We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel, ideal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wight Montrene Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wight Montrene Hotel to your Saves list
Wight Montrene Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel, ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This Hotel is perfectly located in Sandown as only a short stroll to the beach front and has ample parking for guests. There was even a coach in the car park when we were here and there was still plenty of room for guests. We stayed in the four poster suite and I was impressed with the amount of space available. A good sized bath room, seating area and a second room with two single beds. This was a ground floor room as I have mobility problems and use a wheelchair, although there are 3 steps to negotiate to the bar area and 2 further steps to the rooms I did not have any issues whilst staying here. We did book Bed and Breakfast but although we only had the breakfast on two occasions there plenty of choice and very good food on offer. In the evenings there is entertainment provided, although this may not suit all ages and it tends to suit the more mature market. I would happily book this hotel again in the future as I know I would get value for money, clean rooms and a very good service. I can understand why this hotel is so popular. There is a small swimming pool, which I didn’t get the opportunity to use this time, a pool and snooker room for adults. There is also a place to do laundry so I cannot imagine what else you would need. I am looking forward to booking in the very near future as I am happy that everything I need would be there. The meals offered for full board did look very enticing and I never heard any guests offer anything but compliments on the quality of the food.

Room Tip: The four poster room may be extravigant for two but loved the extra space. Ours was close to the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    127
    35
    18
    17
See reviews for
207
194
19
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Family of four stayed from the 21st June for a week, rooms 141 and 142, both lovely and spacious.

Swimming pool and jacuzzi was lovely and relaxing.

Breakfast and dinner is very good, plenty of options to suit all.

All staff are helpful and friendly and make you feel very welcome.

Hotel is in a great location, waking distances from the sea front and shops.

The weather was beautiful which made the stay even better.

Thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

2 minute walk from town and beach. Large off road car park at the rear of hotel. On arrival received a short tour of public areas. Was given room 130 which was ground floor. We only wanted a reasonably priced room for the night. Although the room was small (we knew that in advance), it had everything you needed including en suite, flat screen t.v., tea and coffee and even a portable air conditioning unit. The real advantage was being able to go through the patio doors to the indoor pool complete with sauna room and hot tub.
The icing on the cake was a peaceful quiet nights sleep followed by a sumptuous full English breakfast.
The service was swift and not over bearing. The hotel also had a well stocked bar and lounge, quiet reading area and a games room.
Excellent choice for a short break

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Good location in the centre of Sandown only a short walk from the beach,shops and train station. As we booked at the last minute we ended up in a small double , the shower room was the size of a cupboard, ok for one night but not good for a longer stay. Breakfast was cooked to order, usual choice of cereals and cooked breakfast , all good. The staff in the dining room were friendly and efficient. Have stayed here before and would do so again for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel itself was quite nice and we went there based on the TA reviews.
A 2 night stay, which included the ferry cost. The room itself was a family room for 3 people, which suited our family well.

Good:
The Hotel is quite close to the beach and town center of Sandown
The staff was very helpful
The restaurant menu and options are great for those who want to indulge in dinner as well.

Not so good:
There is limited options for Vegetarians
The staff gave us fried bread cooked in animal fat, without informing
Difficult to find initially, as it is located in a small drive off the main road and the signs are not very prominent.
The previous guest must have smoked in the room (even though they are non-smoking rooms) and there was a strong stale stench.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Staff very friendly, the vegetarian option at dinner was always tasty and much better than expected. My daughter loved being able to use the swimming pool whenever she wanted to and there was entertainment nearly every night. Would recommend and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Last week we stayed for a week on a B/B basis at this hotel, we had a fab time, the hotel was brilliant, clean, very well decorated. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I even enjoyed having an early morning swim before breakfast. The staff who cleaned our room every morning were friendly and pleasant. The breakfast were excellent with plenty of options. We chose this hotel as it had very good parking and was a short walk to the Beach. Sandown itself was a nice town with plenty of good shops. We found this a good home for seeing the rest of the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wight Montrene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wight Montrene Hotel

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sandown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wight Montrene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wight Montrene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
Wight Montrene Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wight Montrene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.