We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinloch House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kinloch House to your Saves list
Kinloch House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   By Blairgowrie, Blairgowrie PH10 6SG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I visited Kinloch House with friends, and was impressed by the warm welcome we were given, and the excellent menu and service.
On the basis of this visit, I booked again, for different friends, and this time it was very different.
No greeting at the door, in fact we had to go searching to find anyone, and the lady we contacted didn't seem to understand that we had a reservation. We were show into the lounge, but again, no warmth from the lady who took our order. The Hungarian waiter was very polite and friendly, and the meal itself was very good, but these little touches which were missing are very important in making you feel comfortable. We took coffee in the conservatory, but we're surprised to see wallpaper coming off the walls. For such a recommended Hotel I wouldn't expect this, especially as I was with very discerning friends.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here, only visited for lunch
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    32
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
118
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Lovely hotel, staff were very attentive. Only one problem; no tea tray in room. I like a cup of tea during the night if I wake up. I stayed one night and asked in the morning why there was no tea/coffee tray. "We never have supplied these" was the response. So if you fancy a beverage during the night, take a flask.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Saturday 5th July 2014 at Kinloch House Hotel for lunch with friends who were successful Hoteliers and Caterers themselves, we being regular diners and they as first time visitors,
It took only minutes to realise we had again made the right choice as we relaxed in one of the three lounges for Gin and Tonics and to peruse the lunch menu and wine list. Two sizeable differences in the days menu and the wine list, one being limited, the other comprehensive, and yet both perfect in content.
The menu was just right with three or four starters, mains and puddings using local Dunkeld Smoked Salmon, beautiful Pate and my own choice of exceptional haddock Rissoto along with
blade of Beef, Corn Fed chicken and an excellent pan fried Hake. The sweet menu indicated to all a very good Pastry chef was here or in training and the Madelaines were perfect.

Not too many choices at lunch is preferable to huge menus covering the world of food.

Wine however is the exact opposite and their list was comprehensive including wine by the glass. half bottle and bottle and covering rightly a complete spectrum of choices for everyone.
One of our party who himself has many Wine Merchant Friends, one famous one who stayed across the road from Kinloch house, felt the wine list was one of the best he had seen and included several he had not seen on any wine list for years, a compliment itself.

Unobtrusive , knowledgeable service, wine decanted, presented and served with care, attention to detail, first class cooking at well below London and Aberdeen prices again makes the Kinloch a must for lunch and dinner for anyone looking for a quality and relaxed time in any weather
especially when recommended by the professional Hoteliers themselves!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

It felt like we were staying in a friend’s country house rather than in a hotel.

Huge log fires, imposing stair case, over stuffed sofas, antique furniture and many interesting curios makes this a perfect country house hotel.

Our room was front facing with beautiful views over the rolling countryside. It was spacious and decorated in a traditional style with all the nice little touches you would expect from a luxury establishment.

On arrival we had tea and shortbread in the sweetest of conservatories.

We enjoyed our pre dinner drinks and canapés in the sumptuous sitting room before being shown to our table in the pretty dining room. Dinner was as good as it gets, everything was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. I also loved the petit fours. Breakfast was also excellent , no chaotic self- service here.

The staff were so friendly, helpful and efficient they could not have made our stay any more pleasant.

The grounds of the hotel are stunning, we walked up through the trees to find a walled area with a large green door, upon opening the door we found to my delight, a secret garden filled with an abundance of plants, flowers and statues with the most amazing view.

If you like peace and quiet in traditional surroundings with a touch of luxury, look no further than Kinloch Country House Hotel

Room Tip: Front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Returning to this most beautiful country house hotel was so exciting, particularly as were with new friends, one of whom was from Texas. I thought, there is no better way to introduce him to Scotland than stay at Kinloch House--so elegant and charming-a night he will never forget. The accommodation is exquisite and the views of the countryside astounding. Once again, the food, the ambiance, the staff...we cannot wait to return..thank you Kinloch House and we will haste back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Staying with friends in June and visiting Kinloch House Hotel for my first time was a truly great experience , and I will certainly return again in the future ! Set in rolling country side at Blairgowrie the scenery is beautiful . On entering the Hotel you get the feel of old charm splendor , and that I found throughout . Our room was large , spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed , and a lovely shower/bath . The views from our window were brilliant . Our stay got even better on entering the restaurant as the service and food was 1st class. The staff were very friendly and pleasant ....nothing was too much trouble ! This is a must stay hotel without doubt, and I can't wait to return !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Excellent hotel, accommodation, food,service and location all deserve 5 stars.
Marlee suite was lovely with nice decor, very clean and tidy finished with a comfortable four poster bed. The turn down service was a lovely surprise and a nice touch at the end of the evening.
Food in the restaurant was of top class quality, beautiful meal with excellent service. Very nice menu with good choice. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay and nothing was a problem. Hotel is decorated with an old world charm feel of a hunting lodge with lovely pieces and pictures throughout. Even the black bear seemed in place! The drawing rooms were very welcoming and comfortable, where roaring log fires would have been if the temperature was cooler. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a five star break in a lovely part of Scotland,

Room Tip: Marlee suite was large and comfortable with a four poster bed and separate sitting area. Large bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinloch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch House

Address: By Blairgowrie, Blairgowrie PH10 6SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kinloch House 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of glorious Perthshire, famous for its stunningly beautiful countryside with lochs, rivers and trees, Kinloch House is the ideal base from which to explore the area while staying in a family-run Scottish country house providing a warm, welcoming and friendly environment. Dating from 1840 the charming house offers bedrooms and public rooms individually appointed with fine fabrics and furnishings and a stunning entrance hall with log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kinloch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch House Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinloch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.