We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Caulkheads

The Caulkheads
42 Avenue Rd, Sandown PO36 8AY, England
+44 1983 405080
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 43 Restaurants in Sandown
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Dessert, English, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days a week for great home cooked food and drink. With great facilities for children including indoor ball pit and outdoor play area including a pirate ship and bouncy castle(weather permitting). Lots of space for large parties and buffets catered for.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pub Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just down the road about 100 yards from the Wight Montrene Hotel. Excelent for a reasonably priced lunch and shyould be good for people with children as they have a kiddies menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so happy you came and visited us, We are on the main road to the beach and close to many of the hotels and self catering establishments. We have a very extensive menu and also have some meal deals on all over the summer with two Reg meals for £9.99 and also kids meal for £1 if you order a large meal.
With our indoor play area and also outdoor garden and decking with climbing boat and swing we hope to satisfy most customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    27
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, Uk
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“welcoming with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

had a meal at this establishment and the food was good, served in a timely fashion by friendly staff. fairly good selection also for vegetarian.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review,
We work hard to maintain a pleasent surroundings and hope we can cater for most tastes.
please visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good family pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Took the family to Caulkheads, nice indoor area for the little one to play in safety. As for the food, they had some good offers, kids eat for £1, or two main meals for £9.99. Portion size was generous and we didn't have to wait long, this may have been because it was quiet. Being a large pub with a large amount of table space, this may increase at busy times. We would defiantly return here again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank your for your review, We are so glad you enjoyed our portion sizes and deals...Come back and try our new menu with locally sourced food still with the great deals and Sunday carvery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A bit lifeless ! Needs a face lift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a meal and a few drinks in here the night we arrived . The food was nice ,as we're the drinks.,but no atmosphere. There was hardly anyone else in there. They used to have live bands there on a Friday and Saturday and were really busy. Aimed more at families and cheap dining.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Caulkheads and other places in Sandown.
Yes, unfortunately, Sandown is very quiet at the moment and does need a face lift which is why a lot of businesses in Sandown have joined together to try and envourage more investment in the area and the town.
We do still have Friday night entertainment during the main season. However, we are now focusing our attention on great quality locally sourced food, which you stated was good and cheap. We have just started a Sunday carvery which has proved to be very popular after only one week. Pleascome back when you are next on the Isle of Wight, hopefully it will have a bit more atmosphere...Support your local town and independant retailers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This used to be our haunt of preference though I sometimes felt it to be dark and sticky. We had heard that the food had gone downhill, and there also used to be a rather unfriendly member of staff, so hadn't been for a while.
Today my daughter chose Caulkheads for her birthday meal and we couldn't fault it really. Not too busy ( I dread having to sit near the ball pit now our girls are pretty much grown up) and friendly efficient staff.
The menu is as varied as ever: something for everyone and a choice of large or regular sizes on some meals. When the food came out I thought the portions a bit on the small size but I am used to the huge portions my husband always serves up. There was, in fact, ample and one of us couldn't even manage to clean their plate! It was tasty and the Cajun chicken was voted as better than the one in a nearby restaurant with a very good reputation!!
I would recommend this place for families as it has the indoor ball pit, outdoor play area including a ship(!) , outdoor seating and a good child friendly menu. There is also a small car park.
The actual premises could maybe do with a bit of a facelift but is perfectly acceptable. We found it to be clean and comfortable. Well done Caulkheads !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaulkheadspubSandown, Owner at The Caulkheads, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for re-visiting us. We are so happy you enjoyed your meals, please thank your daughter fo choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Caulkheads also viewed

Brading, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Caulkheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Caulkheads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.