We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wight Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wight Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Wight Bay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Home
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

After reading a couple of previous reviews we were a little uncertain what we would find having booked a "travel style super saver" and not choosing our own hotel. We were pleasantly surprised though as the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were very clean and compared well to other places we have stayed. There was a good choice of meals all served piping hot and very quickly. Serving staff were very helpful and even took the trouble to remember how I wanted my coffee every day. A nice touch that made me feel like it was a home from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    54
    10
    10
    8
See reviews for
46
61
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We made an impromptu trip to IOW, had no reservations & just showed up & were promptly checked in. The rates they charged were very competitive. We got a room with a double and 2 singles. The interior was quite dated (think 80's floral wall paper, old pink curtains, etc). However the bathroom was clean, shower worked, there was plenty of space in the room and bathroom, so once you get past the decor it's quite nice. The beds won't suit everyone, they weren't particularly uncomfortable but good enough for a nights stay. The BnB was only a 5min walk from everything. Overall given their rates, this was a good choice, no real perks but if you're looking for perks, you need to be willing to splash out a bit more cash and find some place else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived for a two night stay but after sleeping one night was ready to go home. the bed is so hard my back is still suffering and the pillow like slabs of concrete. The decor needs to be updated and the bedding brought into the 21st century. The only plus side is that the place was clean and the staff appeared to be friendly. I did not consider the breakfast to be a full english and would not bother again to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It's ok but that's about it not a place for young people. Mainly coach trips and old biddies. It was ok. That was it room was very basic felt like Doc and Marty in back to the future. I think my nans house is more modern. One good thing about the hotel is that the weather was good and we could get out of it! Also I really like the rock hard pillows. As I almost knocked the mrs out when play fighting. Would I go here again? No. But funny memories of a strange hotel. Defiantly worth a laugh. (Or not)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Groupon advertised a 2 night stay with afternoon tea and a glass of wine at the rivieria for £99 which we snapped up without an background checking!

6 months later I walked into the reception to check in to find a man arguing with the receptionist, the man shouted "I don't know how anyone can stay here, I want my money back" slightly awkward! What are we letting ourselves in for??

After parking the car we returned to reception where the lady was very appologetic and led us to our room to make the point the room we were in is not that bad. I think she upgraded us due to the situation I had witnessed and we had a beautiful view of the sea and sunrise, but the room itself was very poor. It was like staying in my nans bedroom for the weekend, with tassels from the lampshades and outdated wallpaper throughout the room and bathroom, its clearly has not been modernised since 1970.

We decided it could be worse so went to bed... To find we do not have a duvet but a sheet, a thin blanket. The pillows can no even really be called pillows more like concrete slabs with a sheet around them.

I love the IOW but it is safe to say I will not be hurrying back to the Riviera. It is a hotel for coach trips and older people. I would advice anyone who plans of staying their to take their own bedding if they want a decent nights sleep and set their expections LOW.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was a wonderful surprise to my wife & I, as the cost was relatively cheap. The staff, facilities, bedrooms, and the assistance we had with our bags was exemplary.
Not a place for certain handicapped people as there is no lift, and quite a few stairs.
We do hope to re-visit, definately will use the Riviera again, hope Travelstyle will use this Hotel in the New Year.

Room Tip: Our room was above the main entrance, no problems did we experience, noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for 4nights at a total cost of £120 that included travel,ferry bed breakfast and evening meal with 2 free excursions with travel style and i must say it was well worth every penny,this hotel should be more than a 2 star!the food at meal times was lovely,staff were very friendly the location is perfect for shopping and the bus stops are just across the road and its very easy to travel and get around on the buses.the rooms are a bit dated we had a double bed and a single bed in the room it was very spacious,the shower however is not so good the water runs out so slow and takes ages to rise shampoo etc out of your hair.we met some lovely People on this tour alot older than me and my friend as we are in our mid 20's, so it might not suit younger people but there are bars and pubs near by.there is entertainment in the hotel.just also found it a nightmare getting my case up and down the main stairs to the hotel(around 15+).overall we enjoyed it :) would return to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wight Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wight Bay Hotel

Address: 2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandown
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wight Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently purchased Hotel for the Aronex Development Company. A hotel that offers a warm genuine service that gives you the feeling of being part of the Riviera family. Service and food standards at the hotel are simply head and shoulders above all competitors in the area. Superb quality rooms with fresh luxury linen serviced daily, extreme value for money. A wonderful hotel within a five minute walk to the beach and Pier at Sandown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wight Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sandown
Wight Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wight Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.