We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melville Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melville Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Melville Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 60.5% 2nt Break £88
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed for a weekend and arrived quite late on the friday night. The staff were great at welcoming us despite the time and we were pleased to see there were a few people in the bar which created a nice atmosphere.
The room was smaller than we had anticipated as the website led us to beleive we would have a 4 poster bed. However, despite this, the room was spotless and had all the necessary ammenities we needed. The beds were so comfortable. We thought that the walls were pretty thin because we could hear people snoring on both sides of our room!!! I think we were unlucky with this!!
The location is great and its an easy walk down to the beach. We had B&B and the breakfast was great. I personally think the music in the restaurant needs modernising, but I think the style is in keeping with the style of the building.
The spa is a great addition and made this hotel an excellent choice for a relaxing break.
We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    328
    113
    50
    47
See reviews for
59
522
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West SussexUK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We had a good stay, food was excellent Breakfast & eve meal
Free papers and coffee & tea a nice touch in the lounge. Room was a superior yet still small .
Staff friendly and treatments very busy so best to book in advance, good value with ferry trip as well. Mind you we did get served at breaffast once by a " Kevin" not sure the yoof was even awake whist serving !
Would visit again , very relaxing

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

First the good points - nice little swimming pool and jacuzzi, great fish tank in the entrance lobby and delicious 3 course dinner, only £17 when booked in advance. However, overall the hotel is quite dated. Our room was a good size but the bathroom was tiny and definitely in need of refurbishment. The hotel serves tea/coffee and biscuits/fruit in the the afternoon, but we had to request the latter, and still only biscuits were brought out. In addition, the hotel ran out out of fresh fruit salad at breakfast time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Have just spent a very enjoyable 2 night stay at this hotel. Food was excellent, as was the service and friendly staff. Indoor pool was rather small and the decor of the rooms was 'tired', but the standard and choice of food made up for any shortcomings. Not recommended for 'burger and chip' guests, which is why we enjoyed it so much!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The hotel is in a good location, 10 minutes from the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food and service in the Restaurant was excellent. Both dinner and breakfast were superb. The short break was very good value indeed, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

The Melville Hall Hotel in Sandown, IOW, is located a short walk from the beach, pier and promenade. It is a very pleasant hotel which has both indoor and outdoor pools and a Spa. It has a large front garden and car parking is also in front of the hotel. The bedrooms are comfortable with a large screen Freeview TV and DVD player. The public rooms are all bright, well furnished and well maintained. There is free tea and coffee in the lounge as well as in the bedrooms.

All of the staff, but especially those in Reception, are very pleasant and helpful. However whilst we were staying, there must have been a staff shortage or crisis as the 2 Waiters in the Restauarnt struggled with the work, and were helped out by the Barman, thus leaving the bar unmanned. At the Restaurant entrance it asks for you to ' Wait to be Seated ' , and this wait could be some time. Clearly a Maitre D' is required.

Whilst we were staying the Evening Menu did not alter, apart from 'Chefs Specials' , which turned out to be different sauces on the same meats. If staying for a week this could get to be boring. However it was a quiet relaxing comfotable place to eat in and there were no coach parties. We hope that the staff shortages are only temporary and that a new chef will bring some imagination to the menu !.

The Melville Hall proved to be a nice, quiet, pleasant and comfortable hotel with excellent staff .

Would we go there again ?, maybe, and we would not have any concerns. Was it value for money ?, possibly, but we enjoyed it !.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We took advantage of a spa break at the Melville Hall hotel for our wedding aniversary recently, and had a great time. The staff are very helpful, friendly and make for a relaxed atmosphere from the minute you walk in the door. The rooms are large and comfy (ours had a four poster bed too) and are fully stocked with tea/coffee etc.
The restaurant and bar are excellent, with good food and wine - the staff are terrific. We enjoyed several spa treatments, and the use of the pools (indoor and out), sauna and detox box - you MUST try the detox box!!!
The hotel is a pleasant 10 min walk from the seafront in Sandown (one reviewer wrote it is "an hour from the sea" ??? I think they must've gone the very scenic route since it's only around 500 metres in a straight line!) and we used to stroll down to the seafront and back after dinner. Located in Sandown, the hotel is only a 5 min drive from Shanklin - in fact you can drive anywhere on the island from the hotel within 40 mins!
Overall, an excellent choice for a break, in an excellent location, we'll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melville Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melville Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.