We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice friendly hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just spent the weekend at this hotel with 'Just go' coach holidays. Lovely single room and great food. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly, what more could you want. On the morning we were leaving I wasn't feeling very well and the staff were very helpful. Thankyou.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    48
    8
    10
    8
See reviews for
41
55
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we've just got back from a long weekend at the Riviera Hotel and were pleasantly surprised with how nice it was for the cost.

we had a double, and a single room, both were clean and more that adequate as a base for exploring the island. The breakfasts were ok but the evening meals were really nice, especially the trout and salmon. We were more than prepared to eat out in the evening but never did once. The waiter was lovely and friendly, in fact all the staff were great. The rooms were clean and the bed quite comfy.

The hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes walk to the sea front; granted up hill, but then all of the isle of Wight seems to include hills so I don't think you'd get better in another hotel.

On the down side, the walls were very thin, leaving us able to hear every word of our neighbours nagging, and taking a shower was pot luck as to whether the water would stay the right temperature or not. The rooms were quite small, but nothing we didn't expect for the price we paid.

We booked with Travel style which offers cheap D, B & B deals so we knew we weren't booking a luxury holiday, but you get whet you pay for, and for the price we were all very impressed with the Hotel and would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from a 5-day Travelstyle coach holiday, based at the Riviera. Traditional décor and everywhere looked clean and tidy and smart. My single room (No.8) on the first floor was average sized and had everything I needed, the bed was comfortable, and it was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The small window only looked onto rooftops but did not detract from the overall stay. There is a lovely dining room and lounge with well stocked bar on the ground floor. Staff friendly and helpful. Should be a 3 star at least for comfort and cleanliness. But most of all, the food was fantastic, equivalent to any 4 star hotel, with great choice, quick efficient service, evidently home cooked and always generous in the amount of meat included. Heard lots of people commenting on how great the food was and I hope the Chef received our compliments. Set on an incline and with steps to the entrance, perhaps not ideal for the very disabled. But overall this hotel deserves much praise and is great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in August. On arrival you are faced with a flight of steps at the front main door. Not easy to haul luggage up, but there is an easier entry via a ramp and through the lounge around the front of the hotel. Can't remember seeing a notice re this at the main entrance though!
The decor of the passageways/landings and bedrooms although somewhat dated in style is fresh, excellent condition and clean. The standard of cleanliness in bedroom/bathroom and through out the hotel is of a very high standard.
Linen - bed and hand all smart, clean and in excellent condition.
Tea/coffee facilities together with toilet essentials in rooms.
The dining room and lounge are very nice rooms, warm, welcoming and friendly appeal to them. In these public rooms handy WiFi is available free of charge. The breakfasts and evening meals are impressive, with quite a varied choice, well cooked and presented.
Location, on main road exiting west from Sandown which means there is a fair amount of traffic and thus noise early mornings and evenings if you have a South facing bedroom, as we did. But, on the positive side, you get the sun in room most of the day, view of Sandown Pier and sea. Although only app 250/300 yds from Sandown Pier, it is an uphill walk all the way back to the Hotel, steep initially then gentle climb.
For a 2* rated hotel it is excellent. We have stayed in worst hotels with higher ratings.

Room Tip: Rooms on South side are facing main road, therefore can be noisy with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for one night, but enjoyed the friendly staff and also helpful. Room was clean and a good size. Breakfast was just right and served swiftly and nothing was to much trouble. The only thing I would say would have loved a mug with the tea making facilities, but that is my choice, I know most people like a cup. Will go again. Thank you

Room Tip: Very local for all Sandown has to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice place in Sandown close to the beach, bus stop and the high street.
Rooms are a bit dated but what it matters is that are fairly cleaned, breakfast is fine as well as the service.
Tv in the room as previous reviewers say are small but who cares, if I had wanted to watch a telly I would have stayed at home; we found some stains in the linen of the beds so just advice maids to pay extra attention whilst doing the beds as some customers might not like it.
We will come back only at the reasonable rate that we booked , b & b @£35 per person; I won' t find it worth it if rate is higher than that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

vary nice hotel with good food sever, good food. with good friendly worker. vary good location to town and to the beach and swimming pool & gym. with good entertainment on most night. with nice size bedrooms with tv in rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: 2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Riviera Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.