We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinloch House

Save Saved
You added Kinloch House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinloch House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   By Blairgowrie, Blairgowrie PH10 6SG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Blairgowrie
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night for a getaway. Lovely small feel to the hotel, traditional decor, unique pieces rather than mass produced chain stuff. Located in the middle of farmland so lovely setting. We stayed in the Marlee junior suite which was very spacious with a 4 poster. No shower though. Food was lovely, portion sizes perfect so you could manage 3 courses. Only 3 choices per course. My dessert was amazing! Salted caramel iced parfait with honeycomb and apple purée. Breakfast nice, but choice again quite limited. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    25
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
100
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

From the moment we arrived till the moment that we left we were made to feel extremely welcome at this wonderful hotel in Perthshire. The hotel is extremely well presented and the staff amazing, nothing is ever a problem or an issue for them. The food is first class and the wine list extensive. The whole dining experience exceeds expectation. Aperitifs and amuse bouche served in one of the drawing rooms at your leisure and orders taken. You are then invited through in your own time to enjoy a fabulous dinner and everything runs like clockwork. I can't recommend a stay at Kinloch House highly enough. Without doubt one of the best hotels in Scotland.

Room Tip: request a room on the "front" of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Lovely setting with a great view over the countryside, however I got a back room with no view.
Rooms had obviously been done to a high standard "back in the day" but now looking worn and dated.
Service was very good by all the staff.
Dinner food was amazing, but breakfast definately lacking. Toast and coffee were good but, no mushrooms, beans, tattie scones and the scrambled egg was cold on a hot plate?

There is not a lot to do in or near the hotel (that you can walk to). This is somewhere to go just before you go into a retirement home......to see if you're going to like it.

For a certain age group or activity level I would imagine this is totally relaxing place. Like many places in Scotland it has not moved forward and is catering to a different age.

There was a hair dryer, which was probably as old as the hotel with very little output. I would not like to dry any kind of volume of hair with it.

I also struggled outside of the dinning room to get a chair I could get in and out off! All very low.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a new hair dryer. No worry about getting a noisey room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I took my wife here several years back for a night away. What an amazing place. The accommodation was very nice and clean, the interior of the house was beautiful and comfortable, the open log fires and furnishings made you feel like sitting back, putting your feet up and having a whiskey on the rocks. With the big brown bear!

The food, delicious. The grounds and walled garden, tranquil.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This has been our third trip to Kinloch House and it was just as good as ever. We come here for the peace and quiet and to chill out for the weekend. On one trip we had the place to ourselves for most of the day and we felt like we were the lord and lady of the manor!
It doesn't matter what the weather is like outside because it is a very comfortable hotel to stay in. The staff could not be more attentive and friendly, and the manager Paul is always on hand.
If I had one criticism it is that the menu hasn't changed much in the three trips but the food you get is excellent.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable and have good views of the countryside.
We'll keep coming back as long as the standards stays as high.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

A wonderful country house hotel which delivered a high quality overall experience which exemplified all that is best about an establishment where all the staff are completely confident and excel in their responsibilities.
The decor and furnishings are entirely suited to a country hotel; the spaciousness of the bedrooms and public areas is generous and the whole establishment has a lovely comfortable feel.
The service and quality in the dining room matched the standards set everywhere else, thoroughly complementing all other features of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

During this 2day golf trip we stayed at Kinloch House Hotel.
The place was excellent, rooms clean and spacious, the food was just superb,
The staff were friendly and welcoming
Definite recommendation to all

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinloch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch House

Address: By Blairgowrie, Blairgowrie PH10 6SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kinloch House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of glorious Perthshire, famous for its stunningly beautiful countryside with lochs, rivers and trees, Kinloch House is the ideal base from which to explore the area while staying in a family-run Scottish country house providing a warm, welcoming and friendly environment. Dating from 1840 the charming house offers bedrooms and public rooms individually appointed with fine fabrics and furnishings and a stunning entrance hall with log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Kinloch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch House Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinloch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.