We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service from start to finish.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melville Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melville Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Melville Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 60.5% 2nt Break £88
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous service from start to finish.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Took advantage of a cheap Travelzoo break for 3 days offer with my husband. Value for money the break was A*. The staff were fabulous and couldn't do enough for us - always smiling, willing to help and extremely professional. We were HB and could not wish for tastier food....delicious.
The room was clean and tidy but I have to say the décor was a bit tired and dated. Also took advantage of the half price treatments - manicure & pedicure and both my husband and I had a full body massage. All excellently delivered by the beauticians.

Room Tip: We paid extra for superior room as we wanted a king size bed, very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay at Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa and for rating your break as A* for value for money. The staff will be delighted to hear that you found them fabulous, helpful, smiling, professional and couldn't do enough for you. The chef will also be absolutely delighted that you could not have wished for tastier food - I'm pleased that you found this delicious. I'm glad you found the room clean and tidy and that you were able to make the most of the half price offer on spa treatments and found these to be excellent. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    328
    113
    50
    47
See reviews for
59
522
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business, but the hotel is not geared for business. The room I had was fine dated but adequate, wifi didn't work properly. Breakfast didn't start til 8am which is late. The breakfast itself wasn't great fruit salad consisted of lemon and orange slices! I went straight from breakfast to check out. There was one person in front of me who was also checking out. He was asked by the lady on reception if he could wait 5 or 10 minutes as she wasn't ready for him to check out!!! He said he couldn't wait so he was checked out and then so did I as I couldn't wait either!! I'm sure it is fine for leisure but not for business.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Melville Hall Hotel.

Whilst we are geared for the leisure trade primarily - not many people on business have time to chill out in our Leisure Club or partake of a relaxing massage - we are able to cater for the business traveller.

I am sorry that you experienced issues with the wifi at Melville Hall, we have had recently some intermittent issues and I have just given the go-ahead for the installation of a wired wifi system throughout the hotel giving all areas a fast and reliable wifi service, whether they are in their room, the bar or lounges or even the Leisure Club or Outdoor Spa.

We are able to offer breakfast at any time upon request, if we are able to do anything for a guest we always will. We have several business customers staying with us this week, many of whom are regulars and we do cater perfectly for their needs with early breakfast and even this week providing packed lunches for guests who are working on a location which is more remote and without catering facilities on site.

All our rooms have a desk to enable work to be carried out in your room and we offer a free photocopying and faxing facility as well.

With regards to the fruit salad at breakfast, we offer a fresh fruit platter as part of the buffet service, whilst all cooked breakfasts are freshly cooked by the chef and are not buffet style, to ensure a better quality to the customer. The fresh fruit platter consists of orange and grapefruit wedges along with melon, apple, pineapple and kiwi. Lemon does not form part of the fresh fruit platter, so I am afraid I am unsure why you thought it did.

Reception is open from 8am, but again we are more than happy to cater for early checkout should it be required, I am sorry you experienced a short delay when you came to checkout before 8am but am pleased you were able to checkout when you requested to do so.

I am sorry that you feel we are not for the business traveller, I will certainly think about any other improvements we can make to cater for corporate customers and am sure the improvements we make will benefit all our existing business customers as well as yourself should you choose to return in the future. Of course, you could always return on one of our spa breaks instead for some well-deserved pampering after all the hard work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

2nd time to the Hotel great half board deal inc the Ferry.
Food was good, staff friendly which help to make an excellent relaxing short Nov break
We enjoy the Isle of Wight which we re-discovered after many years.
With the charm of being stuck in time warp and having that stretch of water to cross from the main land makes all the difference.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay at Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa for a second time and for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit. I'm delighted that you found the package deal great which did include the ferry and meals. I'm glad that you have re-discovered the Isle of Wight - it does make for a great break away with the pace being somehwat slower and, as you say, that little stretch of water does help to distance you from nornal day to day activities! I'm so pleased to hear that our friendly team helped you enjoy an excellent relaxing break and that you found the food good. I do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to the Isle of Wight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinkworth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Took advantage of a cheap Travelzoo weekend offer with my husband. Value for money the weekend was A*. The staff were fabulous and couldn't do enough for us - always smiling, willing to help and extremely professional. The room was clean and tidy but I have to say the décor was extremely tired and dated. Also took advantage of the half price treatments - body massage and pedicure. Both excellently delivered by the beautician.

Room Tip: The hotel was extremely quiet and as it was winter it was difficult to comment on the aspect - we lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa on your recent visit to the Isle of Wight. I'm delighted that the package you purchased via Tripadvisor you rated as A* for value for money - you can't get better than that! The staff will be delighted to receive your feedback that you found them fabulous helpful and smiling and always willing to help - they are a great team and will be thrilled to hear that. I'm glad you found the room clean and that you were also able to make use of the incredible 50% disocunt in the spa for treatments and found both of your treatments excellent. I do hope that you will visit Melville Hall again, Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our 2nd time at melville hall, and you really cannot fault it for value for money!
We had a package that included the ferry for free!! And your 3course evening meal included. We also had 50% off any spa treatments.

The hotel is clean and the food is of good quality! It is in a good location with just a short walk
Down to the high street and beach!

We ate on our 2nd night and I can defiantly recommend the Reef Bar down by the war memorial on the beach front! It was excellent food and a nice atmosphere!!

We will definitely be going back for a 3rd visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay at Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa for a second time and for taking the time to provide a review of your visit. I'm delighted to hear you cannot fault us on value for money as that is certainly what we aim to offer. I'm glad that you found the hotel clean and the food of good quality and the location good - it's great being in such a peaceful location yet only having to walk 5 minutes to get in to the town and seafront! I'm delighted that you are definitely going to be coming back for a 3rd visit and we will look forwrd to seeing you again then.Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

hotel was as expected for its rating.Enjoyed a good stay,clean and comfortable.good spa and treatment facilities.Only downside was inadequate heating in bedroom.Staff friendly and helpful.A good place to stay for exploring the i o w countryside.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Melville Hall Hotel & Utopia Spa on your recent visit to the Isle of Wight and for taking the time to submit a review. I'm pleased that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. I'm sorry you experienced a problem with the heating in your bedroom during your stay - this is something that we have now improved. I do hope that you will choose to stay at Melville Hall in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I wanted a short break before winter, and took advantage of a good travelzoo offer, which included three days bed breakfast and dinner, afternoon tea and cake every day, and the ferry crossing, all for £255. Before buying however, I contacted the hotel to enquire about single rooms. They explained that this was not included in the offer, but that they had a two bedroom suite, which was available at no extra cost. When we arrived, we eventually had our afternoon tea(after a 20 minute wait).Our suite was well decorated and comfortable, with a newly refurbished bathroom, and comfortable beds, with TV's in both rooms. The dinner menu had a choice of four meat dishes, two fish, and three vegetarian, with about six starters and four desserts. The food was well cooked and wholesome, without being cordon-bleu. On the second night we had booked to go to the Shanklin theatre, which started at 7.30 p.m., and the chef specially served dinner 1/2 an hour early to accomodate us, and saved our dessert until our return at 10 p.m. We took advantage of the half price Spa treatments, which were very reasonably priced. It was wonderful to have an individually cooked breakfast, instead of the usual buffet. All the staff were exremely pleasant and helpful, and if we were being picky, the only criticim we could make was the slowness of the afternoon teas, and also that, if you were staying longer than three days, the lack of change in the dinner menu. However, they did say that very few of their guests did stay longer than a few days. All in all, a very good hotel, and we shall definitely visit there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us following your stay at Melville Hall Hotel. I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed the food and that you were able to both enjoy your meal and take in the excellent performance at Shanklin Theatre.

The majority of the rooms are either twins or doubles but we do have two suites available. These feature two rooms, a double and a single, sharing an ensuite bathroom to form the suite. These have proven to be very popular, as are the special offers that we promote, especially if you are a subscriber to our newsletters where you can receive the best available deals often including free evening dinner and return car ferry travel - as you took advantage of.

I am sorry you had a small delay on serving your afternoon tea, everything is freshly prepared so the additional wait I am sure was worth it. Too many establishments tend to have everything vacuum packed and pre-portioned ready to go, something I feel is totally against our ethos of providing the best value and best quality breaks we can. We do change the set menu regularly to account for seasonal produce so i am sure there will be new dishes for you to try on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melville Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melville Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.