We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alverstone Cottage B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alverstone Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Alverstone Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alverstone Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Alverstone Cottage Bed & Breakfast
14 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
lincs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alverstone Cottage B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Could'nt fault in any way, very friendly and helpfull on arrival, nothing was too much trouble for them during our stay,room clean n tidy comfy bed which is needed after all the walks ! & kettle in room :-) fab breakfast didnt need to eat till evening !! Perfect location to beach, will def be staying again X even had no issuses with us parking our scooter in there garden. Take care see u soon X Oh fab tea cosy's. Karen & Carl

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having arrived at the Alverstone Cottage fairly late in the evening, my wife and I were made to feel very welcome. Although we were on a short business trip to the island, we took advantage of staying a few nights. What a wonderful Guest house it turned out to be. Everything was just right. We stayed in the Webster room with a lovely comfortable king size bed. The room had tea and coffee available, iron and ironing board, tv, everything you need. The room didn't have it's own en suite, but instead a private bathroom with shower, bath, and toilet that belongs to the Webster room. It was just across the hall from the bedroom, no hassle at all. Having stayed in many so-called 4 star rated hotels on the island in the past for business and pleasure, I forgot how friendly a guest house was. Alot of hotels have seemed to have lost that personal touch. The Alverstone cottage has reminded me of the family holidays I used to have as a child on the island (wonderful memories). The Breakfasts really do set you up for the day, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely stay again. Thank you to all the family for making our weekend. Oh and not forgetting Barney and Webster. A. Phillips.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

What a great stay and this fantastic bed and breakfast, very clean room with lots of facilities, lovely people that run it very kind and friendly, lovely breakfast and great location what more could we ask for, visited with my two children who loved it just as much, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Wonderfull place to stay and great value. We stayed with our 1 year old son and it was great. We were upgraded to the larger room for free as no-one was staying in it, the room was immacualte, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was great - I didnt need to eat again all day! The family went out of thier way to track me down and return my wallet when I lost it (my son stuffed it down the back of the bed) by calling the ferry service and tracing me through them. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

First class B&B! Lovely place to stay with a young family. Such kind and welcoming owners - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very well equipped, nicely decorated with comfortable beds... our two year old felt right at home. Breakfast each morning was a delight, very hearty and set us up nicely for the day. We enjoyed exploring this beautiful part of England and will most certainly be returning to Alverstone Cottage in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A gem of a B&B! We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable which suited our needs since this was our first break away with our 6 month old baby. Superb breakfast which filled us up all day. We loved meeting Barney the dog who also gave us an enthusiastic welcome! Looking forward to our next visit :0)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

What a find this place was. Barbara and her family were so friendly despite the fact we were muddy festival goers! The rooms were comfortable and clean and we all had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was outstanding, and Barbara's knitted teacosies were a delight each morning. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alverstone Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alverstone Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently refurbished, small, family run bed & breakfast located in Sandown on the Isle of Wight. Situated a short walk from the golden sands of an award winning Blue Flag beach that stretches for six miles along Sandown Bay. Offering two newly decorated rooms with private or ensuite facilities, Alverstone Cottage Bed & Breakfast provides a warm, friendly family atmosphere where we hope you’ll feel just as relaxed here as you would at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alverstone Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverstone Cottage Bed & Breakfast Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alverstone Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.