We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melville Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melville Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Sandown
Southampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night for my husband’s birthday in June (I’ve only just got around to writing a review!). We booked a package including the ferry, dinner bed and breakfast and two spa treatments (I had a massage and manicure)

The hotel itself is a typical seaside hotel, a little dated apart from the spa area which was wonderful, we happened to go on a very sunny weekend and were able to sit outside and relax and use the pool. I had a manicure and massage both of which were ok but the massage was pretty short.

The room was terribly dated and pretty grubby, we were very disappointed, the room was boiling hot, unbearable even when we had a fan going, when I mentioned this to the receptionist she shrugged and said we had a fan and that was the sum total of the response. The heat made for a very uncomfortable night’s sleep or lack of sleep! The bathroom again was tired and needed a good bleach! The standard of the toiletries was fairly poor but I always take my own when we travel so this doesn’t really bother me. The instructions to use the jacuzzi in the room were so complex we didn’t bother in the end!

There was a very good choice of breakfast with hot food cooked to order which meant that it was fresh. The evening meal was tasty but fairly uninspiring, like the rest of the hotel the menu was dated. I think if you were staying for any more than two nights the menu could be a little restrictive as it remains the same. The bar service was very very slow and there didn’t seem to be a dedicated barman/woman.

Sandown itself isn’t great, if you want nice restaurants and bars this isn’t the place for you, it’s pretty run down and as a couple in our 30s on a romantic weekend away we felt it wasn’t really the place for us, all the bars were loud and full of youngsters which probably would have suited us 10 years ago! Although we did have fun on the pier and found a nice bar to have a quiet drink in.

If you want a sleek modern hotel this isn’t the place for you but it is a typical seaside hotel and could be wonderful with a little modernisation to match the spa. However I do appreciate that some people may like the more traditional look, I myself prefer more boutique hotels. All in all it wasn’t terrible and the package was a good price but I’ve stayed in better hotels!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    302
    110
    43
    45
See reviews for
51
479
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for a 3 day midweek break.our Package included 3 nights, 3 Breakfasts and 2 evening meal plus full use of the liesure facilities.

Hotel Room was spacious with nice en suite with a Water jet Bath,Bath,Robes, Tv Kettle Iron and Ironing Boards nice BIG Comfy bed. ExtremleyFriendly Reception Staff

Food was absolutly gorgeous, although only a fairly small menu choice, what was served was some of the best cooked and presented foodI have seen for some time.Cooked Breakfast was more than ample and was also backed up with a Variety of Croissants, CerealsToast Yoghurt etc on eachoccassion I ate in the resteraunt Ileft feeling completly full Resteraunt Staff wher Helpful cheery and very good at their job..nolong waits for service and vety attentative

Leisure Facilities included an outdoor heated Pool with Spacuzzi, which due to the Lovely Weather midweek I found myself using at 8 o'Clock in the Morning, inside there was a Jacuzzi, small swimming/Plunge Pool, Suana and Detox boxes.

A nice well Stocked Lounge Bar situated right next to the out door pool with easy access.
ALarge Car park although this was full 95% of the day due to the popularity ofthe Hotel and also the Fact that the "Utopia Spa" was also available for use by members of the public.

The town centre was a mere 5minute walk from the hotel and perhaps 10mins back as it was a little uphill on the way back.

We were also given a Discount for the use of the Utopia Spa'sTreatments

Would we Stay again....we are alreadylooking at the possibilities

One thing however the Hotel cannot do is guarantee the weather,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we wanted to have a weekend away to celebrate and chose a spa weekend with so many to choose from from on the mainland, we chose Melville hall although we didn't have that far to travel as we live in Lymington . What a good job we did, had two treatments used the detox booth & sauna, Jacuzi and pools. staff very helpful as we were newbies..excellant food ,would go again just got to find the time. and would recomed this highly if you want a relaxing break or even a longer stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked this 2 night break through Travelzoo - which was a good package including the cost of the ferry - also included full breakfast and a tasty, interesting 3 course evening meal - (Drinks a little expensive)
Hotel was very near to Sandown beach. We enjoyed and relaxed in both the Outdoor & Indoor pools & Jacuzzi's (all included in the price).
Parking was available at no extra charge.
We took my elderly parents with us & they too enjoyed the hotel (only downfall was there was no lift & they found the 2 flights of stairs a little difficult).
The staff were friendly & welcoming and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for ground or 1st floor if you have difficulty with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent a very enjoyable long weekend at the Melville Hall Hotel with three friends.

Breakfast and dinner were included. A very good choice of breakfast with hot food cooked to order which meant that it was lovely and fresh. An excellent choice of food for dinner which was delicious and served beautifully. Would definitely recommend that you eat at the hotel although we did have some nice lunches out and a very nice cream tea in Old Shanklin.

Had some very nice spa treatments at the hotel at reasonable prices.

The sun was shining so we were able to sit in the lovely comfy sun loungers around the pool. Spoilt for choice as there were lots of different types of comfortable beds, swinging chairs, etc.

The staff were all locals and very pleasant and courteous.

Went for a nice walk along the promenade from Sandown to Old Shanklin. Beaches are nice and sandy.

Bedroom was a good size and nicely decorated. The bathroom was large and clean.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Anyone wanting a great Spa break should try this hotel. The staff are always pleasant and more than happy to oblige. The Spa treatments are plenty and good value. We have used the garden lsle deals 4 times now which are exceptional value including the ferry, we add additional days to make our journey south from Barnsley to be worthwhile. Roll on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peckham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights after seeing an offer on Travelzoo. The hotel could do with a bit of updating but the staff were exceptional, the indoor and outdoor pools really made our break special, the food was lovely and it was a great base to see the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melville Hall Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melville Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.