We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinloch House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kinloch House to your Saves list
Kinloch House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   By Blairgowrie, Blairgowrie PH10 6SG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I spent our 2nd wedding anniversary here, and as always, Kinloch House was a delight. This was our 4th or 5th visit, and although we do try other places we find that they never quite measure up to KH and it is a relief and a pleasure to come back here. There is an understated, quiet elegance yet homeliness about the place. Staff are welcoming and friendly but never intrusive, and the bedrooms and public rooms are comfortable and luxurious without being ostentatious or stiff. The food was great as always. We always wish we could stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    32
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
118
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

It was a great night away. Clean tidy rooms, Staff were really friendly. Food was fantastic but the selection was not that big but a good mix. We did a deal with travelzoo and we were treated fantastically. Would recommend to friends and family.. one down side was no tea and coffee facilities in the room but didn't bother us that much

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at this very special property that is in a beautiful pastoral setting. We had a superior king room in the main building that was spacious, well appointed and clean. We booked through Relais and Chateau with no problems or surprises. The public rooms were well decorated and inviting and because there are several of them, all the guests were able to find a comfortable and inviting spot to read, relax or socialize. The breakfasts and dinners were really superb with thoughtful choices and professional staff. The wine menu is good, but we brought a special bottle for one night that required a 30 pound corkage fee that struck me as a bit much. If you enjoy fine accomodations, food and drink and serenity in this gorgeous part of Scotland and are willing to pay the price, you will probably like the Kinloch House.

The part of the experience we did not like was on the second evening which involved a fellow in the dining room who chose to wear jeans and a partially buttoned shirt that looked like his boyhood night shirt. All of the other men had coats or coats and ties and the women were well drssed. I was later told by the manager that dress codes have fallen to the wayside, at least at the Kinloch House, even though their written policy prohibits jeans in the dining room. I know I am old school on this, but I believe that in fine establishments there should be dress codes that are enforced.

Room Tip: The Clunie Room was exquisite. We could hear our upstairs neighbor walking, but it was not loud or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked into the KInloch House at the end of our tour of Scotland for 2 nights and I'm sorry we did. They are part of the Relais and Chateau group so I assumed everything would be tip top and upfront. It was such a disappointment and so very shabby to discover at checkout that the "special summer offer" of £165 for a superior king bedded room , dinner and breakfast was actually per person - who books a hotel per person or expects to in this day and age???? It shifted what seemed forgivable and rather quaint into dated and expensive and soured the end of a lovely trip with a rather grubby money issue. If you are booking this hotel I would suggest you carefully compare the price build up of any offer or normal per room pricing with other R&C quality hotels as this will present Kinloch House as expensive and uncompetative. It was ok but outclassed in value or quality terms compared to other R&C venues we visited this week, I was so disappointed by the lack of transparancy that I doubt we would ever return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeAllen, Owner at Kinloch House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
The claims made in this review are UNTRUE and I will answer each comment.

The Special Summer Offer is displayed on our website and clearly states that the tariff is per person per day and not per room.

Your comment referring to ' who books a hotel per person or expects to in this day and age?’ displays your lack of knowledge of reservation possibilities. If you check on other Scottish Relais & Chateaux members websites all but one quote their special offers on a per person per day basis.

Approximately 2 hours after your arrival you asked if you could stay for an extra night, which would indicate you were happy with the establishment.

When you made your reservation by telephone you were quoted the tariff for a superior room as £165.00 per person per day including dinner, room and breakfast. This was also stated clearly in our confirmation email to you on the 4th of September.

You state you were ' so disappointed by the lack of transparency that I doubt we would ever return '. The truth is however that you have made a false accusation as you failed to read your confirmation email correctly and you failed to read the website correctly. May I also add there is no question of you ever returning.

The ' rather grubby money issue ' you mentioned lies entirely with you as the tariff you were charged was in no way misrepresented or distorted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Firstly a confession, I booked via a deal and was slightly concerned by the reviews that mentioned a snooty attitude to those arriving with vouchers. If that had previously been the case well it certainly was not evident this weekend.

A very efficient check in, with bags taken to the room and an introduction to the hotel, facilities, evening menu and request for selection to be made later in the afternoon. Slightly unusual but easy to comply with.

Our afternoon tea, or coffee, and shortbread was taken on the lawn in what is a very quiet and peaceful area.

Dinner and service was excellent, wine was already decanted and the waiting staff were always very attentive.

Whilst we were at dinner the turn-down service also saw excess pillows and duvet cover removed and towels replaced, a nice touch :-)

Breakfast was lovely in the morning with everything cooked freshly to order.

We also had time to sit in the walled garden, a wonderful sun-trap, which like a couple of areas in the ground, could benefit from a little more TLC.

In summary, a very good stay and I might just buy another voucher for a further stay later in the year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here for a Saturday night break. The hotel reception rooms are comfortable and cosy with open fires. Dinner was excellent - a table d'hote menu- pre-ordered an hour or so before serving. Wine decanted and waiting on the table when we arrived in the dining room. Dinner service was impeccable.

Our room was slightly fusty with noisy plumbing from the room upstairs. Didn't like the red bathroom carpet which had seen better days. I believe rooms in the main house are nicer than in the annex where our room was.

We took an overnight 'special' package of £165/person which included dinner, room and breakfast. Dinner was £52/person and it would have been a better option for us to book bed & breakfast for £150/room via an internet late room website and pay for dinner separately. We'll do this next time if we return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

A group of us stay each year for some sporting activities .The staff are extremely helpful and well trained .We normally stay 2 nights and take over the private dining room ,the food is superb plus the hotel has an extensive cellar.The indoor swimming pool and hot tub are clean .The bedrooms are functional clean and normally a good size ,although I believe the ones on the ground floor maybe the largest .in the winter months there is are roaring log fires to great you ,also in the bar ,which is stocked with many malts .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinloch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch House

Address: By Blairgowrie, Blairgowrie PH10 6SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kinloch House 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of glorious Perthshire, famous for its stunningly beautiful countryside with lochs, rivers and trees, Kinloch House is the ideal base from which to explore the area while staying in a family-run Scottish country house providing a warm, welcoming and friendly environment. Dating from 1840 the charming house offers bedrooms and public rooms individually appointed with fine fabrics and furnishings and a stunning entrance hall with log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kinloch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch House Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinloch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.