We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge of Cally Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bridge of Cally Hotel to your Saves list
Bridge of Cally Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Of Cally, Blairgowrie PH10 7JJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My husband and I were sorry to leave here.Everything about this little hotel I loved..small enough to have lots of character, but busy enough to have life.The main restaurant was a lovely conservatory overlooking the gardens, and the food was among the best I've tasted..trully delicious pork loin with haggis, apple and a divine Cranachan, made special by adding the hotel's own icecream instead of simply cream.The staff were friendly and courteous and there was even a separate and rather cute breakfast room which was used in the mornings.
We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I would say avoid number 7 as it was over the kitchen and the fan was quite noisy, but this was a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald A, Owner at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Bridge of Cally hotel.
I have passed your compliments onto the chef and staff, We are always grateful of good comments.
Please take a look at our website for our upcoming special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    120
    44
    27
    21
See reviews for
59
251
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

First impressions are wonderful as you approach the Bridge of Cally hotel down a lovely tree-lined country lane. It feels like you're driving into tranquility. Unfortunately, it's downhill from there. After my friend and I dropped our bags in a rather dated, but otherwise functional room, we headed to the bar for a refreshment.

As we stood waiting to be served, we observed 3 members of staff complaining about a group of customers who had apparently made "such a song and dance" about wanting food and then in the end left without ordering. I figured I had just caught them at a bad moment, but we were invisible for a while.

The menu prices were very expensive indeed. So much in fact that my friend and I decided to drive to Blairgowrie and eat there instead. I'd also read some disappointing reviews about the quality of the food so we weren't prepared to take any chances. And the bar was overpriced too - £1.50 for a glass of diluted cordial!

The following morning we were awoken by a combination of the staff radio blaring out of the kitchen below, and the smell of cigarettes coming through the window from staff smoking below. All in all, not a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My boyfriend took me to this hotel last weekend as part of my birthday treat and we had an amazing time so much so we didn’t want to leave. The hotel was warm and inviting with so much attention to detail in keeping with its history and the local surroundings.

From arrival to check out, the staff were lovely and so helpful we couldn’t have asked for a better service and they were very friendly with it. They recommended local attractions and walks including the riverside walk into the Cateran trail which starts on the hotel grounds.

The food was out of this world with so many different dishes to choose from as was the selection of whiskies in the hotel bar. Our room was lovely and had great views over the hotel grounds, which was great to wake up to every morning.

The only dampener which isn’t down to the hotel was there were some residents staying that became quite loud and aggressive towards the staff and management when they were refused to drink their own beer in the hotel bar issuing threats to put up bad reviews on trip advisor if they weren’t allowed which I found not only cheeky but appalling behaviour. However the way in which the management dealt with the matter was very well handled and ensured that there was very little disruption to those of us sitting in the bar.

Overall we had a fantastic time and can’t wait to go back again, thanks to the management and staff for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Staff were excellent as I travel with a disabled husband and lots of kit including a rather heavy hoist. It was no trouble to them to carry the stuff in. Bedroom was very comfortable and to my delight had a bed with room under it for the hoist legs. Divans are harder to deal with. Food was ok, a better vegetarian menu would have been better.

Room Tip: We had room 16 which could be accessed with a wheelchair. No walk in shower, shower over bath. Wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald A, Owner at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Bridge of Cally hotel.
Our staff are always on hand to help our guests, it is our job to make sure your stay is as comfortable and stress free as possible.
And we will look into introducing some more vegetarian dishes onto the menu.
If you wish to return please take a look at our website where we have some upcoming special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed at the Bridge of Cally for three nights on business. The hotels bedrooms are very clean and comfortable. Restaurant and beer garden lovely. Food fantastic and freshly made. Made to feel very welcome throughout the stay. Will definitely return if on business nearby and would also go for a holiday. Beautiful countryside and walks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald A, Owner at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Bridge of Cally hotel.
We like our guests to feel welcome from when they arrive to when they leave.
We do take pride in our beer garden which is a lovely place for people to sit out at during the warmth. And all our food is locally sourced.
We hope we will see you again.
Please visit our website for our special offers for summer and winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I had a short break at Bridge of Cally hotel last month.This is my third visit this year! I look forward to going there as you are always made to feel most welcome by the staff and they are always most helpful.The food is fantastic and there is a wide range of choices. There is a cosy little bar and lounge where you can relax and there is a good selection of malt whiskies! The surrounding Perthshire country side is beautiful and peaceful and there are plenty of tourist attractions nearby to visit. Dogs are made to feel most welcome and there is always a bowl of fresh water in the bar for them! I look farward to returning.Wonderful for arelaxing break!

Room Tip: I have been in different rooms when I have stayed there and they are all very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald A, Owner at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Bridge of Cally hotel.
We always like to promote a friendly and warm atmosphere to our guests and their 4 legged friends as well.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This used to be a well run establishment on the road to Glenshee but after the worst lunch experience I have ever had it has fallen to an all time low. Service took an hour for an order despite asking for a menu and a drinks order lunch took over 3 hours. The staff were sullen and very unhelpful they just didn't care. We were in the company of two disabled ladies and there was no disabled parking for access to the hotel? The food was mixed but my steak pie (listed as a favourite why?) was tough and the vegetables were a pile of red cabbage almost inedible. I won't be back ever!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald A, Owner at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are sorry that your experience at the Bridge of Cally Hotel was as you had previously experienced.
We apologise for the steak pie, it was not up to our usual high standards. And our staff as well, usually they are warm and welcoming.
The car park has always been as it is, but if you need to get closer to the doors, if you come into the hotel and let us know we will gladly make space for you to park your car.
We would like you to give us a second chance to show you how good our restaurant is.
Please don't hesitate to contact us of you wish to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
4.6 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 8 in Blairgowrie
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#1 of 8 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
4.6 mi away
Altamount House Hotel
Altamount House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 8 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
12.7 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge of Cally Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge of Cally Hotel

Address: Bridge Of Cally, Blairgowrie PH10 7JJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge of Cally Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bridge of Cally Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Of Cally Blairgowrie
Hotel Bridge Of Cally
Bridge Cally
Bridge Of Cally Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge of Cally Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.