We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chad Hill Hotel

Chad Hill Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chad Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Chad Hill Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Hill Street, Sandown P036 9DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
pembrokeshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Chad is a very friendly period hotel, food is excellent and the owners are a very nice couple. We spent 2 days there and found it a very enjoyable experience.
We will definitely be back for a longer stay.
Many Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    10
    5
    11
See reviews for
6
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
maria29_10
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was adequate, clean, and the bed comfortable. Lovely hosts, good breakfasts and we would stay again. Parking was free and the Hotel a walk from Sandown high street. The area was very quiet at night and a peaceful sleep was had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Warm welcome, friendly host's....off road parking....clean comfortable rooms....really good breakfast, with a choice.....would stay again....:...................................................................................................................................thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A nice place to stay . The hotel is quite old fashioned but not in a bad way . The bedroom size was ok although the shower is a bit of a squeeze . Everything was clean . The beds a double and a single were really comfortable .
The breakfast was ok , with a choice of cereals and juice along with cooked from the menu .
The location was not too bad , about 10 mins from the front and no problems with parking.
We stayed for a week and found it to be very friendly .
There was only one little niggle and that was paying with a credit card and being told this would incur a 2% charge . To be honest I would rather be told the room price with the 2% already included . That aside though it was a very nice stay .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnstaple, England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent a long weekend in this little hotel and apart from the very meagre cooked breakfast,no kippers and dreadful supermarket sausages and bacon, we found it ok. If you want a fancy hotel go and pay £100 per night elsewhere. If you want super, personal service and a perfectly adequate clean comfortable room at a bargain price Chad Hill is fine. If we go back to the Island again we would not hesitate to go back to see Judy at this hotel.
Also, if you want to hire a car for your stay, the customer service at Value Car Hire in Sandown was superb and I'd highly recommend them too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for two nights it was a cheep and cheerful weekend get away, we were made welcome and our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice and plentiful. It was about a 5-10 min walk to the sea front and pier. I did read some of the reviews on here before traveling but i thought i would judge it for myself, i liked it here, it was a cheap break away and it was worth the money would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

if you like an old fashioned hotel which looks after its guests this is the one! So friendly and welcoming. the weather was awful but felt very happy in our room reading or in the small bar. Food always lovely. 5 mins walk from sandown pier. close enough but nice and quiet too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chad Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chad Hill Hotel

Address: 7 Hill Street, Sandown P036 9DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chad Hill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chad Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chad Hill Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chad Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.