We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Itison break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altamount House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Altamount House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altamount House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Coupar Angus Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6JN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Blairgowrie
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Itison break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a one-night stay at this hotel last night and the room we were given was ok. Couple of wee problems - no hairdryer in room (we were given one by reception quickly) and the shower door kind of fell to bits when we opened it! Probably in need of refurbishment but was fine for the price we paid. Noisy plumbing is an issue but not one the hotel can probably do much about. Clean room and an adequate supply of coffees, tea, hot chocolate and even water (oh and delicious shortbread). Our room was exceptionally hot and one of the windows doesn't open - phewww!! We intended having dinner there however had reservations when the manager told us of teething troubles - chefs leaving etc - we then decided to go instead to the Angus Hotel for the tribute act / food. Breakfast was very tasty - great selection - and service with a smile was definitely what we found, with the general manager joining us while we had a drink at the bar on arrival and the waitress who served our breakfast was very attentive to our needs. Overall a nice hotel which has bags of potential - I hope it can get there. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    56
    25
    24
    14
See reviews for
31
91
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Having just left the Altamount Country Hotel in Blairgowrie we can only state what a disappointment! Having thoroughly checked the location before we booked two months ago this hotel does not live up to its advertising. It is under new ownership and they have recently lost the Italian chef.

The rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment. The Scottish restaurant is non existent, the Veneziano Italian restaurant bears no relation to any Italian restaurant we have ever visited, no pizza, no lasagne and vegetarian option. We were offered the three main courses chicken, fish or steak, we ordered chicken and fish mains which we all agreed was dreadful over cooked chicken undercooked potatoes some of the worst food we have ever tasted. Prior to booking we requested vegetarian courses, no problem the manager said but we served the same starter and main course and when we queried this he just shrugged his shoulders and walked away.

Breakfasts were better but we would not recommend a stay here until changes have been made.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I went here a few weeks ago for a night away with friends and had a great time. The general manager really went out of his way to guarantee we had a terrific experience. He was extremely professional under the circumstances he faced on the day as there were issues with a few things (after a staff change I believe).
Our room was very comfortable. The noisy plumbing is due to the water pump required to 'make things happen' it's not faulty.
Italian evening meal was brilliant, breakfast excellent and the service faultless.
The pheasants are a great distraction and a sunny day in the garden ther would be a difficult place to beat.
Well done !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Beautifully refurbished hotel, in well kept grounds with peacocks abound! Facilities available included a new Italian restaurant and a well stocked bar. A beautifully appointed lounge with Chesterfields for comfortable relaxation. The breakfast was served by a pleasant young lady and was most enjoyable! The bedrooms were very comfortable with all the facilities. The plumbing was a bit noisy, but that was a minor issue. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we hope the young French lady owner has great success!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here using an it's on voucher for two nights. From the minute we arrive we were greeted by really friendly staff who made us feel really welcome. Our room was really cosy and exceptionally clean! Breakfast was delicious, we didn't eat it in the hotel as we had thing arranged elsewhere but it smelt amazing and everyone was raving about it! The surroundings of the hotel are gorgeous.. So tranquil and relaxing yet a 5 minute walk from the town centre. All in all an excellent weekend and we will definitely be going back! The new owners are doing a fab job! Couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We used an itison voucher for our stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and clearly work very hard. We stayed in the Rose room which is lovely and old fashioned in its decor. The breakfast was fresh bad very tasty. We ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was delicious. The building itself is beautiful and the lounge area is really cosy. We had a lovely stay here and would definitely come back

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I was looking forward to this stay and was impressed by the photos on the web. From the outside I was not disappointed beautiful grounds and nice reception area. Then it was turn of the room really tired and like a scene from Fawlty towers. Room was cold though a blow heater provided. The bed was like lying on a bed of bricks which I managed to roll into the gap in the middle on a number of occasions. Was wakened 5am to the sound of a drowning cat well the peacocks to be precise. All day into late at night. Breakfast menu provided great choice even smoked salmon. Though I received salmon out of the tin??? Found breakfast staff in a rush to get us out did not feel welcomed at all. Bar was closed both evenings. Not sure whether this is teething problems it is such a shame as it has much potential

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altamount House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamount House Hotel

Address: Coupar Angus Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altamount House Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altamount House Hotel in Blairgowrie has reopened in March 2014 under new owners after extensive refurbishments. It is a family run business and we like to think that we can provide you with a "home from home" experience in one of Scotland's most magnificent Counties. The Georgian house was built as a private home in 1800, and although restored in some areas we have managed to maintain all of its Periodic Charm. Altamount House is set within 6 acres of beautifully peaceful gardens and mature woodlands in the heart of Perthshire and we welcome you from near or afar. Although the Hotel is only a 5 minute walk into the Blairgowrie town centre, it is very quiet and secluded in its grounds, which makes it a perfect venue for Weddings, Conferences or just a romantic break for 2!!! If you prefer a more action packed holiday Golf, Fishing, Shooting and Skiing are all on our doorstep. Rosemount and Lansdowne Championship Golf courses are just 1 mile away, with a further 40 courses within 10-30 minutes from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotel.de so you can book your Altamount House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamount Hotel Blairgowrie
Altamount House Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altamount House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.