We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the opportunity to visit this gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dalhenzean Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blairgowrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalhenzean Lodge
Save
You added Dalhenzean Lodge to your Saves list
Glenshee, Blairgowrie PH10 7QD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Blairgowrie B&B and Inns
home
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't miss the opportunity to visit this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The welcome I received from Joyce and Mike Purdie after a late start from Edinburgh on a wet Friday evening could not have been warmer or more kindly. My ensuite room was welcoming, beautifully appointed, fresh and comfortable with stunning views down the Glen to Mount Blair.
Although it may seem to be in the middle of nothing in particular, Glen Shee is at the heart of Scotland (it lies within the Cairngorm National Park). The Cateran Trail encircles the Glen from Blairgowrie via Kirkmichael, the Spittal of Glen Shee and Blaclunans before turning towards Alyth. As you walk you may see (or at least hear) hen harriers, barn and short-eared owls,osprey, deer or salmon. The challenging 9-hole golf course at Dalmunzie is just three miles from Dalhenzean. Pitlochry Festival Theatre is just 20 miles to the west. To the north, over the Devil's Elbow and past the Cairnwell ski lift are Braemar, Balmoral and Ballater.
And at the heart of all this is Dalhenzean - a gem of a B&B to set out from with a hearty Scottish breakfast to sustain you, and to return to at the end of a pleasant and happy day exploring.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
40
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way through the Cairngorms on our Land's End - John O'Groats bike ride last week. It was a fabulous place to stop and leagues above other offerings in the Spittal of Glenshee. A beautiful house, immaculately kept and every detail attended to. We really felt very at home and it was the perfect rest after a long ride from Edinburgh. Although they don't do evening food they kindly gave us a lift to the nearest restaurant. Nothing was too much bother and the home made jams at breakfast were divine, shame we had no room to take some with us. A perfect stop for cyclists and walkers alike, highly recommended. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: There is a room with a bath which was heavenly after a wet ride on the bike!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

A gem in a beautiful location and hosted to perfection by a wonderful couple.
excellent food,relaxed atmosphere and every request responded to in a caring,considerate manner.
Will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Warm welcome. Spotless accomodation. Lovely room with good en-suite. Many homely touches in bedroom. Wonderful bed linen! Excellent breakfast. Interesting hosts. Quiet location but easily accessible.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Joyce and Mike took great care to welcome us into their home, paying great attention to our needs (including those of Kora the dog). Their recommendation for an evening meal were top-notch and well-matched by the delicious and enourmous cooked breakfast. Set in glorous, rolling Perthshire it's perfect as a stop-over on the way north or south (as we used it) or for a longer stay. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Steve and I arrived and were greeted Joyce Purdie who made it clear that our happiness was her and her husband Mike's main concern. The room was comfortable, warm and spotlessly clean. There was a lovely ensuite with a good quality shower and large fluffy towels. There were ample supplies of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and sweets and we were given fresh milk daily in a flask to keep it cool. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, cereal, fruit juice, yogurt, bacon,egg, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, black pudding and potato cake. Joyce also made porridge on request served thick and creamy with honey. There was toast and home made preserves too and plenty of tea and coffee. Mike and Joyce are a delightful couple who went out of their way to advise us on where to eat in the evening, ski conditons and also local places to visit and walks.
Joyce is also keen on crafts so I bought some christmas decorations, 3 scarves of different colours and some raspberry jam and strawberry jam, The strawberry has nearly gone already because it is so good.
We both felt very lucky to have found the Purdies and their beautiful 300 year old hunting lodge. I am sure we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We needed a b&b near the Glenshee ski slopes. This was perfect, just 7 miles away. The views are spectacular. It's very isolated which we really enjoyed being city folk.

The service was superb. We received a warm welcome on arrival. They had a clothes rack out for our wet ski stuff and had towels laid out by the radiators ready to dry out our boots. Mike looked up snow reports for us and went to a lot of effort giving us directions and advice when we were going sight seeing. Joyce was very motherly and ensured that we felt very comfortable throughout our stay.

The room was very clean and comfortable. We were given a flask with milk for our teas and coffees which I really appreciated. We had a sizeable private bathroom with plenty of hot water and big fluffy towels.

Breakfast was the best I've had in a B&B. A large plate of high quality ingredients - I actually had to ask for a smaller portion the next day. Plenty on offer. My girlfiend asked for a continental breakfast and had a selection of cold meat and cheeses along with all the other expected cereals, roll, yoghurt etc.

On the downside: they don't take debit or credit cards and the nearest cash point is 17 miles away. Thankfully, they allowed us to pay by bank transfer. If you pay a deposit using paypal they charge an admin fee.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalhenzean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhenzean Lodge

Address: Glenshee, Blairgowrie PH10 7QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Blairgowrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Dalhenzean Lodge Blairgowrie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalhenzean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.