We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sampan

Sampan
4 Tannage Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6NQ, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Blairgowrie
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This a a high class Bangladeshi restaurant with excellent food and first class service. One of the best of its kind!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    10
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have visited this restaurant on many occasions and have never been disappointed. A friend of mine comes up from Edinburgh just to eat here! Some people complain about the speed of service, but as far as I am concerned I would rather wait for quality, than get something heated in a microwave! And it is worth the wait! My 10 year old son loves the bhuna, and he it eats it all. He is not even a big eater.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Slow In-house Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This restaurant is beautiful, but the in-house service is really slow. You'd be better getting a takeaway! the food is fantastic, well worth the pennies!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have dined in and took food out from this Indian restaurant for several years now.

I can safely say you will never be disatissfied with the quality of the food. Each dish is unique to the individuals taste. Without giving too much away, I have a particular preference in the dishes I chose and Sampan are happy to cater to my requests.

The one and only down side I think they have is their service times on and evening where they have all their tables filled. But I don't let that take away from the fact you get a genuine flavoursome curry.

Some restaurants dishes are all similar in taste/colour and bland. That is NOT the case here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Be prepared for a wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

It wasn't that busy for a Friday night but the wait for food was unreasonable. Every table around us were also having an extended wait, but yet the kitchen was churning out take way food and delivery food. This is obviously their priority. Once you're sat at the table they have you, and can make you wait. Delivery upon delivery left the kitchen but no ones restaurant meals came. We waited 40 minutes for our starters and were repeatedly told 'soon, soon'. We eventaully complained and it peomptly came. The food was very nice, no doubting it, but no worth the wait. Make sure you fill up on popadoms to keep you going!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sampan also viewed

Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Sampan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.