We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best short break yet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Burlington Hotel

The Burlington Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
The Burlington Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
notts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“best short break yet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

just returned friday on a johnsons coach trip from notts to tis hotel on a 5 day break, not one bad word to be said of the whole trip, the coach driver dave was great a fountain of knowledge about the island took us on 3 outings which covered 6 places around the island of whitch shanklin was my favourite the hotel was the best all the staff were pleasent and polite willing to help with all things the food was lovely hot and a big selection also the waiting on at the tables was spot on and well organised the two that served us were magda and matt both brilliant also made a change to see and talk to the manageress usually management tend to be invisibe she was very pleasent and helpfull sorry cannot remember her name m not too good with names,our daughter went with us she realy enjoyed it had a cruise around the solent and portsmouth docks as well as the trips arund the island would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    54
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
51
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bridgend
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Burlington with Edwards Coaches Really nice hotel, food very good with plenty to choose from off the menu, bedrooms very clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful (especially Sue who waited on our table in the restaurant - lovely lady).

Hotel was really warm and inviting especially as it was February and 'rather' chilly outside. The £1 BAR WAS FANTASTIC and a big help.

The only down side was the entertainment, little bit slow, but all in all very enjoyable.
The whole hotel made us feel very welcome and we would go again.

Room Tip: Room 32 or 33 warm and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

what a fantastic christmas my friend, daugter, my dog harley and i had. not knowing what to expect we were very pleased with our stay. this hotel pulled out all the stops to make your stay a superb experience. the room was very comfortable. the food absolutely fabulous (too much) the staff wonderful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel at home by lots of sweets, fruit and goodies always avaliable. We are local and will definately use the hotel throuout the year and hopefully stay again next year. thank you to all at The Burlington

Room Tip: well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

well i have no idea where these people who have stayed at this hotel there was nothing wrong with the the rooms they where well equipment with the appropriated things for example plenty of toilet roll, soap, as soon as we arrived our cases where brought to our room the room was well equipment with heating the staff couldn't do enough for us friendly and helpful.
the meals well where do i start breakfast consisted of a 3 course, lunch was a 3 course meal and everyday at 4.30pm you had tea,coffee and biscuits,cake.
your evening meal consisted of a 5 course meal and a platter of sandwiches aand we will be going back e rolls put at around 10.30pm in the foyer you would have a platter of every fruit you could think of and bowls of chocolates and nuts .
there was nothing wrong with this hotel what so ever we went with Edwards coaches and we will be going back there again in the summer with Edwards coaches so i really have no idea why this hotel was dragged down so much

Room Tip: the room we stayed in was ground floor and right near the front very peaceful and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

just returned from the burlington hotel sandown for turkey & tinsel. went with GBTours for 5 days. on arrival we booked in and within 10 mins our suitcases were in our room. the room (56) was warm and comfortable. before the evening meal we were given a sherry reception & the evening meal was a good choice and hot. We were served quickly and nothing was to much trouble. The evening entertainment was good and bar prices were reasonable. What was nice that the staff at the hotel had not forgotten us from our last visit, hence my heading home from home. Having read some of the other reviews I cant understand what some people want. I would not change a thing at the Burlington Hotel. Keep up the good work Ellen & staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, Surrey. England.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have just returned from staying at the Burlington having had a lovely time. The staff turned themselves inside out to be helpful and the service was exceptional. The choice of food was also excellent in a very pleasant dining room. As this is an Edwardian hotel the decorations were in keeping with the period property . The heating was on throughout the corridor areas which was very good considering the cost . We met lovely people to share our mealtimes with which was nice in fact we are planning on meeting up there again. Anyone who complains about food and other things are just too hard to please. Great time had by all!

Maggi & Peter Cooke

Room Tip: Room on first floor at the front was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corringham, Essex,UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for a 4 day coach holiday. Found the decor and furnishings dated and the ever present patterned carpet very monotonous. The room was adequate apart from a dangerouisly rickety chair and very poor TV reception. The food was adequate and the service by Sue was excellent but didn't like having to choose the evening meal menu imediately after breakfast which made the whole process very regimented. The swimming pool, which I didn't use was very small. The porterage service was very good and if the place had more up to date decoration and carpeting it would have receceived a better rating from me

Room Tip: If you want a room with a walk in shower make sure you specify it when booking....which we had done...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Burlington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burlington Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burlington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.