We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont pay full price & take your ear plugs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melville Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melville Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Sandown
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dont pay full price & take your ear plugs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I don't normally write reviews but I feel that after this weekends visit to Melville Hall Hotel I should! We stayed on an Amazon package deal of 2 night B&B with 2 x 30 minute spa treatments and evening meal on the first night. We upgraded our room to a superior for an extra £20 per night. I was lead to believe by the booking clerk that it was larger and had a kingsize bed, had a spa bath, magazines, free wifi, glasses, corkscrew and free room service, and satellite channels, the website also boats of a larger selection of spa toiletries in the superior rooms and quality furniture and lighting. Well, it was large and had a very large and comfy bed - so large that the duvet was too small for it. But there was no magazines, no corkscrew, or glasses and as we were the last room on the run the wifi didn't reach us (but to be honest the wifi was shockingly slow even in main reception - how they can boast business breaks I'll never know). I would love to see the array of spa toiletries in the basic rooms as we only had a bar of soap and 2 small bottles of shower gel. Also be aware the Satellite channels are in fact free-view received via a dish. No SKY Sports here I'm afraid! The furniture was cheap and tacky and had seen better days - obviously people's opinions of quality vastly differs! The room was also cold and VERY VERY VERY noisy. You could hear EVERYTHING from the rooms above - the TV - they too liked corrie!!!, talking, moving about and all bodily functions. It wasn't the fault of the people above they were just doing normal stuff but to us laying wide awake at 4am both nights it wasn't what we were expecting. Don't get me wrong - I knew it was a cheap deal and at 3 stars we shouldn't expect much but if you were paying right price for that room then it would be a disgrace. The room was a bit like the whole hotel - clean but shabby, a whole revamp and some injection of atmosphere was badly needed. On the plus side the food was good and the spa treatments (even though you only got about 20 minutes - as you had to fill out forms and they left you to relax for 10) were good. We didn't use the 'spa' pool and sauna etc but it looked cramped and full and they were lots of non-residents coming in to use the facilities. What made us laugh is that the Spa reception is the same desk at the main reception and the 'relaxation lounge' is the bar. So there were lots of people walking around in robes - we felt like we were at some kind of 'all adults' resort - if you know what I mean!!! The outdoor pool and grounds looked lovely. The car park was poor. For a 30+ bedroom hotel it had parking spaces for less than half the rooms and we noticed that lots of the spaces were taken up with staff cars, leaving guests to park on the double yellow lines outside the hotel or in the side streets.

My only other gripes are the reception staff. Check-in was 2pm. We were 5 minutes early and when I asked about checking in I got a rather abrupt "check-in opens at 2pm" No "Welcome to Melvill Hall" or anything like that. When my husband mentioned the noisy room the lady got defensive, so much so that he didn't want to raise the subject of the lack of room facilities that had been described on the website. I asked whether we could take breakfast in our room, and apparently that was not what room service was and if we wanted room service (which was basically the bar lunch menu) it wasn't actually available as they didn't have the staff during off-peak periods. Please Melville Hall, DONT advertise something you are not providing.
Also the bar is staffed by the reception so if you want a drink at check-in time be prepared to wait!
The waiting staff in the restaurant were pleasant and attentive and the food was very good.


I think my main issues - apart from the noisy room - is how the website paints a picture of relaxation, quality and it being a premier hotel. Now I know for 3 stars it wont be all that but to promise things that aren't there is not good! I believe most of the people there were on similar cheap deals but there is no excuse for dropping standards. I will however congratulate them on their website - the photos make it look great and the wordings are very clever. Shame it doesn't match up with the reality.

In conclusion this was a 3 star hotel in a good location (10 minutes walk from the beach) with a spa, indoor and outdoor pool, restaurant and bar - with all these facilities there must be something preventing it from getting that 4th star!!! Please don't pay full price for this hotel - we priced up what we received on the basis that it wasn't in a package deal and for the same price (£522) we could have had one night including dinner, breakfast and a 60 minute spa treatment at the Grove in Hertfordshire, voted one of the top Spa hotels in the country - I know where we will be going next year and it won't involve having to take our ear plugs!

Room Tip: Dont go for anything from - 001 to 005 as it they are accessed by a cold, dark and smelly corridor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    302
    110
    43
    45
See reviews for
51
479
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked this on a deal with Amazon - 2 nights bed and breakfast with evening dinner included for the first night and a half hour spa treatment each free. This is a 3 star hotel and it doesn't really warrant any more. The spa treatment was a lovely touch, dinner well was ok but nothing to rave about. The room well net curtains really needed to be put in the bin, signs of wear and tear and could really do with a make over but as said you get what you pay for. The shower was fantastic. Staff good, breakfast ok. Not sure I would go back to the same hotel friends that were with us said it was a little " Faulty Towers" .

Room Tip: We paid an extra £40.00 - £20.00 per night to upgrade to a four poster - wish we hadn't bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

On arrival at the hotel we were warmly welcomed by reception staff. Our accommodation was lovely with a very comfortable bed, spacious room and really warm. Food in the restaurant was exceptional with a menu that offered a wide variety to choose from. Spa treatments were enjoyable and relaxing and the therapist was lovely. The indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna were a great treat. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked this hotel via a Groupon deal, if we hadn't got the discount we would of been VERY unhappy.

The receptionist when we arrived was very unfriendly, the room was adequate but bath was left dirty, the two single beds pushed together had ripped bedding and when we left I unfortunately left some jewellery in the room and the cleaners "didn't find it".

The photos on the website make the hotel look much better than it actually is.

The spa - small but adequate, jacuzzi had filthy brown water :-(.

Restaurant - dinner was nice, breakfast was ok but would need to get in early to get any fruit.

Overall not a great hotel but if you get a cheap enough deal then it does the job.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed rather than two single beds pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place,even taking into account the snow. Never been to the Isle of Wight before and this was a pleasant introduction. The hotel was like something out of the 1970's but definitely one of the nice things. The food was good, wholesome and very well presented and served with a very nice atmosphere by a waiting on team who couldn't do enough for you. This was matched by reception and cleaning staff who genuinely seemed to take a pride in their efforts
The island is very peaceful with some pretty and interesting little towns where the people are warm and friendly.
If you get the chance give it a whirl especially with a Groupon

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Took my mother in law and daughter for a swim, sauna etc and then a 30 minute treatment each. The treatments and staff were excellent. The pool area is small and in desperate need of a refurb. It felt like going to a public swimming pool rather than a spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had a 2 night stay at this spa-hotel through a website deal. The staff were really friendly and helpful so we immediately felt welcome. The room was nice enough and the en-suite with spa bath was very nice and clean. However, there was no soundproofing at all, so heard everything in the corridor and the light came through under the door, which woke my husband & I up constantly on the first night. Second night we put a dressing gown along the gap under the door which helped. Either that, or we were so knackered we slept straight through! The room also got ridiculously hot even with the window open - not sure why. The food was very nice, although I think breakfast portions could be bigger. A nice fish selection on the dinner menu. The spa was smaller than we expected, so when we walked in, the sauna, detox booths and jacuzzi were full and continued to be hogged, so we just used the pool (which is pretty small) for a bit, grabbed 10 minutes in a detox booth when it became free and then left. I think a steam room would be a welcome addition (my personal favourite in a spa!). Had a facial and scalp massage which were brilliant! For spa hotel facilities, probably wouldn't stay again, but a good base for somewhere to stay and great treatments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melville Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melville Hall Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melville Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.