We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attraction - although a little small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dinosaur Isle

Dinosaur Isle
Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8QA, England
44 01983 404344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 things to do in Sandown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a spectacular pterosaur shaped building watching over Sandown’s blue flag beach is Britain’s first purpose built dinosaur museum. Walk back through fossilised time to the period of the dinosaurs where you will find amongst the fossils many interactive displays. On a recreated landscape enhanced by sights, smells and sounds you will meet life sized dinosaurs including our animatronic Neovenator. Guided fossil hunts (which must be pre-booked) have proved to be a popular addition to a visit.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great attraction - although a little small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Definitely worth a visit on a rainy day, however the facility is smaller than I would have expected.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    122
    64
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice Little Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited with are 8 and 7 year old the loved the hands on activities, being able to hold the fossils. Only really need a hour or two as there is not really a lot to see but the children were happy, and they also have a great shop!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We originally passed this by during a visit to the zoo next door but decided to give it a go when the weather was not good a few days later. There was plenty to keep the children occupied - not only the physical exibits but there was a very good search game where letters had to be found to make the name of a dinosaur (one easy one for younger children, one harder one which was challenging). There was dinosaur 'rubbing', interactive exibits and a question / anser with one of the museum staff. Upstairs there was a drawing and painting area with some soft toys and general child friendly toys.
Over the course of our week on the Isle of Wight we felt that Dinosaur Isle represented the best value for money out of all of the visitted attractions and one where the most time was spent.
Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

To be honest we went here with our low-teens grandchildren only because the weather was so unfriendly that outdoor attractions on the IOW wouldn't be enjoyable. Once inside we were very impressed by the quality of the exhibits and the spread of information levels - it was suitable for children and adults of all ages, and not just the 'mad about dinosaurs' youngsters. There's plenty of interactivity and even an educational sandpit for the young and not-so-young children. If you want to talk to a real live paleontologist they are on-hand and really enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable about their subject. We got so interested that we nearly missed our ferry home! "I'll be back"!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fossil hunting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The museum itself is well set out, informative and educational. There are quite a few activities for children of all ages to have a go at and also the opportunity to touch some of the fossils etc. Upstairs there is an education room, where there is plenty of space for young children to draw, colour, paint, read or dress up. There are also dinosaur games and puzzles etc. Great on a rainy day. There is a gift shop, which stocks the usual gift items. There is no cafe however. (You also have to pay for the carparking)
Better still is the fossil walks. They are advertised on the main Dinosaur Isle web-site under 'Events' You book and pay for these separately £16 for a family of 4. We did a fossil walk first thing in the morning at Shanklin. The Geologist was very good and we found lots of good fossils. It was a two hour walk along the beach. We had prepared for bad weather, and with good reason - it was windy and raining, but still really interesting. If you plan on doing the fossil walk then make sure you have good shoes or better still - wellies and waterproofs (unless of course it is a beautiful summers day!!) The rocks are quite difficult to navigate and very slippery in places, so young children may struggle.
It was a really good learning experience and gave a good awareness of what to look out for. I would recommend this to anyone with an interest in fossil hunting.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Isle also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Dinosaur Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinosaur Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.