We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melville Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melville Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Sandown
Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Reading the reviews before I travelled I was not sure what to expect.I have stayed at the sister hotel, Luccombe Hall, for New Year and have always been satisfied.
We thought we would try a different hotel.
First thing to note the Sat Nav directs you to the new estate next to the hotel.
the hotel is only five minutes from Sandown and the beach.
The bedroom was small but was fine for our needs of a two night stay. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of drwaer space.
the TV was old and took a while to get used to as two controllers were needed.
The bathroom was spacious and the shower water always hot.
The food and the service were excellent.there was nothing the staff could not do for us if we asked.All of them were very friendly and made us feel welcome.
special mention needs to go to April in the restaurant and the head barman (sorry I forgot his name).
My wife hurt herself and there was a real need to get her to A & E. Steve Wells the proprietor, Fran Cox the manager and Kristie Urry the Spa manger all helped in dealing with the situation. the head barman was the first aider who also helped where he could.
the ambulance arrived and fortunately my wife was attended to at the hotel and we were able to continue our visit.
If I had a choice I probably would stay at the Luccombe Hall hotel but only for the location.
The service and quality of food at the Melville Hall hotel does not suffer from comparison.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    301
    110
    43
    45
See reviews for
51
479
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
loughborough
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I could write an essay on how awful this hotel is for service, food & standard of room but overall I would just say - don't stay here.
The food & service from staff is especially awful. Will definitely not be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, an Amazon local deal, great value for money! Very nice hotel and helpful, friendly staff. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was excellent. Great pool area with jacuzzi next to lounge/ bar.The room was nice with a spa bath which was wonderful to relax in after a day out. Would definitely go again

Room Tip: Go for a spa room, worth the minimal extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Bearing in mind that the Melville Hall Hotel is rated 3 star our 2 days stay here was 5 star. Staff were exceptional always helpful and a friendly attitude. Spa treatment came as part of the package and was much enjoyed. All meals in the restaurant were excellent. Plenty of lounge space with comfy chairs to relax. Bedrooms a little old fashioned but clean and we had a good nights sleep paying a little extra for a king bed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked the Meville Hall Hotel for a relaxing weekend away and were not impressed for a variety of reasons. The majority of staff were friendly and helpful, but the hotel website implies that this is a superior venue. Our room had a variety of faults which should have been rectified prior to the room being let. The Utopia Spa massage we had was ok. The restaurant staff were superb, but the food was not 'fine dining' and the cooked breakfast portion size was small. The grounds at the front of the hotel were well kept but there was insufficient room for all cars to park on site. When we left our customer satisfaction form listed 13 separate faults with our room. We were lucky that we booked via an Amazon Local deal as we would never have paid the full price for this standard of accomodation. The tea and coffee making facilities in the room were good however, we would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 124 as the pigeons in the roof wake you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a trip to the isle of wight. Nice hotel with friendly staff. Made use of the spa facilities. Nice touch provding bath robes in the rooms. Lovely ouside pool area aswell. Would stay again as good value for money. The room we had was a little dated and quite small but adequate for the pice we paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was a groupon, 2 night spa deal for my friends' b'day treat...and what a treat it was...talk about a bargain!! 3- course meal, 30 min treatment for 2, really nice room, the cost of the ferry, and swimming in an outdoor pool thrown in for good measure!!
I highly recommend this hotel. The staff are lovely, the head-massage was incredible and hoping they feel the need to do another groupon deal soon...though I doubt it as I'm sure word will get around very quickly!
ps - Rm 005 is worth the extra few pounds!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melville Hall Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melville Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.