We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“carol and pauls chill out time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge of Cally Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bridge of Cally Hotel to your Saves list
Bridge of Cally Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridge Of Cally, Blairgowrie PH10 7JJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“carol and pauls chill out time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a fantastic time at the bridge of cally hotel lovely comfortable bedrooms lovely location with a flowing river right beside hotel nice beer garden to sit at when sun was shining fantastic food never left a thing on our plates the 3 nights we were there and had a 3 courses every night and the breakfast was great but what really makes the hotel special is the staff they do there best to make sure you have a nice time nothing is to much trouble and always with a smile simply wonderfull cant wait to go back the only sad thing about our stay was when we had to leave the manager is really doing a great job to make this hotel a little gem in the country

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    98
    30
    15
    10
See reviews for
43
209
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked with friends for a short weekend (bed & breakfast break). We were very happy with this hotel, Lovely location. We had Room 3 which was lovely and quite spacious. Hotel and rooms etc extremely clean and comfortable. The staff were all really nice and very friendly, couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was excellent. We ate in the hotel restaurant at night as the food was very nice. Unfortunately our friends had a slight problem one night with their steaks but the staff dealt with it quickly and extremely efficiently. Couldn't fault the place and would certainly return again. It would be even better if our good old Scottish weather was better as they have a lovely little beer garden surrounded by trees and just up from the river. Would be ideal for sitting out on a hot sunny day. We managed to be out for a wee while, very pleasant All in all though an enjoyable weekend. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 3 very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Linda,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and taking the time to write it.
We will do what we can with the weather for you next time!
It was a real pleasure having you all to stay and we hope to see you again soon.
The Bridge of Cally Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our first trip into the Scottish Highlands and I really enjoyed our visit. We did the dinner, bed and breakfast deal which worked out very well for us. I had guessed that there would be nowhere else to eat walking distance and this was indeed the case. There were supplements on some of the things on the menu, but as the prices were reasonable this did not constrain us and we ate whatever we wanted.

There was good real ale in the bar, which was a bonus for me as I am not a lager drinker. Other guests were friendly and we chatted to a few people in the bar.

My wife is very fussy about her food and they were more than happy to meet her requirements, such as having porridge made with milk not water.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful - service was first class.

The food was superb. I particularly like the Scottish breakfast. We could not manage any lunch the days we stayed there. My wife's only complaint was that she put on weight !

The downsides were - the plumbing/pipework was noisy. The shower was not great. However we were walking so took more baths than showers.

If you get a rainy day - do visit the Edradour brewery near Pitlochry - we really enjoyed our visit there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Graham,

Thank you so much for your review, it means a lot to us that you took the time to write it, the staff are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

I'm glad you made it to the Edradour distillery, it's just great.

Thank you for the comments about the shower etc. Unfortunately with these old buildings the plumbing isn't as it would be in newer hotels but we are looking at ways we can improve it.

Thank you again and we hope to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

In a near-idyllic location by a rushing river, and convenient for trips around the Scottish Highlands, this is a wonderfully relaxing place to spend a few days. We especially enjoyed a dawn chorus in early June which began with nightingales in the very early dawn - a truly wonderful experience and I was annoyed the one morning I slept through it!
The staff are cheerful, pleasant and helpful, the only slight downside being that the otherwise impeccable room cleaners failed a couple of times to replace bathroom consumables.
We took breakfast and dinner each day for four days and the food was excellent, especially the locally-sourced beef, the only slight downside here being a lack of variation in both the main and the "specials" menus - for example, we would have loved to try a salmon or trout dish but they never appeared, and lamb only appeared in the form of a burger.
These minor negative points are just enough to stop me giving five star rating but other potential visitors should not be put off - there are few hotels anywhere that give all-round value for money better than the Bridge of Cally, and none I know in the Highlands.

Room Tip: Room 15 is last in the row upstairs, a twin, and probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

We are extremely lucky with our location here at Bridge of Cally as there are so many attractions nearby and day trips to do. We are extremely proud to have excellent local staff who showcase our area.

I'm sorry to hear a few details we missed in your room, this doesn't usually happen. Regarding the menu we had just launched a new menu and phase 2 of this is to have a larger specials board with a range of wonderful local produce such as venison. partridge, salmon and lamb rump. You will have to come back and see us again to sample it!

From all the team here at Bridge of Cally we're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooler, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very impressive. Welcoming, well-stocked bar, amazing food, clean rooms. Lovely restaurant / conservatory, great beer garden, cosy bar area. Right on the Cateran Trail. Our only problems were the TV only having 3 channels (but there's 1 with Sky TV in the drawing room downstairs), the room was very hot and the fan in the kitchen below was noisy from 7am.

Room Tip: Don't stay above the kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review Pam!

I'm glad you had a good stay and were able to enjoy the plentiful walks in our area, we're very lucky with our location.

You'll be glad to know the engineer has now fixed the televisions and we now have 4 channels in each room! The next step is that we're looking to add a few more channels onto this to give people a bit more variety in the comfort of their own room.

I'm sorry you found the room noisy due to the fans. Some rooms are situated above the kitchen but there are plenty which do not have this noise.

We hope you come back and visit again soon for some more walking.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

First impressions count and staff were fantastic from the minute we arrived. Food is superb and weather was great which all contributed to a fine couple of days. Dog friendly too. Recommend the cullen skink and the venison casserole

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review!

We put the weather on just for you so we're glad you enjoyed it!

The team are delighted you felt so welcome and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Loved this hotel, the staff are professional and enthusiastic, food excellent and plentiful, and it is in a great location. The room was big enough for us and our medium to largish dog, along with her bed. Unfortunately the mattress was old and uncomfortable (feels as if all the wadding has worn out);therefore I felt every bone contacting the mattress! - that and the hard pillows in our room ( no. 2) - made it difficult for me to sleep. However, my man slept like a log - as always, so I guess each to their own. Hard to complain when everything else is top notch!! Lovely breakfast room / restaurant, with wraparound views of the lovely garden which leads down to the river. This is the only room which the dog was not allowed, so it was lovely to relax in the bar in the comfortable leather chairs and sofas after our walks! The red squirrel was on the feeder outside the window every morning too, entertaining us all at breakfast!!

Room Tip: Although the hotel is on the main road, we heard no traffic noise as it is not a very busy road, how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeofcallyhotel, Manager at Bridge of Cally Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Jan,

Thank you for your lovely review. I will pass this onto the team.

We are very lucky to have such a dedicated and enthusiastic team here at the hotel who are always striving for the best.

I'm sorry you found the mattress uncomfortable, this is something we will have a look at.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridge of Cally Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge of Cally Hotel

Address: Bridge Of Cally, Blairgowrie PH10 7JJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge of Cally Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bridge of Cally Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Of Cally Blairgowrie
Hotel Bridge Of Cally
Bridge Cally
Bridge Of Cally Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge of Cally Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.