We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkbury Hotel

Save Saved
You added Parkbury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parkbury Hotel
29 / 31 The Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Sandown
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break staying at this hotel and had a lovely time. The hotel was clean and inviting , we had two rooms close together which we had requested both were lovely.
all staff were friendly from the reception area to the waitress at breakfast. Have no complaints at all infact looking to repeat my stay next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to the manager and her team who will be pleased to read them.

We pride ourselves on the level of service provided and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    18
    15
    17
See reviews for
28
42
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to have an inexpensive holiday with a great welcome, staff that were always willing to please and a room that was comfortable, clean and recently decorated. Joanna was, I believe, in charge and hardworking to ensure that our stay, with good food, was to our liking. I hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: I had room 17 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Joanne and her team as I know how much these are appreciated.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Having read some earlier reviews of this hotel, one of The Grand UK group, cannot fault it. Met by staff and all luggage taken to rooms. Big contrast with much more expensive hotel recently on Isle Of Man where we struggled up steep steps with no staff in sight! Bedrooms more than adequate and food and service excellent. Budget holiday this may be but could not better hotel

Room Tip: Ask to overlook outdoor pool. Light, airy and quiet. Be warned there is no lift so choose ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay the Parkbury

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

travelled with sunrise, who own grand hotels uk i think.one of the best holidays i have had. hotel spotless,the food was the best i have tasted for a long time,that includes breakfast and four course evening meal,staff very helpful,nothing was too much trouble,just ask and they did it. as i read in previous review about entertainment brian martin(ex black and white minstrel) brilliant,andrew van day rubbish. hotel located well for local ameneties.would definately go again.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Entrance is in Winchester Park Road. Rather annoying if you park in Hotel Car Park off Station Lane. Breakfast was up to standard as you expect. Cannot comment on evening meals served around 6:30pm. rather too early for the two of us. Beware some local Restaurants Kitchens close by 8pm. Booking is preferable to searching for place to eat in the rain.
Did not have to pay a Booking Fee up Front, which was a great Plus as far as I was concerned. Good Value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I like some of the other reviewers slightly panicked after reading some of the comments but I needn't have done.
The staff were warm and welcoming. I booked two rooms as it was a gift for my parents as they have no car. The room they gave my parents was fabulous, high ceilings good size and warm and clean. The breakfast was superb and once you were served you were left alone to chat.
In fact it's my mums birthday next month and as they liked the Ilse of Wight so much i have booked this hotel again. This was a great find. Keep up the good work guys. One quick note, It may not be the most up to date interior wise or have the best modern rooms but, what it lacks in style it makes up ten fold with character and atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, following your stay at The Parkbury recently.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHATHAM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We travelled with Grand UK HOLIDAYS Mon/Fri NICKYdeputy manager EXCELLENT,as a child I travelled on the ARCADIA ship (the R has been left out of the writing on the lounge wall)ANDREWbar/waiterEXCELLENT CHEF menu/food EXCELLENT hotel clean ALL staff very friendly BRAIN MARTIN entertainment EXCELLENT ANDREW VAN DAY rubbish sorry Lucky with weather husband used the pool VERY ENJOYABLE WEEK THANK YOU.

Room Tip: WE first had room no 9 but lock on door was faulty we were put into room no 42 which was very servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay at The Parkbury.

Once again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbury Hotel

Address: 29 / 31 The Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Parkbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkbury Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.