We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge of Cally Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bridge of Cally Hotel to your Saves list
Bridge of Cally Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Of Cally, Blairgowrie PH10 7JJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough about my stay here, the location is beautiful, the kindness and generosity of the proprietor and staff was memorable. I will definitely be back to this hotel in the future. Authentic food wonderfully prepared and cooked, this is a small independent hotel with real Scottish identity and service. Thank you

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Matt,

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We're lucky we're are situated in such a beautiful area and we do hope you come back and see us soon.

The Bridge of Cally Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    106
    36
    18
    16
See reviews for
49
224
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed on a 2 night D,B&B deal and paid to upgrade to a superior room. Not really sure if we would class as superior but the bed was large and comfortable and the room pleasant enough, although very hot. Unfortunately housekeeping missed cleaning and restocking our room the 2nd day, the staff were however extremely apologetic about it and we received free drinks in the restaurant that evening. The food was very good, both breakfast and the 3 course evening meal, we were not disappointed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble. We will definitely be returning. P.s. They take dogs in some of the rooms which is fantastic for us dog lovers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.

I'm sorry again about the oversight by housekeeping, that is a very unusual for them and I will ensure it doesn't happen again.

We're glad you enjoyed the food and the service, the team work really hard to produce an all round experience so your comments are gratefully received.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The Bridge of Cally Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had a two night stay and I can only echo the comments made by many others. The staff were genuinely helpful and friendly, accommodating us willingly for the slightly early start we needed on our day of departure. The hotel is in a lovely location and clearly very popular, with good reason.
Breakfast on both days was excellent, and the meals we had on both evenings were also very good indeed. A slight mistake on the bill was rectified without question and this is a very impressive establishment all round.
There are loads of great walks in the area, and plenty of places to visit by car as well.
I would fully recommend this hotel and I would certainly stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We were in Room 3 which I think was above the kitchen so there was a bit of early morning noise, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay.

There is so much to see and do from here and I'm so glad you were able to enjoy it all.

I will pass your kind comments onto the staff who will be really chuffed.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully

The Bridge of Cally Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had a fabulous weekend staying at this hotel with friends (26 of us in total). The hotel staff dealt with us all extremely well. The rooms were lovely and fresh,spotlessly clean and the food was delicious with very generous portions. A very good base for exploring what is a very beautiful area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

We thoroughly enjoyed having you all to stay, we're so glad you had a good time.

We hope you come back and visit us again next year.

Kind regards,

The Bridge of Cally Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked our two day break through Groupon and were delighted with our choice. The hotel is small and friendly and ideally situated to explore Perthshire.
Our room, number 8, was spacious, clean and comfortable, the only downside being that it was above the kitchen and the view was rather restricted. Like previous reviews we found the room to be a little noisy, however this didn't disturb our sleep.
I had a small issue with the hairdryer but this was resolved quickly after a chat with the housekeeper.
The meals we had in the restaurant were delicious and all the staff were helpful and attentive and we would like to give a special thank you to Ewan who was very efficient and friendly. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: If you value a view upgrade to a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Thank you very much for your lovely review - Euan in particular had a big smile on his face when he read it!

I'm glad your hairdryer issue was resolved, we always keep spares in case of any problems.

Some rooms are situated over the kitchen but we try our best to keep noise at a minimum at sensitive times.

We're glad you enjoyed exploring our area and hope you come and see us again soon.

The Bridge of Cally Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Recently stayed at the Bridge of Cally Hotel,we stayed in room 6.
We arrived to find the bin had not been emptied,probably an oversight,the room was comfortable,but decor is a bit tired,especially in the bathroom where paper was coming off the wall around the sink area.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel's restaurant is definitely worth a visit,even if you are not staying at the hotel,food is fantastic and reasonably priced.
All in all a nice place to stay and centrally located if you are touring.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Ken,

Many thanks for your review, we really appreciate when people take the time to write a comment.

I'm very sorry to hear about the bin, this is definitely unusual for our usually very thorough housekeeping team so I must apologise for the oversight and will ensure the issue is addressed.

We took over the hotel at the beginning of the year and there is a maintenance plan in place to re paint every bedroom once the busy summer months are over, so hopefully this will give a fresh new look.

We really appreciate your comments and we do hope you come and see us again.

Kind regards,

The Bridge of Cally Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Having read previous reviews we were hoping this would be good; it wasn't good, it was exceptional. The thing that made it so was the staff who were all so friendly, welcoming and made things easy without any fuss. Our dog was genuinely welcomed, rather than barely tolerated, which sometimes happens. The rooms were clean and with a huge comfortable bed, and the food was excellent. A really good night's stay.

Room Tip: some rooms have 6ft beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it.

I will pass your comments onto the staff who will be very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope that yourselves and your dog come back and see us again soon

The Bridge of Cally Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridge of Cally Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge of Cally Hotel

Address: Bridge Of Cally, Blairgowrie PH10 7JJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge of Cally Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bridge of Cally Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Of Cally Blairgowrie
Hotel Bridge Of Cally
Bridge Cally
Bridge Of Cally Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge of Cally Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.