We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Break end of May 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tarvic 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tarvic 2 Hotel to your Saves list
Tarvic 2 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-15 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Sandown
Tamworth, Stafordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Break end of May 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 days at the above hotel. We can't fault the hotel. We booked the break through Travel Style (we have used this company on numerous occasions) so we knew pretty much what we were getting for our money. In fact we've stayed at this hotel before. The hotel is being steadily refurbished and based on the room we stayed in the hotel should be very good when all work is completed. Towards the end of the week, we were the only couple in for the evening meal - the service, quality of the meal was excellent for just the two of us! Nothing was to much trouble. If there is a down side to the hotel, its the limited parking but taking into account its free overnight parking along the parade its not a major problem. We will be booking to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    31
    26
    23
See reviews for
39
70
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

hi stayed at the tarvic 2 last week food was cold service was slow beds were low cain chairs in the bar not very frendley wood not advise eny body to stay there even the coach was not cleanthere was no choces on the menu it was allmost chips with everythink

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

well what can I say the food was ok the bedrooms a bit dated thought I was back in the 50s but was quite clean kitchen staff are brill but run off there feet I was there for 4 nights Monday to Friday, looking and hearing the owner i felt he was abit grumpy and the sort that wants something for nothing and the travel arrangements with traveistyle coach tours which I need to mention was so awfull and out of date you need a other holiday to get over it and the coach we where on was torcher on a long run to isle of wight and its a schambles chaining coaches at the service centre at hopwood I think its called everyones running round like headless chickens trying to change over to a other coach to start there holidays by the way travelstyle we had to get up at the crack of dawn without getting a proper breakfast only toast and cereal for which we paid for a full English which we had to miss to start out at 7.15am by the way fellow travellers theres no provisions for the disabled there around 9 steep steps before you enter the tarvic hotel so be warned hope this info helps as if it wasn't tripadviser we would never know cheers all bye for now.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A clean, honest, budget hotel where we stayed for three nights from 17 May. The rooms are small but well decorated and the beds a little hard. The breakfasts are substantial but you have to book what you want for your evening meal at breakfast! There is no lounge as such but there are chairs and tables alongside the front windows. You could not relax and read a book during inclement weather so we used other hotels along the front to relax (in secret). The same goes for entertainment, there is none at the Tarvic so we went to other hotels along the front where the entertainment is good. We drove and found that we had to park at the roadside along the side of the hotel. The staff are friendly and attentive. In all honesty I would probably pay a little extra and stay at one of the other hotels in Sandown but if you want a clean, budget hotel with not bad food this one would do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Tarvic 2 hotel with a coach party. We found the public rooms of a decent standard and our twin bedded room was basic but clean, though the beds were on the hard side.
The staff are great. They are friendly and helpful and made us very welcome.
The food was excellent. We had a choice of dishes at both breakfast and dinner. The bar prices were very reasonable and there was entertainment provided most evenings.
The hotel is in a good location. It is in the process of being refurbished but we did not find this bothered us at all.
Thank you to all the staff. You made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

we visited the tarvic for easter weekend. although the building from the outside looks a little tired and in need of a good refurb, inside the rooms are very basic but very clean and comfortable perhaps some of the rooms havent got particularly nice views but end of the day all you need is a room to rest your head for the night. the food was really really good and nothing was too much trouble to ask for. the manager came in to the dining room every day to update us on anything we needed to know. very very warm and friendly atmosphere, a credit to all the management and staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Right on the beach - very close to the Esplanade and High Street. Decent accommodation, okay heating, decent toilets - quite clean. I had a sea view room, although a building on the beach kind of obstructed the proper view from my room. The beds were a little creaky, but the duvets were very comfortable (we visited at a very cold time of the year).

The clean lobby and nice small garden in the front with sea view is very soothing. The owner made a very nice Coffee with Tia Maria for us. As mentioned in many reviews before the awesome friendly staff are the best feature of this hotel - could not have been better in hospitality.

Room Tip: Stayed at V101
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarvic 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarvic 2 Hotel

Address: 13-15 Culver Parade, Sandown PO36 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarvic 2 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tarvic 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarvic 2 Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarvic 2 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.