We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ashleigh House Hotel

Ashleigh House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashleigh House Hotel
Save
You added Ashleigh House Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Sandown Road, Sandown PO36 9LE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Firstly the gud points. Host was very friendly and polite, breakfast very nice and hotel prices reasonable.

Now for the list of bad points. Smelly,dirty beds and linen(not changed during our 4 day stay).dirty pillows. Mismatched bedding curtains even bed bases. Carpets dirty and smelly. Window and nets dusty Bathroom dirty with broken fittings. Visible ceiling damage. Awful torn wallpaper. Broken wardrobe.

Not enough parking out the front had to park car on side roads.

Dishes cups etc dirty. We had to keep changing cups etc wid other empty tables. Put us off starting breakfast. Veggie breakfast was nice best part of the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

There is not enough parking available but the worse bit about the place was that it really needed a makeover. The room was musty & the wardrobe doors couldn't close properly plus the back of the wardrobe had "sprung" and didn't fit in the grooves any more. The windows were not very clean & the wallpaper around the windows were a tad mouldy. I would not recommend this place. But the breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

There is nothing good to say about this guest house, I am only writing this review to prevent others going through what we went through.
Bad service, no one was there to let us in, when they did they were rude and aggressive in nature. Rooms are dirty and smelly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The room was big but had a musty smell. Lucky could open the window. Huge bed 2 singles joined... that was a bonus. But the pillows were smelly and flat. Small TV. Jug didnt work. However the host and staff were very friendly. The breakfast was delicious and served quickly. The place looks a bit run down but it was the cheapest i could find breakfast included.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Where to begin? Well, shall we start with the beds. Or shall we call them cages? We went with a large group and were put into rooms of 4-6. Our room had three bunkbeds squeezed into a space comfortable for perhaps for a small dog. The matresses might as well have been non existant, about two cm thick, you could easily feel the wire frame underneath, one of my friends had marks on her back from the metal wire. The photographs are completely fake. To make matters worse, we saw a huge amount of water damage on the lounge ceiling, it felt as though the roof was about to fall through. I don't know who is responsible for it, but they should have fixed it before it got to the living organism stage.

Room Tip: Just don't. Ok?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

not enough parking, dated decor, dogs mess at side of building, no staff located on site, bedding tired, worn and dated, headboard disgusting, breakfast lovely, staff friendly, no bar available, no off site parking as double yellow lines and situated on main road!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

we stay at this.hotel,when we arrived it was a workman that had to find some one to check us in,not enough parking for 14 room plus living room had a big water damage mark,no bar as they say they have.the bed room we had was noisy plus peeling walllpaper the shower was tepid and toilet handle missing, and loose fittings,tv did not work v well had to make do with 1 channel breakfast was ok but v hot and in a rush to have your plate away from you.plus nobody on site if you have a problem
,poor value for money

Room Tip: do not pick this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashleigh House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh House Hotel

Address: 81 Sandown Road, Sandown PO36 9LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashleigh House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Hotel Sandown
Ashleigh House Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashleigh House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.