We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sandringham Hotel to your Saves list
Sandringham Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade | Seafront, Sandown PO36 8AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Prescot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Sandringham 3 times now and never really been disappointed. It is in a wonderful position overlooking The Channel ,great if you enjoy watching all types of ship going to and fro. The only drawback can be the sometimes restricted view if you are on the first floor, depend on which room you get. Better to check when you book. Nice meal times,really nice meals served to you by some pleasant staff. Turn right out of the hotel and stroll leisurely along 2.5 miles of beach front to Shanklin. Have a drink and stroll back along the cliff path which can be accessed by the lift, for some stunning views. Some of the rooms are being refurbished at the moment but this does not interfere with your stay.Entertainment on 4 nights a week.Drinks a bit pricey.They have an indoor pool, a sauna and a jacuzzi. Cannot fault the staff.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front on 2nd or 3rd floor. You will have to pay extra for the balcony which can ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    90
    57
    29
    20
See reviews for
88
103
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Middx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My Sister, Nephew and I have just returned from a much needed 3 day break staying at the Sandringham Hotel Sandown.

What a fabulous time we had, took a chance as we did not know anybody who had been here before but it was a chance well worth taking!!

The Hotel was Clean, warm, and all the staff we met were extremely friendly,

My nephew thoroughly enjoyed the heated swimming pool, so much so that we visited it every other hour right through until 10.00pm closing!!

Food was fantastic for the price, we couldn't have been more pleased, being a chef myself I can be very fussy but I could not find fault.

a special mention goes to out waiter Adrian, what a find he is for your Hotel, nothing was too much trouble for him and I can say that he is the best waiter I have ever come across

thank you so much, we will definitely be back, next time with the rest of the family

xxxxx

Room Tip: Seaview a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pierre de Juillers, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Sandringham hotel. It was our 50th wedding anniversary and my daughter secretly emailed the hotel to let them know and they upgraded us to a lovely balcony sea view room with a huge television which was a lovely surprise and so kind of them. They were so friendly and couldn't do enough for all the guests, not just us. The food was lovely and the hotel was lovely and warm and comfortable - perfect after a chilly days sightseeing. They are upgrading the bathrooms to more modern ones at the moment but we had no complaints at all, it was a lovely weekend in a lovely hotel with lovely staff and we hope to return. We would definitely recommend it and will definitely stay here again ourselves when we return to the Isle of White.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in March with our 2 children in a family superior balcony room and were so lucky to have such glorious weather while we were away. The service was very professional from start to finish, our booking taken over the phone and confirmation emailed to us practically straight away. On arrival we were taken to our fabulous bedroom with a newly refurbished tiled shower room. The lad that took us to our room helped carry our bags which was a real help as we don't travel light! The food was more than ample and very tasty and served at a reasonable time too! The hotel is in a great location right on the seafront and near to the Dinosaur Museum and Pier.
FAB-ULOUS. That is all I can really say!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a top floor room with refurbished bathroom! Ask for a table in the dining room by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidwelly, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Booked 5 nights in the Sandringham 21st - 26h Feb, we took my mum who has very limited mobility they provided an ground floor room with plenty of space for her to get around, and a key for back access which we paid a deposit on, got back at the end of our stay. As mum had to be in a wheel chair for her meals they provided us with a table in the lounge area and never once forgot we were not in the main dining room. Food was good quality withe a good choice.
The only thing that they could have done better was provide a wheel chair lift into the dining room they have the space and it would make them much more attractive to disabled clients. Even the restaurant manager said that this would be a good idea and they have the space.
Mum had to go into hospital when were there and the management even offered to move us to there hotel in Newport so we would be closer. I cannot thank them enough for there support when this happened. All together a good value holiday in a pleasant hotel that is in the middle of an upgrade..

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has been upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The rooms are a bit dated and basic, but it is very clean and comfortable. We have just spent 4 nights here and would highly recommend it. Bed breakfast and evening meal including return ferry crossing was all excellent value, the breakfast had a good choice of cereals and cooked breakfast with a choice of fruit or juice and a 3 course evening meal catering for veggies as well as meat eaters, the staff were very friendly and accomodating, could not fault it and would definately go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went to this hotel last weekend - this was our second visit. The weather was lovely and our newly refurbished bedroom overlooked the sea. We had a top floor room with ensuite bathroom that was fully tiled and had a walk-in shower. A great improvement on the bathroom with carpet we had on our last visit. The service was as good this time as it was last and the waiting staff were exceptionally efficient and very attentive. We used the swimming pool every morning - this is a great facility and the pool is a good size so you actually feel like you are getting some good exercise. We got a great and really cheap deal that included the car ferry - we looked to book this ourselves from Portsmouth but it was way too expensive so opted to go all in with ferry from Southampton instead. Our weekend consisted of lots of beautiful walks and good food. We also squeezed in a trip on the Steam Railway which was very nostalgic and good fun.

Room Tip: Book the top floor for the best view and ask for a new bathroom/ shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: The Esplanade | Seafront, Sandown PO36 8AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 117 bedroom hotel situated right on the sea front in Sandown, and cater for couples, families and private groups. We offer ferry inclusive rates and have a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Entertainment four nights a week and large sea facing lounge and ballroom. 2 x self catering suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandringham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.