We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yarbridge Inn

Yarbridge Inn
Yarbridge | near Brading, Sandown, England
01983405585
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Sandown
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Previous good Tripadvisor reviews led us to try this restaurant one evening, and we were not dissapointed. The restaurant was well presented, clean and comfortable, with attentive and friendly staff. There was a good selection of specials on the blackboard, plus the usual pub grub. I chose the Cod & Chips and my wife the Smoked Haddock Mornay, both meals were delicious. I can appreciate why this restaurant is number 1 on Tripadvisor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    45
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Food with Very Good Range”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We've now popped in here on several occasions since the current owners took over last year. There is a lovely and varied menu, including some unusual dishes for a pub and a good range of vegetarian dishes, plus a good range of regularly changing specials on the blackboard. A good number of the main courses are also offered in smaller appetite portions if you're not overly hungry or just wanting a snack. Similarly there is also a childrens menu. The food has always been very good without exception, and the service and attention perfect. As per the last review, we too have had the Sunday dinner in there on a previous visit and it's well recommended, and you can get a two-course deal for £9.95 if one of the accompanying starters or desserts take your fancy.

On the drinks front, apart from the standard range of beers, soft drinks, and hot beverages, there are 4 real ales on offer including the best of the island beers, Fuggle De Dum. These too have always been in tip top condition. All drinks are offered at a reasonable price in comparison to the other dining pubs in Brading and nearby Sandown.

Although the pub inside is not too large, there is a fair size car park, plus outside decking area (which is a sun trap on a fine day). Food is served all day every day, and reservations taken. Very well worth a visit. The pub is at the bottom of Brading (not in Sandown as sometimes listed!), so also handy if you're intending to visit the nearby Roman Villa.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Wight
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Decided to have dinner at the Yarbridge tonight. We took the precaution of booking a table, as we know they can be extremely busy. By 8pm ALL the tables were taken. Obviously the reputation of the Yarbridge is spreading and deservedly so. We all had the Roast Beef, very good value at £7.95, plenty of vegetables and great tasting gravy. For dessert I had the sponge pudding and the others had the Chocolate fudge cake. The rather expensive restaurant in Guildford that I ate at last night should get lessons from Richard on how to serve a dessert properly !!
I strongly recommend that you reserve a table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, beautiful beer and beautiful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The pub is small but not too small which creates a lovely atmosphere. the food is great but the best bit is the great service and warm welcome.
I went with a big group of friends and nothing was too much trouble. we plan to go back in the nest few weeks for a leaving do, I just wish I had been more!
I would highly recommend this place for food, but would also recommend to go for just a beer and enjoy the people. As I have said...beautiful :)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I've just had lunch at the Yarbridge inn on this lovely sunny day and it was brilliant. I had a platter that had cheese, pâté, salad crusty bread etc and my other half had a mixed grill. Both meals were well priced, arrived quickly and tasted amazing! We even took our two dogs who sat on the decking with us. This pub is a hidden treasure :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yarbridge Inn also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Newchurch, Sandown
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
St Helens, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Yarbridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yarbridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.