We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Room?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge of Cally Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bridge of Cally Hotel to your Saves list
Bridge of Cally Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Of Cally, Blairgowrie PH10 7JJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superior Room?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a pleasant enough stay with friendly staff and good food. I was very disappointed in the room and en suite bathroom, they were very dated and of quite poor quality. My husband had paid extra for a superior room as a birthday treat for me so I did not like to complain. I would have loved to have seen a basic room as this is how I would have described ours with its mouldy tiles and cheap lino. Our room was also directly above the bar and the soundproofing was not good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    98
    30
    15
    10
See reviews for
43
209
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We’ve had a really enjoyable stay at the Bridge of Cally Hotel and would immediately recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the area - look no further your search is over! The hotel was warm and welcoming with friendly and helpful staff. Just what you need after a good day exploring. We were booked into room 16 which was clean and well appointed with a large on-suite bathroom. It has a high ceiling room with excellent decor and importantly a really comfy bed! It had a good aspect view of the river and bridge through a 3 sided bay window.
The evening meal was fantastic and throughly enjoyable. The dining room is spacious yet had a cosy feel with a log burner and good ambiance. The menu was one of the best we’ve seen and it was a dilemma as to what to choose… including a brilliant choice of puddings !
Breakfast was served in the morning room and had everything you needed and expected all delivered efficiently and to a high standard. Perfect. We’ll definitely be stopping again…

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed for three nights on a deal and every aspect of our stay in the hotel was excellent - the food, the room, comfortable bed, tasty breakfast with a good choice, the friendly staff, the lovely walks...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed only one night as we were travelling back home over two days from Lochinver. After a long journey we felt at home right away as soon as we walked in. Very welcoming, warm and staff extremely helpful. Room was good, bed comfy and they even let me have my dessert whilst sitting on the sofa in the lounge as I wanted to watch Strictly!!!! Could not be more accommodating. It felt like home from home. Food was amazing. A very enjoyable stay, it brought our first trip to Scotland to a very pleasant end.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just back from the most relaxing 2 day break ever. The hotel was fantastic, staff were great, Elaine you were a wee gem. Food was first class and plenty of it. The orange parfait was to die for as was the rest of our meals. The room, 10, was ideal for us with the two dogs. We will definitely be back, very soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just spent a totally relaxing 2 day break at this lovely hotel. The room, 16, was well appointed with a huge and comfortable bed and both of us slept like logs.The food in the restaurant was delicious as was the breakfasts which were varied. All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.Thanks to everyone for a wonderful stay and hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: we updated to a superior room which looked onto the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We wouldn't normally choose to stay in a place or an area like this, but we found a voucher deal and - after reading the many positive reviews - we decided to give it a try, especially as it was ideal for visiting this beautiful area of Scotland (despite the wet weather we endured during our stay!).

The hotel is located right next to the main A93 road between Perth and Braemar (and is also a short drive from Pitlochry) so we had no trouble finding it despite arriving on a dark, stormy evening! On arrival, we were given a quick tour of the hotel before being directed to our room which was at the back of the hotel, looking out onto the grounds of the hotel, towards the Cateran Way path that runs behind it.

The room was 'cosy' but not too small, with a comfortable and firm bed, and a decent-sized bathroom. The only complaints we would have were the creaky floorboards overhead (which the guests staying above us made full use of!) and the fact that the TV could only receive 3 channels - 2, 3 and 4! But we realise that these are to be expected, due to the age and location of the building - something to be aware of but unfair to criticise.

Although we didn't have too much of it, the cooked breakfast was of good size and quality, however the continental selection had little variety, particularly of fruit. The same could be said for the 'afternoon tea' that was included as part of our voucher deal - a small pot of tea or coffee and a scone, which would've been disappointing had we been paying for it, and for which we had interrupted our day's plans and returned to the hotel specially.

Having arrived late, we decided to dine in the hotel restaurant that night, and we were glad to have been advised to book as the place was surprisingly full considering the weather - it's clearly a very popular place to eat in the area! And from the quality of the food we had, we could see why - we chose the chicken supreme with a tower of haggis, neeps and tatties, and the steak and ale pie, and both were excellent, but we were spoilt for choice and could have eaten there again and again to enjoy the varied menu.

However, our evening was spoilt a little by having to wait far too long for our bill. We understand that it was very busy, especially with a large group sat next to us, but it did seem as if we were forgotten about from the moment we received our final course. This is something that seems to happen in many restaurants - independents and chains - and is frustrating because it leaves a bad taste and turns a seamless experience into a bit of a slog. Perhaps the restaurant would benefit from having more staff available during busy periods.

Nevertheless, we would recommend this hotel and the restaurant to anyone visiting the area - it's well worth making the short trip from Blairgowrie, and is an ideal base for exploring Perthshire, either by car or on foot.

Room Tip: Be prepared for creaky floorboards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridge of Cally Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge of Cally Hotel

Address: Bridge Of Cally, Blairgowrie PH10 7JJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge of Cally Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bridge of Cally Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Of Cally Blairgowrie
Hotel Bridge Of Cally
Bridge Cally
Bridge Of Cally Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge of Cally Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.