We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy stay with Shearings.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Broadway Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT DEALS!
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Sandown
Fleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Happy stay with Shearings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Enjoyed a 5 day all-inclusive break in this Shearings owned hotel. Food was very nice, service in the restaurant very quick and efficient and the entertainment good, particularly the last night when it was excellent (sorry, don't know his name!). The hotel is a lovely old building in park-like gardens, although single rooms in need of a bit of tlc (most Shearings hotels are undergoing refurbishment). The trips out were great, particularly Waltzing Waters which were absolutely wonderful - please keep this excursion on the itinerary Shearings! Our driver, Gary was great fun and, like other drivers we've had, extremely knowledgeable about his area. Value for money is almost impossible to beat. Thank you to everyone involved for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review, I shall pass on your comments to all the staff and to Gary the coach driver. We do offer good value breaks all year round. Simon is the entertainer on the Thursday night and he receives very positive feedback for his show. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    161
    71
    19
    9
See reviews for
28
199
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just come back from a great stay at the Broadway Park Hotel. Staff, food and room 114 1st class. Entertainment very good. Coach driver Ian very helpful. Met very nice people and never felt alone. Saw the Red Squirrrels eating their nuts. Trips out were very good value. Well done Shearings.

Room Tip: 1st floor easy access stairs or lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come back and see us again. Thank you for your excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night break at Broadway Park Hotel Isle of Wight.Travelled from Yorkshire to the hotel by coach and after a long but good journey we were made very welcome at the hotel. Good clean room, food good although on the first evg my partner opted for the lasagne and was a little surprised when it arrived on a plate with garlic bread and a roast potato and with cabbage and mixed vegetable medley!!! Apart from that strange offering the rest of the meals were fine. Breakfasts were, as always, very good and there was always something on the evening menu that was pleasant. One complaint is with the coffee after the meal.It was already in large flasks at the waiters stations before we entered the dining room and by the time the meal was eaten the coffee was very 'stewed' and strong and not at all pleasant. Provided you got into breakfast fairly early the coffee was fine but if you got there towards the end of service it was the same as in the evening. The staff throughout were unfailingly pleasant and helpful which is always a bonus. Huge thanks to our drive Mike who was excellent and helped many of us to cope with the very dodgy seat belts on a very old and tired coach and to all of you who picked John up and got him back on his feet after his couple of falls. All in all a great break and we hope to return in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that all the staff looked after you so well and that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully with return to us again in the Spring. I was sorry to hear that the coffee was not to your taste, I am sure your waiter/waitress would have been happy to fetch you some fresh coffee to enjoy after your meal or with your breakfast. I shall pass on your comments to all the staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hadn't been back to the Isle of Wight since 1961, and then I was camping! What a difference this time! This hotel offers good food, super staff, and very pleasant rooms. There is an outdoor swimming pool, and the hotel is wheel chair friendly. I was recovering from a serious operation so we hired a buggy from a local firm. I had a ground floor room, access to a charging point, and found I didn't need to use my crutches much. Wide corridors made use of the buggy easy.
Lest this seems like a recipe for geriatrics I hasten to add that the age range of guests seemed wide, and a number were re-visiting after previous enjoyable holidays. We shall be joining that number next year. The sound of laughter spoke volumes for the general level of enjoyment. We found other guests friendly, usually a sign of a well run hotel, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Our waiter had familiarised himself with our tastes by the second day - an extra rack of toast appearing at breakfast.
We were fortunate with our weather, and it was delightful to sit out in the grounds and sip coffee as we watched for a sight of the red squirrels in the trees. I would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that all the staff made you feel so welcome. The hotel is situated within lovely grounds and we are lucky to have the red squirrels making an appearance on most days. Thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from 4 day weekend at the Broadway,nice room,good food,in a glorious setting.We travelled down by coach with Shearings,excellent service,drivers were top class, Paul who lives on the Island was full of information,and told us all about the Island as we went around.
Staff were helpful and efficient, we had two nights entertainment provided which was ok, along with vouchers for drinks each night.
Having done weekends before at Shearings Hotels,usually self drive this last weekend as once again confirmed to us what great value these breaks are, my advice is try one for yourself!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the good value for money that we offer it is always excellent to recieve such positive reviews. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just come back from a monday-friday stay at this hotel. Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and quitet location. Also found the staff to be very friendly and efficient. Our cleaning lady (room 308) was an absolute diamond, very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent always hot and served with a smile. Really enjoyed the entertainment especially the young dance troupe on the monday evening.

The short walk to the train station made it convenient to visit other parts of the island so we could leave the car behind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review, glad you enjoyed your stay, I shall pass on all your comments to the staff. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

we have been to lots of bay hotels but i rate this one the best so far. we did friday 19th to monday 22nd oct and will go back again. lovely roon clean and good bathroom, friendly and extremely helpful staff. great food and wonderful surroundings. give it a try.

Room Tip: room from 336 on good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbroadwaypark, General Manager at Bay Broadway Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review, I shall pass on your comments to all the staff. Hopefully see you again for another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Broadway Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Broadway Park Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DJ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Broadway park is a former Victorian mansion house, once home to a wealthy entrepreneur. Today this handsome hotel retains many of its original features and is set within four acres of picturesque grounds. The gardens are home to a variety of wildlife including rare Isle of Wight Red Squirrels, foxes and badgers. This is the perfect setting to get away and relax and you are always assured of a warm welcome. The hotel has three comfortable lounges and a recently refurbished ballroom in which to enjoy the regular evening entertainment. The leisure facilities include an outdoor swimming pool (open from May to September) and a snooker room and there is also parking within the grounds. Whilst here you are sure to enjoy the tranquillity of the setting but it is just a 15 minute walk to the town centre and seafront where there is plenty to see and do.Please note all prices quoted for Bay Broadway Park Hotel include free ferry to and from the Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Broadway Park Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Broadway Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bay Broadway Park Hotel to your Saves list