We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation Defined” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altamount House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Altamount House Hotel to your Saves list
Altamount House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Coupar Angus Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6JN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Relaxation Defined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This family-run hotel/restaurant was even more than we expected after reading Trip Advisor reviews. The courtyard room we had was perfect for a comfortable deep sleep after a great meal at the hotel. We made new friends at the sitting area/bar while relaxing before dinner. The food was top notch both dinner and breakfast and very reasonably priced. The main building is classsic and the property is country living at its best. We would be happy to return on our next visit from the USA.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    57
    27
    24
    17
See reviews for
32
95
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a groupon 2 night gift booked in march for a double room (one which was not used for pets as I have asthma). When we arrived the booking appeared to be lost but we were assured a room was available, Room 107. When we opened the door the disappointment hit, the bed was not a double and we could hardly breath for the heat, the toilet was a sani flow which was smelly and noisey. I asked for a change of room and was offered one in the courtyard which houses guests with pets. The only other alternative offered was to pay £35 each per night for a family room. We decided to stay in 107 and threw open the windows to allow for some air and get rid of the smell. There was a problem the roof of the kitchen was level with the bedroom window with a huge extractor there. Now we had the heat from the extractor and the smell from the kitchen. Following an uncomfortable night with little sleep and ready to leave we were offered an alternative room which was reasonable. My advice is stay some where else and don't stay in room 107 unless you enjoy torture. Overall the whole place needs a lot of money spent on it. Do yourself a favour and give it a miss.

Room Tip: choose a room without a sani flow and not 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I bought a 2 night stay for £99 through Groupon. We were supposed to be in the Courtyard, but due to a problem with the lock on the door we ended up in room 108 in the main house. This room was tastefully decorated and lovely bright and airy. There was 4 steps up to the bathroom which was huge (about 8ft square) and it had a double size shower cubicle which had a fairly strong flow of water from the shower. Due to the age of the building and the plumbing logistics, the plumbing is by saniflo system. Yes is was noisier than the plumbing we have at home, but after the first few flushes you got used to it and it by no means kept us awake or made us want to move room! The towels were white, soft and fluffy and changed each day. The bed (two singles pushed together) was very comfortable and we both slept like babies.

Breakfast was delicious and served quickly and was piping hot. The coffee was superb and plenty of toast was produced too.

We had a drink in the bar on the Saturday evening when we got back from having dinner in the town and were surprised that the prices were cheaper than we had been paying in Blairgowrie.

There are peacocks wandering about freely but I never heard a sound from them. We also managed to get a glimpse of the white peacock when we were walking down into the town (a lovely 10 minute stroll away).

All in all, this trip was well worth the money and the Altamount Hotel will be on our list of places to visit again.

A big thanks to the staff for making our weekend a very relaxed and enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Room 108 was a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Got x 2 night Groupon voucher for £99. We stayed in Blairhill room which was adequate. Bed comfy but no headboard. Furniture very dated but very smelly, which i think was the pot pourri inside one of the wardrobe drawers.
Only staying for 2 nights so didnt use wardrobe or chest of drawers..
Well placed mirror and comfy chair which was good for doing hair and make up.
Toilet very small, but clean.
Room I would rate as average and worth the Groupon price, but not much more.
However, the actual hotel was very good. Staff are very friendly and pleasant. Breakfast was excellent if service a little slow. Choice of 4 fruit jiuces, 6 cereals and full Scottish b/fast which was lovely.
Wedding held on same weekend, but no disturbance to us at all, didnt even hear wedding reception once we were in our room.

Would recommend this hotel, good location lovely breakfast and nice staff. Would not take much money to upgrade room.

Room Tip: Blairhill room located towards back of hiotel, very quiet but needs upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Altamount House Hotel at Blairgowrie near Perth. It is definitely a place to which escape, whereas it does have free wifi it is slow, but it'se not a place to work, but to relax!

From the start it was a relaxing experience, as we pulled up the friendly staff sprang into action directing us to a suitable parking space, although I expect we were lucky that they were outside as we arrived. However there is a car park behind the hotel and plenty of temporary waiting space in front of it for the offloading of luggage.

The food in the Peacock Restaurant, which is also open to non-residents, is truly wonderful, although the vegetarian options are limited. The Altamount’s desert menu is nothing short of paradisical.

They have a small bar with a modest but discriminating selection of whiskies and a comfortable television lounge. The hotel welcomes children and dogs.

As well as the hotel the Altamount provides various types of well-priced self catering accommodation for numbers from two to eight, upon which I am not in a position to comment.

I was delighted at how convenient Blairgowrie is for the exploration of a large part of Scotland. As long as one has a car one is within range not only of beautiful ​countryside, but also the distilleries of Speyside, the theatre in Pitlochrie, the magnificent gardens of Perthshire, and some good walking, even the Cairngorms are not too far.

I would cheerfully recommend the Altamount House to anyone wanting to holiday in Perthshire, and am seriously thinking about the self catering options too.

Room Tip: The Courtyard is best suited to those with children and dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayes at the log chalets in July for 3 nights on a groupon deal.

We LOVED IT. I wouldnt hesitate to return if the deal came back up.

Plenty things to see and do around the local area, and the chalet had everything you needed.

Lovely place

Room Tip: Take your bicycles if you have them, The cycling aroud the area is good to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We attended a wedding on 4th August 2012. SUPERB LOCATION!
Very Clean. Very friendly staff, nothing was a problem. Especially the duty manageress/head waitress/taxi caller/wiper upper, lol... Ideally situated. Lovely room.
Bar area was a wee bit small but you still got what you wanted....with a smile!!!!
Blair Gowrie itself is a lovely, wee town. Very friendly, helpfull locals.
Will Definitely be back for a short break.
The Hotel does need a bit of updating but I believe thats work in progress. The Grounds are immaculate and very pleasant. Good staff!!! There is a number of excellent NEW build Lodges to choose from if one wants a do it yourself stay. Very impressed!!!
Ultimately, the STAFF make or break a holiday. These will make your's!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet. Rear rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altamount House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamount House Hotel

Address: Coupar Angus Road, Blairgowrie PH10 6JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altamount House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altamount House Hotel in Blairgowrie has reopened in March 2014 under new owners after extensive refurbishments. It is a family run business and we like to think that we can provide you with a "home from home" experience in one of Scotland's most magnificent Counties. The Georgian house was built as a private home in 1800, and although restored in some areas we have managed to maintain all of its Periodic Charm. Altamount House is set within 6 acres of beautifully peaceful gardens and mature woodlands in the heart of Perthshire and we welcome you from near or afar. Although the Hotel is only a 5 minute walk into the Blairgowrie town centre, it is very quiet and secluded in its grounds, which makes it a perfect venue for Weddings, Conferences or just a romantic break for 2!!! If you prefer a more action packed holiday Golf, Fishing, Shooting and Skiing are all on our doorstep. Rosemount and Lansdowne Championship Golf courses are just 1 mile away, with a further 40 courses within 10-30 minutes from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Altamount House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamount Hotel Blairgowrie
Altamount House Hotel Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altamount House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.