the tastiest salad dresssing ever. We didn't have room for a pudding but it's on my list for my next visit. They make a super cup of coffee as well as home made cakes and scones and have a truly great little shopping area with some unique gifts and crafts. A great place for Blairgowrie. GO VISIT SOON.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Jean McL after Kirk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My friend and I had coffee and scones after communion today. It was so good and the service could not be faulted.
Will certainly be going back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lairds House also viewed

Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Lairds House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lairds House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.